Quad Learning Reviews | Glassdoor

Quad Learning Reviews

Updated Mar 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
58%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Quad Learning CEO/Founder Phil Bronner (no image)
Phil Bronner
10 Ratings
  1. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Quad Learning full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment for a start up company

    Cons

    Lack of international requirements understanding. Use wrong people for a very important role

    Quad Learning2020-03-29
  2. "Good experience, but direction unclear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quad Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of talented people - Startup feel to it - Fun atmosphere

    Cons

    - Goalposts were constantly changing - Difficult to have any kind of cross-team collaboration

    Quad Learning2019-12-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "I don't they'll see 2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quad Learning full-time

    Pros

    You can usually work from home, and because they're clearly so understaffed, you get to learn a lot from multiple departments. I loved this company when I first started, but things have down hill quickly. The majority of the organization was laid off, but unfortunately the only ones who remain are the ones who are those who have not been able to secure other employment (seriously..they're all looking)

    Cons

    The work/life balance is TERRIBLE. I'm also not sure what exactly the product is anymore, as the organization changes every 2 weeks. Likewise, communication is terrible. To be frank, I don't think that QL will be around in a year. Money was COMPLETELY mismanaged (seriously, I think thousands were spent on mugs, tshirts, etc, and they're now completely useless)

    Continue reading
    Quad Learning2018-06-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Quad Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning how not to run a start-up

    Cons

    Not generating revenue, too many pivots, no focus on actually creating a "product", generally clueless

    Continue reading
    Quad Learning2017-07-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Run away! Far far away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Quad Learning full-time

    Pros

    If you're a Chief Officer you have good job security until the company goes out of business.

    Cons

    This for profit company takes advantage of poor, uneducated and foreign teenagers with misleading marketing. The leadership takes responsibility for other people's successes and blames everyone else for their failure. They yell at scream at people right in the middle of the office and online. All work assignments and promotions are based on favoritism. If you're not in the "in-crowd," your only job is to keep your head down and your mouth shut unless you're telling your boss they're smart. Your boss will micromanage everything you do and still SCREAM at you when they change their mind about how you should have done it. Your boss will want you to do their job for them and judge you based on if you've done it or not. Because the company is in trouble and all the good employees have been leaving fast this year, there are constant witch hunts to find out who's loyal and who's not. You're mostly trying to make your boss think you like them so that you don't get included in the next round of layoffs that happen a couple times a year. It is basically just hell.

    Continue reading
    Quad Learning2017-06-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Tough Business Model"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Admissions Counselor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Quad Learning full-time

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, unlimited vacation days, benefits, forward thinking

    Cons

    The business model is not sustainable, poor hiring procedures, low salary, favoritism

    Continue reading
    Quad Learning2017-05-30
  7. Helpful (5)

    "In Decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Quad Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty decent pay and goals

    Cons

    When I started the company was expanding and doing very well. Less than a year later, our office had massive layoffs and really uncertain future plans.

    Continue reading
    Quad Learning2017-03-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Fun while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Advisor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quad Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff and great managers, yearly retreat to Washington DC, lots of training, in theory a great program for students, good benefits (health insurance especially), work at home options

    Cons

    Start up that...well, didnt start up. I was in admissions and admissions is bare bones. It would be great for students to be in a program where they attend community college for two years, be an honors student and then move on to their dream school with only two years to go. In actuality...that's not what happened. The company did not have concrete contracts with a lot of schools and a lot of students ended up not having credits transfer. Also, this is a for profit organization. The fee to be in the program was more than the tuition at the community college sometimes. Mandatory Overtime. Overall, I loved this company until I discovered we were not meeting the student's needs. I'm all about the students and it hurt to hear their credits wouldn't transfer when we told them for two years that they would-and they payed extra for that guarantee. In theory, it's an excellent idea. But the business model just didn't work as it was set up. I think this CAN and SHOULD work, but maybe....non-profit??

    Continue reading
    Quad Learning2017-03-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fun Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quad Learning full-time

    Pros

    Company is full of smart, driven, young, genuinely nice people. Some of the best people I have ever worked with. The mission is inspiring.

    Cons

    As a start-up, it's hard to be sure about the future of the company and the direction it is heading in.

    Continue reading
    Quad Learning2017-01-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fun People, Unclear Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Quad Learning full-time

    Pros

    The people I worked with were great. Everyone worked very hard and you could tell everyone was very passionate about helping our students.

    Cons

    Unclear direction when it came to the product and the student offering and where we were trying to go as a company.

    Quad Learning2016-10-03
Found 17 reviews