Qualcomm Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Qualcomm Intern Reviews

Updated Jan 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Qualcomm CEO Steve Mollenkopf
Steve Mollenkopf
56 Ratings
  1. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern Marketing in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Qualcomm for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot, super great company

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    Qualcomm2020-01-10
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Intern 

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice work it was very interesting

    Cons

    Disorganization sometimes but overall a solid experience none the less

    Qualcomm2020-01-06
  3. "Okay experience, would like more control"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm for less than a year

    Pros

    Given projects frequently, at a decent pace

    Cons

    You have no control of the projects that are given to you

    Advice to Management

    Please give more control to interns

    Qualcomm2019-12-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Summer Intern Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Intern in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really engaging and fun intern program. Lots of fun events that show you cool things about working at the company, as well as really good guidance from your mentors on how to be a fully qualified software developer.

    Cons

    At times, it did feel like just churn out work and not a lot of social interaction.

    Qualcomm2019-12-04
  5. "Good experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Machine Learning Intern in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Qualcomm for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot! Team has strong ml background - very smart/intelligent people - everyone was absurdly nice & relaxed. Pretty good pay, interesting work, private office, ideas taken seriously & integrated into meetings, food at AZ is good, free gym pass & parking, housing is provided & great, cool intern activities. Got to observe some minor inter-team drama that was exciting. Attending the company-sponsored meetings was a cool experience.

    Show More

    Cons

    Teams are segregated - my team comprised of mostly ML/DS guys, there can be tighter integration with chip guys, there could have been a little notification about the project topic so I can prepare before the summer. Qualcomm IP hoarder -> hard to publish results.

    Advice to Management

    The group I worked in is composed almost entirely of pure ml/ds guys. There are academic groups that focus on ml + layout design. I would say try to hire a couple people from those groups rather than just the run-of-the-mill ML students to stay competitive with top performers in ai-driven IC design like Nvidia, Cadence, etc.. Publishing is one way to attract serious talent! Check out the publications at DAC/ICCAD by NVIDIA & Cadence to see examples.

    Show More
    Qualcomm2019-11-12
  6. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly 

    I have been working at Qualcomm

    Pros

    Good compensation, good technical development

    Cons

    Having to work people from different time zones

    Qualcomm2019-11-17
  7. "Intern at Qualcomm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Qualcomm part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a great company to work for.

    Cons

    No complaints, it was a great experience.

    Qualcomm2019-10-31
  8. "Good work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Systems Intern 

    I worked at Qualcomm for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place and people to work with

    Cons

    Unorganized and unplanned internship program

    Qualcomm2019-10-13
  9. "Amazing Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Qualcomm for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful place to work; Interns get to stay in a fancy apartment; Colleagues are smart and friendly; Cutting edge technology

    Cons

    They take at least a month to announce if you've been converted to full time

    Advice to Management

    Please provide competitive packages for full-time as well!

    Qualcomm2019-09-28
  10. "Bad experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineering Intern in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Qualcomm for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good pay and benefits - Great value on resume.

    Cons

    - Manager didn't know how to handle an intern. - Got stuck in a team that did not have much software work, so felt pretty isolated. There weren't many people I could approach for help. - Lack of proper guidance meant that I was often working overtime to complete my project with no overtime pay.

    Advice to Management

    Try to assign interns to teams that work in similar areas.

    Qualcomm2019-09-28
Found 165 reviews