Qualcomm Senior Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Qualcomm Senior Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Qualcomm CEO Steve Mollenkopf
Steve Mollenkopf
358 Ratings
  1. "Cutting edge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior ASIC Design Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work is outstanding. Lots of opportunities for career development. Good perks.

    Cons

    Long hours and competitive. Pay is slightly lower.

    Qualcomm2019-08-23
  2. "About the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary, work, work location and

    Cons

    politics among employees, poor HR

    Qualcomm2019-12-09
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior S/W Engineer in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to work considering WLB and a plus due not tool high cost of living.

    Cons

    Career progress depends on org you are in.

    Qualcomm2019-12-05
  5. "Used to be great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Leading technology in some area

    Cons

    Politics among teams prevents collaboration

    Qualcomm2019-11-05
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Work is good but a very Toxic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Systems Test Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Work is good, Lot to learn, people are dedicated and hardworking - you get a lot of material to help you - Tuition reimburse - Lot of training to choose from - ESPP program and bonus at year end

    Cons

    - Politics Politics Politics !! - Toxic work culture [not generic][specific to the org I was working ] - Totally Biased towards certain groups/factions - Most of the times, work is randomly assigned and deadlines are given to unnecessarily pressurize you, while it is clearly not relevant .. There will be pressure almost every week, but at the end of the year .. you will ask yourself why the hell, what did I achieve ? - No transparency , Low morale - work life balance is not encouraged - No-one cares, you feel merely a number - Low Base pay, but probably something is being addressed ,

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None !! A lot of Climate surveys were given .. Nothing changes so best is to move on

    Qualcomm2019-10-11
  7. "Worked for four years at San Diego"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Largest company in San Diego

    Cons

    Not a lot of other opportunities in San Diego

    Qualcomm2019-09-29
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work culture and team

    Cons

    Salary growth is slower than most companies

    Qualcomm2019-09-24
  9. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance. San diego is an amazing city to live in.

    Cons

    Limited career growth. Management is not that good. A lot of talents choose to leave.

    Qualcomm2019-09-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Work-life balance over salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance at entry-level. You get to work with the best of the best when it comes to IC design. Work hours are reasonable, and I rarely see anyone being too stressed about work hours at least in IC design team.

    Cons

    As you become more senior and lead a project, you need to have meetings with other parts of the world and often times, this means meeting at 10 pm. Also, the amount of meetings that managers have is often quite a lot which led many senior staff level engineers to quit and move to other companies. Also, total compensation package is not very competitive compared to the competitors. This also often causes staff and senior staff engineers to quit and seek for better compensation. Overall, a great company to learn the trade then move onto the better paying company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better. Otherwise, they all leave and you're only left with people that have no other options.

    Qualcomm2019-09-17
  11. "Senor Software engineer with Qualcomm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time

    Pros

    Flexible timings and good work culture

    Cons

    Project deadlines are pretty hectic

    Qualcomm2019-09-17
Found 864 reviews