Qualcomm Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Qualcomm Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Qualcomm CEO Steve Mollenkopf
Steve Mollenkopf
80 Ratings
  1. "About the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary, work, work location and

    Cons

    politics among employees, poor HR

    Qualcomm2019-12-09
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Work is good but a very Toxic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Systems Test Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Work is good, Lot to learn, people are dedicated and hardworking - you get a lot of material to help you - Tuition reimburse - Lot of training to choose from - ESPP program and bonus at year end

    Cons

    - Politics Politics Politics !! - Toxic work culture [not generic][specific to the org I was working ] - Totally Biased towards certain groups/factions - Most of the times, work is randomly assigned and deadlines are given to unnecessarily pressurize you, while it is clearly not relevant .. There will be pressure almost every week, but at the end of the year .. you will ask yourself why the hell, what did I achieve ? - No transparency , Low morale - work life balance is not encouraged - No-one cares, you feel merely a number - Low Base pay, but probably something is being addressed ,

    Continue reading
    Qualcomm2019-10-11
  3. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance. San diego is an amazing city to live in.

    Cons

    Limited career growth. Management is not that good. A lot of talents choose to leave.

    Qualcomm2019-09-22
  4. "Big company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive compensation, decent AC in most buildings for the climate

    Cons

    Not a great place to get experience for young engineers.

    Qualcomm2019-09-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "New Technology, talented people in some R& D groups."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Systems Test Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location- San Diego is good , latest technology areas.

    Cons

    talented people are leaving due to lack of motivation.

    Qualcomm2019-08-04
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Not bad, but not as good as it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's a pleasure to work with some of the smartest people I've ever met. In general, I have access to the tools I need to do my job, and to resources to keep my skills up to date. Management is sort of trying again to make it a good place to work.

    Cons

    Communication and Vision from senior leadership in the engineering organization is severely lacking. The tools and processes engineers must deal with on a daily basis are a source of frustration. Legal woes have been a constant overhang on employee morale (and compensation) for the last several years... and it seems it's still not finished. Management is clumsily re-learning how to show their appreciation for employees by inviting thousands of employees to a launch party on one of the campuses where we get to wait in horribly long lines just to get a free taco and a beer. Employee appreciation is nothing like what it used to be. HR keeps fiddling with the performance review process and rating system, yet at the end of it all the rating system and forced curve-fitting ends up destroying employee morale even further.

    Continue reading
    Qualcomm2019-07-25
  7. "5G is awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    5G is awesome / SD has more life quality than Bay.

    Cons

    Diversity / Comp is lower than the Bay Area

    Qualcomm2019-06-30
  8. "Okay to work for I guess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time

    Pros

    This place is decent

    Cons

    No room to move up

    Qualcomm2019-06-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work with talented people and opportunity to learn on the latest cellular technologies

    Cons

    Less visibility to engineers Bad managerial skills overall

    Qualcomm2019-03-23
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Used to be great, now random unannounced layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexable hours Can work from home when needed 'unlimited vaction' good if decent tech lead Covers all health care premiums Always something interesting to work on ESPP 15% discount up to 15% of salary Promotion opportunity up to Senior Staff

    Cons

    Last 2 rounds of layoffs not even announced. Management even denied layoffs days before RSU now only for top performer (was 6-10%) Bonuses were 12%+, past 5 years about 6% Stock same price as 11 years ago. All internal tools are now horrible cause they either fired the teams that made them or fired everyone but one or two people to support the defunct tools. Any promotion above Senior Staff requires "Business Need" They usually require 3 years in a position before promotion Any slight rating drop in a performance review can push your promotion out a few years. Don't wait just get a new job and come back for a promotion. If your tech manager is good you're fine. If they're horrible you're screwed get a new one immediately. Check if your team has counterparts in India. Most teams do. If yours does that means you will have 9am meeting and much more often meetings/debug sessions between 9pm and midnight.

    Continue reading
    Qualcomm2019-02-13
Found 214 reviews