Qualcomm Senior Staff Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Senior Staff Engineer

Qualcomm Senior Staff Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Qualcomm CEO Steve Mollenkopf
Steve Mollenkopf
94 Ratings
  1. "Great company, great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Engineer/Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great people, compassionate, feels like family Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Stock performance. Stock hasnt gone anywhere in last few years.

    Qualcomm2018-12-08
  2. "Used to be great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Leading technology in some area

    Cons

    Politics among teams prevents collaboration

    Qualcomm2019-11-05
  3. "Worked for four years at San Diego"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Largest company in San Diego

    Cons

    Not a lot of other opportunities in San Diego

    Qualcomm2019-09-29
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Management out of touch with engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Life work balance, good cubicle

    Cons

    Jobs are moving out of US.

    Advice to Management

    Get your VPs to know engineer better

    Qualcomm2019-09-19
  5. "Overall a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Engineer 

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time

    Pros

    Stable industry, high profit margin. The job should be secure once get in. Diverse technology areas you can learn if transferring inside.

    Cons

    The company is too large. Decision making is slow. A lot of Politics . Some teams require lot of overtime work.

    Qualcomm2019-08-27
  6. "Challenging work, lots of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Exciting technology and fast paced

    Cons

    Too faced paced at times. Poor work life balance

    Qualcomm2019-08-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Relatively stable employment in sunny San Diego!

    Cons

    Ugly politics and in-fighting in the last years.

    Qualcomm2019-08-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Many opportunities to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Many opportunities to learn various things

    Cons

    Many tech areas are moving to CH/India.

    Qualcomm2019-08-06
  9. "Good tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very strong technical resource and works to improve your technical knowledge

    Cons

    Market is not as good as before

    Advice to Management

    Hopeful cooperate and remove the walls inter department and between VP and engineers

    Qualcomm2019-08-05
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Not bad, but not as good as it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's a pleasure to work with some of the smartest people I've ever met. In general, I have access to the tools I need to do my job, and to resources to keep my skills up to date. Management is sort of trying again to make it a good place to work.

    Cons

    Communication and Vision from senior leadership in the engineering organization is severely lacking. The tools and processes engineers must deal with on a daily basis are a source of frustration. Legal woes have been a constant overhang on employee morale (and compensation) for the last several years... and it seems it's still not finished. Management is clumsily re-learning how to show their appreciation for employees by inviting thousands of employees to a launch party on one of the campuses where we get to wait in horribly long lines just to get a free taco and a beer. Employee appreciation is nothing like what it used to be. HR keeps fiddling with the performance review process and rating system, yet at the end of it all the rating system and forced curve-fitting ends up destroying employee morale even further.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Demand vision and leadership from your senior leaders. Seek fresh new leadership with vision from outside the company if needed.

    Qualcomm2019-07-25
Found 205 reviews