KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Qualstar Credit Union

Engaged Employer

Qualstar Credit Union

Add a Review

Qualstar Credit Union Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 of over 34 reviews

3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Qualstar Credit Union President and CEO Mark R. Nelson  (no image)
Mark R. Nelson
25 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

1y

works at 

JPMorgan Chase

Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

884

87 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Qualstar Credit Union - Great Employer!

    Jun 14, 2021 - Organizational Team Member in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Too many pros to list them all but the things that stand out the most are great culture, great benefits, and lots of opportunity for growth. Qualstar would never offer anything to the member that would not benefit them (even if this means taking a loss) -- unlike the corporate banks whose main focus is on their stockholders and to make money. Qualstar's member-focused philosophy, positive environment, great leadership and great benefits have kept me motivated to stay at Qualstar for 20+ years! I highly recommend Qualstar Credit Union for anyone seeking a career that they can be proud of!

    Cons

    I truly cannot think of any cons!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Oct 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits Good training Good company

    Cons

    Little flexibility in pto High Turnover

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Caring, supportive place to work

    May 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, competitive pay including variable pay for most jobs.

    Cons

    You need to be prepared to work hard to support the Members

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    A caring employer

    Apr 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is an important part of the credit union. Good morale.

    Cons

    Low wages for the average employee due to non-profit

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Hard to get promoted***

    Aug 29, 2020 - Branch Member Advocate in Tacoma, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    401k Plan Health Care Plan Free Lunches here and there Paid vacation Paid sick time

    Cons

    Only get 2 weeks of vacation yearly Most managers are hired from outside of the company Takes forever to get promoted Pay isn’t the best

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Qualstar Credit Union Response

    VP, Human Resources

    Qualstar’s Management staff are for the most part promoted internally, and we offer an excellent rewards program: -6 out of 7 of our current branch managers were promoted from within. -80% of our current overall management staff were promoted from within. -Promotional opportunities exist after 6 months and a year, depending on performance, and internal opportunities are posted on our intranet. -Pay for a Branch Member Advocate (entry level, Teller position) starts at $18.00 per hour, roughly $2 more per hour than comparable positions at other financial institutions. -Employees begin with 12 days (96 hours) of vacation, 6.5 days (52 hours) of sick time, and 10 paid holidays (depending on the Federal Reserve schedule). We are sorry that you have received incorrect information regarding pay and benefits, and that your experience has been less than positive. We would strongly encourage you, as a current employee, to reach out to Human Resources, or any member of our Management team, for information regarding promotional opportunities, pay, and benefits.

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Low Morale

    Sep 25, 2019 - Branch Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    commission paid monthly. percentage of each employees earned commission

    Cons

    base pay low compared to workload

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company

    Sep 4, 2019 - PR Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family atmosphere Friendly staff LOVE the pension and 401K package

    Cons

    Not many cons to this employer, I worked somewhere previously that had so many cons that it’s hard to see the negative here.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A great atmosphere

    Aug 29, 2019 - Member Service Representative in Lynnwood, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    wonderful environment, great benefits, decent pay, good activities, and pretty much zero drama. Since I started, I've literally seen more than 5 people promoted and two retired.

    Cons

    people are very professional in demeanor, which means that it may take while to make friends as people are quite reserved with their real selves.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    The best place I've worked!

    Jul 23, 2019 - Branch Administrative Coordinator in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - management is amazing - tons of room for growth if you strive and work hard towards it, management will definitely be there to guide you through your promotions. - employee moral is a big deal! They will buy lunches and present rewards - open communication - flexibility

    Cons

    I had to leave to relocate :(

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Nope

    Jul 13, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is pension after 5yrs.

    Cons

    No room for career growth

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews

Popular Careers with Qualstar Credit Union Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Qualstar Credit Union? Share Your Experiences

or