Qualtrics "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor

Qualtrics Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Qualtrics CEO  Ryan Smith
Ryan Smith
456 Ratings
Pros
  • "free food & coke freestyle machines, good pay/bonuses for those who perform well(in 72 reviews)

  • "Company culture, great benefits, young team(in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some internal processes can be frustrating (growing pains of fast moving company)(in 35 reviews)

  • "Provo is not where any millennial from outside of Utah would ever want to live(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Best company I’ve worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualtrics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart coworkers, fantastic benefits (100% employer paid healthcare + $2500 HSA!), free food & coke freestyle machines, good pay/bonuses for those who perform well

    Cons

    A hardware refresh policy would be nice... a larger laptop screen would be superb

    Continue reading
    Qualtrics2019-01-21

    Qualtrics Response

    February 25, 2019Talent Attraction Brand Lead

    That's great feedback - thank you for taking the time out to share. Good to hear your thoughts on hardware refreshes, we'll take that back and make sure to bring it up but we hope you've been able to get that idea put forward already. Thank you again!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Grinding job with little recognition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer 

    I worked at Qualtrics full-time

    Pros

    Interesting products to work, free food and decent benefits

    Cons

    Bad Upper Management, Products are interesting but the testing work isn't, no appreciation

    Qualtrics2019-11-15
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Ask why the turnover rate is so high in Dallas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Qualtrics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food and that is about

    Cons

    VP flys in to threaten everyone. It is straight cold calling and metrics. If you are not 85% of metrics and sales in 90 days then you will go on plan. Everyone is scared and that is why everyone is leaving. Please don’t listen to the recruiters because they will lie. Ask how many people that are fully ramped hit quota. Ask how many in the Dallas office. Ask why the VP came to the office and threaten everyone their jobs. Ask the uncomfortable questions!!!

    Qualtrics2019-11-10
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qualtrics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Qualtrics has a lot of technologies that you can learn. You're expected to handle working with the entire stack from deploying servers, setting up your dbs, patching vms, etc. so there's a lot of opportunity to learn. Free food MWF and the people are pleasant to work with.

    Cons

    Qualtrics had incredibly unstable infrastructure. Multiple times a day, critical things will break in preprod and prod environments. Oncall devs frequently wake up in the middle of the night during their oncall. The company consists of 90% new grad devs. No thought in building reliable systems or designing new systems to be reliable or scalable. Feels much like devs hack away at one project and immediately jump to another without putting in care in what they are building. The people and technology stack are nice, but the software quality and infrastructure are the worst I've seen.

    Continue reading
    Qualtrics2019-09-26
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Great Company with Lots of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualtrics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing employee culture! Really smart, driven people are surrounding you. Great perks (free food, dogs, coffee, casual dress/work environment) and a company that cares about people and leaving the world a better place. Seeing the passion from leadership and throughout the entire org for things like 5 for the Fight is awesome! There are definitely still tons of ways in which Qualtrics still tries to operate like a startup meaning individuals at all levels can be proactive and find ways to create new things and drive improvements.

    Cons

    No company is perfect, and while Qualtrics tries to be a meritocracy and objective, there are still some politics that come into play. As a transplant to Utah and non-Mormon, the culture can be really hard at times. Less so in the office because I don't have people "trying to convert me" or being predjudiced against me because I am not a part of that religious group, but there are things that present themselves because of the culture of Utah (less social life/drinking; less women - especially women in management [though it is an area actively being worked on to drive progress]; difficult dating life; more conservative politics; etc.) It's not exactly the type of life I thought I would be leaving in my mid-20s. There is a very bro-y culture here and while it isn't always off-putting, sometimes it really can be. Majority of the time, I don't think it is done purposefully but the fact that it is an inherent part of the culture is almost worse because it's then harder to change.

    Continue reading
    Qualtrics2019-06-05

    Qualtrics Response

    August 5, 2019Talent Attraction Brand Lead

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us - we really appreciate it. We're glad to hear you're seeing the focus on caring for our people and the continuing emphasis on working with a start-up mentality. While no company is perfect, we do consciously work to improve and feedback is key to that. We hope that you share yours on the pulses and annual surveys to help us do that.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It's a technical role that requires know the software very well and helping customers with related problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualtrics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture is laid back. There is free food 4 days out of the week.

    Cons

    The pay is not competitive

    Continue reading
    Qualtrics2019-05-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Company - They actually practice what they preach!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technology Consultant in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualtrics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team to work with, awesome perks like free food, flexibility and fun activities!

    Cons

    Lots of growth, so there is a lot of flux but the managers and the management have the employees best interests at heart!

    Qualtrics2019-03-21
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Finding my Own Way to Flourish in the Role: More than Metrics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualtrics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’m going to get to the advantages of this job, but I wanted to start with why I did not like my role for the first few weeks. I moved to Utah from out of state, and I knew a total of 1 person in the company from beforehand. Since I don’t like commuting, I decided to live near the office. As product specialist you start with a start group anywhere between 3-8 other people who go through basic training with you, and often these people are your first friends. For me, I did not click with any of the people in my start group and not knowing anyone else in town, I was really lonely for the first few weeks of the job. This combined with my inability to hit a 22/ticket a day metric due to the training schedule made me wonder if I had made the right choice coming to Qualtrics. I constantly compared myself to others in my start group who somehow hit the 22 goal. Ultimately, this discomfort and worry was really just growing pains. After passing our training exam, I got to join specialties that used my technical aptitude and trained me in new coding languages. Becoming an expert in these specialties allowed me to find my pace and start to be recognized for my talents. Within the first two months of starting, I went on a trip financed by Qualtrics back to my alma mater! I also started working on a project that provided me with weekly face time with one of the managers; through this project, I have been able to attend weekly meetings with my boss’s boss’s boss and gain visibility into procedures throughout the company. Looking back at the decision I made senior year, I am very happy with where I have ended up. I am at a place where I can grow, develop new technical and professional skills, and be recognized as a hardworking employee. Now to the more typical pros of working as a product specialist! As other reviews state the perks are nice: lots of free food, swag, PTO, and brilliant coworkers. But one of the understated advantages of this job is the ability to save money as I rarely buy groceries since there is so much free food at the office. Additionally, I want to emphasize the laid back nature of the job. Many jobs right out of school will have you working 50-60 hour work weeks for recognition. While you can do that as a product specialist, you do not have to. Work-life balance is encouraged and overtime is provided!

    Cons

    One of the difficult things about being a product specialist is the focus on metrics; yes, taking tickets (calls/emails/chats) is the main part of the job, but I feel the most growth I have gotten in this role are from activities that do not earn me tickets. As a team lead, I am gaining management skills, interfacing with other departments about the product, and spreading knowledge, but I am not compensated for these extra responsibilities in the form of tickets. In the projects that I take on, I find myself adding value to the company that also does not show in my metrics. Ultimately, I have made my peace about not rushing through the role to the promotion or being the top performer; since the role is so flexible to allow you to gain the skills that you want out of it you will need to pick and choose what measures of success you decide to use to assess your own performance.

    Continue reading
    Qualtrics2018-12-16

    Qualtrics Response

    February 26, 2019Talent Attraction Brand Lead

    Wow - that's some incredible feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience - it sounds like you've learned a lot since you started, and that we could learn a lot from your experiences relocating and starting with us. If you're interested, let's chat more about how we can be thoughtful about what we do when a person is relocating to any of our offices - we're at the front section of the Recruitment team area! Thank you for taking the time to share such thorough insights into your experience.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Product Specialist Role Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualtrics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    To start off, the healthcare/vision/dental benefits are awesome, and so is the fact that we have free food for most of the lunches during the week - I barely ever buy groceries. The office is beautiful and has a contagious energy with a start-up feel, even though we've grown a ton since we began. One of my favorite things about working at Qualtrics is the freedom we have to fix anything that's not working. As a fast-growing company, there are a million things going on and many of the processes or systems that we have need to be improved. This is not an environment that everyone would thrive in, but if you are a proactive, forward-thinking, creative person, then this is an environment you would thrive in. I've seen my coworkers revamp everything from internal training programs for specialty products, to both our online and internal product documentation, to our recruiting process, to the way we handle support interactions. The core job is a support role (which was very clear to me throughout the recruiting process), but if you're only handling support interactions and you're not satisfied with this, there are PLENTY of projects you can take on to improve other aspects of Qualtrics (as long as the core job function is covered first). The next major pro for me is the people. I'm surrounded by creative, hard-working, innovative people that want to grow the business and grow themselves professionally while they're at it. Qualtrics only hires candidates that are overqualified for the role of Product Specialist, and this is because they are expecting you to quickly move through your metrics and take on another role in the rest of the company, armed with your in-depth knowledge of the product. All of the Product Specialists I've come in contact with are very willing to stop what they're doing and help you out if you have a complicated client issue or want to learn something more in-depth, whether that's something about the product, about Qualtrics, or about other skills needed to prosper in your career. I love working with people who are friendly, innovative, and DON'T push you down just so that they can succeed.

    Cons

    The biggest con is probably the fact that the role is a support role. Clients can be very difficult to deal with sometimes, although the overwhelming majority are not difficult and I have had many more positive experiences than negative. But there are customers that are rude, and it can also be hard to instruct customers on complicated processes, especially if they have a very low level of knowledge of Qualtrics and/or technology in general. Some interactions can drain you (especially after you have to delete a million trial accounts), but I knew when I accepted the job that I was signing up for a support role because this was super clear from the beginning of my application process. Another thing that I find to be a con is the disorganization/inefficiency around some processes. Finding information without asking someone can be really difficult, and for the first few weeks, I felt like a chicken with my head cut off because there is SO much information you have to learn quickly to excel at the job. The people around me knew the answers to my questions (or had a better idea of where to find the answers), so we've been able to operate without the clearest/most organized processes in place thus far, but this isn't sustainable long term. Because of this, there are people actively working to fix these issues, and once you get adjusted, you learn how to operate with ambiguity and solve problems better than you could before working at Qualtrics. The last con that I have is that the salary is low. I justified it for a couple of reasons. This is because the role is for a year at most (if you pass your metrics) before you get a raise and move into another role in the company. The second reason I was fine accepting a lower salary is because of the low cost of living in Utah. It is insanely cheap here, especially coming from the east coast as I did. Also, the benefits make the salary less scary. All of my healthcare, vision, and dental is covered and as I mentioned above I barely have to pay for food because they feed us so much at work. Lastly, I have a great work-life balance, and I personally would rather make a bit lower salary and have a life outside of work instead of making $100,000 and having to work 12-15 hours a day, like most of the people I graduated with that accepted jobs in similar industries.

    Continue reading
    Qualtrics2018-11-28
  10. Helpful (39)

    "Avoid the Product Specialist Role as a Recent College Graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Product Specialist in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Qualtrics for less than a year

    Pros

    The Provo office is gorgeous both inside and out and the outside courtyard is a great place to get away for a few when it's nice out. The free food provided thrice per week is pretty high quality, as are the available snacks. Qualtrics employees are mostly very intelligent, personable, and well-spoken.

    Cons

    The following will apply predominantly to the Product Specialist role and should be helpful for recent college graduates. This review will be long, but I promise it will be worth your time if you are considering this position. The TL:DR here is if you are qualified to be hired as a Product Specialist I can guarantee you are qualified for far superior opportunities elsewhere. I highly, highly recommend you do not choose to become a Product Specialist at Qualtrics. Let's get into it. First off, it should be made abundantly clear here (since managers will tell you the opposite during the hiring process) that the Product Specialist role is Technical Support. Your primary and exclusive obligation will be sitting at your computer with a headset on waiting for customers to call in and ask for help. With few exceptions, the ONLY activity besides answering the phone you will engage in is responding to customer email requests. You should not expect that you will spend any time doing anything else besides supporting customers over the phone and via email. You will likely be told during the hiring process that there are opportunities to develop other professional interests and talents as a part of being a Product Specialist, but this is simply 100% false for all but maybe 5-10% of Product Specialists at a time who are asked to complete occasional special projects. This is where the previous assertion of your qualification comes into play. The hiring process at Qualtrics for the Product Specialist is quite competitive and is becoming increasingly so. Qualtrics is looking for students from top-tier schools in the top 10% of their class to be Product Specialists. I can promise you, as someone who has been a Product Specialist, if you meet their hiring bar you have the ability to be so much more than a tech support representative for $40,000 per year. There is more that should dissuade you from this position if you are still unsure. Every single aspect of the Product Specialist position is "gameified" to the point where all autonomy and creativity is lost. Your goal as a Product Specialist is to complete at least 22 tickets (one resolved phone call or email support interaction is one ticket) every day. Note this number may have grown as it was 20 tickets per day just before I started. At the end of each quarter your performance and bonus will be rated against every other Product Specialist based purely on volume of tickets completed. So, while the 22 tickets per day is a general guideline, all your incentives and your manager will encourage you to complete "as many tickets as possible." The above means you are in constant, direct competition with all other Product Specialists. Keep in mind this isn't healthy competition that pushes everyone to do their best; this is the kind of toxic competition that encourages cheating and resentment towards other Product Specialists. During my time at Qualtrics there were MULTIPLE instances in which the entire department of Product Specialists was caught cheating how tickets were handled and recorded to inflate personal productivity numbers. You will be implicitly pressured to engage in cheating like everyone else since at the end of the quarter your performance will be graded against others, regardless of any absolute metrics such as "if you hit X number of tickets you did a good job" that may get thrown around. The entire system is a "game" with special rules as to how different points are calculated and different incentives are earned, and no matter how many times Qualtrics iterates on the "game" there will be opportunities for the rules to be exploited. Qualtrics assumes if you are left to your own devices as a Product Specialist you will choose to sit and do nothing. Qualtrics should instead feel obligated to provide such smart and talented employees with a meaningful job they are motivated to do without some grand "game" to win at the expense of your colleagues. If you have gotten this far and still think you, as a likely top-tier student that has proven they are capable of great things, would enjoy being paid a below-market salary to exclusively answer phone calls and emails as a technical support representative in a toxic environment in a role that never progresses anywhere but only grinds the same basic password-reset email requests each and every day, I wish you all the best. I warn you, however. You will not be intellectually challenged as a Qualtrics Product Specialist. You will not develop a significant number of new skills that will benefit you either at Qualtrics or elsewhere. Your relationship with Qualtrics will be entirely one-sided: Qualtrics will receive a talented support representative that elevates their customer support above their peers but it will come at the expense of your professional development and personal satisfaction. Please - if you have the option of accepting a Product Specialist role at Qualtrics there are so many other places your talents could take you that are superior. Cheers, and I hope this helped.

    Continue reading
    Qualtrics2018-09-10

    Qualtrics Response

    October 8, 2018Talent Brand Manager

    (Appologies as the interface for Glassdoor does not allow formatting beyond one line of text. ) As an experience management company, we take our employee experience seriously and appreciate you offering ideas to clear up any potential confusion in the recruiting process. Thank you for leaving a very candid review of your experience. Our leadership team met and reviewed the review to be sure we are incorporating evolution to assist with things you have mentioned. The following is something they put together to ensure we move forward to develop the career for these roles and all are on the same page for understanding for the role of Product Specialist. Hopefully this will help with any miscommunication. Purpose of the Role: The Product Specialist (PS) role fulfills two key purposes at Qualtrics: 1.) Product Specialists are a critical part of the talent pipeline for the rest of the company. We rely on our Product Specialist’s ability to advance quickly and contribute elsewhere, and we are so pleased to see this happening for our teams. 2.) While in the role, Product Specialists provide the highest level of technical support to our sophisticated customer base. This is an entry-level role that serves as a career launchpad in a fast-growing tech company. Career Trajectory and Launchpad: In the core role, Product Specialists provide product support to thousands of customers ranging from students to professors to business owners. Through these interactions, they gain a) deep product knowledge and b) increased understanding of our customer base, which launches PS’s to new roles/teams To create additional career development opportunities, PS’s are often assigned project work beyond their core support role. Those who are observant and proactive may initiate their own projects based on departmental need. In addition, Qualtrics offers all PS’s unlimited access to an online technology training platform. We’ve also recently hired a PhD in Technology Leadership & Innovation to further our Product Specialist Development Program. Department Culture: Product Specialists are part of our meritocratic company culture, with clear expectations for employees at all levels. While healthy competition exists, the work environment is highly collaborative with PS’s frequently going out of their way to help colleagues. In fact, our PS’s consistently score the people they work with as the highest driver for their high employee satisfaction.

    Continue reading
Found 72 reviews