Qualtrics "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

Qualtrics Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Qualtrics CEO  Ryan Smith
Ryan Smith
456 Ratings
Pros
  • "free food & coke freestyle machines, good pay/bonuses for those who perform well(in 72 reviews)

  • "Company culture, great benefits, young team(in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some internal processes can be frustrating (growing pains of fast moving company)(in 35 reviews)

  • "Provo is not where any millennial from outside of Utah would ever want to live(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fantastic Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualtrics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can't beat the culture. Or the meals and snacks.

    Cons

    Any problems I have are either with the nature of the job I'm in (sales development is an intrinsic grind) or with some temporary operational/structural situations due to growing pains.

    Continue reading
    Qualtrics2020-01-13
  2. "Solid place to work, growth pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Services - Account Executive in Provo, UT
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Qualtrics full-time

    Pros

    Great people and culture Amazing office Great product and exciting growth

    Cons

    Living/working in Provo, if you're not from there, is difficult Growing pains means doing things daily that are well outside of your job description Pay is not on par with most other jobs you will find in the industry (maybe this is just a Utah thing, there are perks that make up for some but hard to replace the bottom line on a paycheck) Good ole boys culture will leave you at a disadvantage as you progress career even though it's a "meritocracy"

    Continue reading
    Qualtrics2019-10-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not totally what I thought but exactly what I needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Brand Leader in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualtrics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Qualtrics is a company where if you have ideas and can show why they work then you attain the resources to go try it. I was able to accomplish things in just weeks that took me years to accomplish at my last company. The environment that you work in is crazy electric and non judging and the caliber of people hired is top in the world. This is a place to come if you have crazy ideas that you know can change the world.

    Cons

    The SAP acquisition was a bit of a shock. While it will be great for both companies and our customers there are a few growing pains right now... but on the plus... we are gaining experience that is once in a lifetime.

    Continue reading
    Qualtrics2019-04-25

    Qualtrics Response

    April 26, 2019Talent Attraction Brand Lead

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We know that great things are in store, and know that with continued transparency from our teams that we can stay on track with developing an incredible culture. Please keep sharing, and thank you again!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Research Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qualtrics for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed Environment for people coming out of college.

    Cons

    Bad management; growing pains but with SAP acquisition it will get better

    Qualtrics2019-02-02

    Qualtrics Response

    February 19, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    We appreciate your review. We know that we are always growing and we thank you for the feedback. We will always improve and be on this journey to always improve. Thank you again for your review.

    Continue reading
  5. "Exciting Place to Be, Amazing People to Work With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualtrics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You'll never meet a kinder group of people to work with. Everyone is friendly and positive and truly cares about you. There's lots of opportunity for career advancement and development. The product roadmap and what we're helping customers do truly is best in class. It's a really exciting place to be.

    Cons

    There are some growing pains with any organization going through rapid growth (a lot of delays to get things done with everyone being stressed thin in addition to outdated processes). As far as the sales org goes, there's an element of arrogance in the way things are done. There are a lot of areas for growth and opportunity if they looked outside whats worked in the past and what other leading companies are doing.

    Qualtrics2018-12-19

    Qualtrics Response

    February 25, 2019Talent Attraction Brand Lead

    Wow - that's some great feedback! As you mentioned - lots of growth can result in some growing pains, but we hope you continue to push to make the business better when you see room for development. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  6. "Incredible company with the best years in front of us"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Leader in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualtrics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture. Caliber of employees. Leaders and executives who care about you and your family. Investment in personal development. Upward growth. Work life blend. Great benefits including 100% covered health care premiums. Office perks (catered lunches, Coke freestyle machines, dogs, beautiful outdoor garden.). Founder run company. Genuine opportunity for A players. Chance to ride a rocket ship as it continues to create a new space (XM) and becomes a category king.

    Cons

    Growing pains you'd expect to see at a hyper-growth company.

    Continue reading
    Qualtrics2018-11-30
  7. "Best place to work in Utah"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualtrics full-time

    Pros

    Fast growing company, lots of opportunities, always trying to improve the employee experience

    Cons

    Growing pains you would expect to see

    Qualtrics2018-08-20

    Qualtrics Response

    September 18, 2018Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for the review and feedback! We are always looking to improve and we know our fast growth rate is going to be our biggest challenge. We value this input to help us continue to improve as we grow!

    Continue reading
  8. "High growth, good culture, strong engineering org"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Qualtrics for less than a year

    Pros

    Very smart people Extremely kind and open culture Relatively interesting problems Good office perks

    Cons

    Technical growing pains Sometimes lacks coherent direction

    Continue reading
    Qualtrics2018-08-02
  9. Helpful (16)

    "Growing Pains Minefield"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualtrics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fast growth means lots of room for career development - Reasonably good pay, great benefits and PTO - Lots of brilliant coworkers - Opportunities (sometimes involuntary) to wear a lot of hats - Post-startup culture means lots of flexibility... sometimes.

    Cons

    - Growing pains means lots of overcommitment on the part of management, paid off by "encouraged" unpaid overtime - Lots of junior hires without many mid-senior hires makes for nonexistent mentorship and a lot of terrible design/practice - Delivery and sales always prioritized over quality, operational integrity, or design - Heavy, pervasive culture of guilting and shaming of devs by management. You will be asked if you are a team player frequently, and rarely referred to as one.

    Continue reading
    Qualtrics2018-05-29

    Qualtrics Response

    June 4, 2018

    Thank you for your review and feedback. As a company that specializes in improving experiences, we appreciate your candor and suggestions for improvement. We know, as you stated, that growing as fast as we have as a company will present some growing pains. Feedback like yours is important as we scale our Engineering team -- it's how we learn! If you'd like, please reach out to me directly so that I can gain a deeper understanding of your concerns.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Incredible Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Qualtrics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been with Qualtrics for a little over 9 months, and I absolutely love it. Everyone in the Dallas office is constantly working together to learn, grow and improve, both professionally and personally. Every day I am excited to come to work and take advantage of the opportunity we have in front of us. Excited to see where it takes us!

    Cons

    Any company growing at this rates will have growing pains, but I look at it as an opportunity to learn, innovate, and create solutions. Can't think of any cons really.

    Qualtrics2017-12-06
Found 35 reviews