Quandoo "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Quandoo Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Quandoo CEO Hidetaka Kawashima (no image)
Hidetaka Kawashima
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Quandoo is fast paced, innovative and provides trust and autonomy to it's staff(in 8 reviews)

  • "Famous "work/life balance" is set to a comfortable level(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unrealistic Targets for anything outwith London(in 9 reviews)

  • "Not enough work or motivation - it feels that no one really cares(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Company with bad management control"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Quandoo full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours given, fun colleague at work

    Cons

    Bad management level, micromanaging manager, rely too much on numbers to get does unrealistic targets set, never look into employee working happiness, implemented process and think that their employee are working robots with computer brain, overload with work and think you can finish them, bad communication skill between management which confuses your subordinates to look clueless, feedback given but does not seems to work on feedback = might as well don’t ask us for feedback. Always talk about work life balance but if you do not meet their expectation which means you are not balance at all

    Continue reading
    Quandoo2020-03-11

    Quandoo Response

    March 13, 2020People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We take all constructive feedback on board as it helps us to grow and create a better working environment. We are sorry that you are not having a positive experience and we would like to discuss several of the points you made in person. If this is something you’d be interested in, please contact us at: peopleandculture@quandoo.com Thanks again, Your Quandoo Team

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Devops @ Quandoo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Quandoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great management Team of professionals Great work-life balance

    Cons

    Open-space can get too loud Language policy

    Quandoo2019-10-21

    Quandoo Response

    December 5, 2019People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re thrilled to hear that you are enjoying your time at Quandoo and we hope you continue to learn and develop your skills with us in the future. If you have any questions or suggestions, please don't hesitate to pop up in our office or contact us via peopleandculture@quandoo.com. Thanks again, Your Quandoo Team

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Lost what made it a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Quandoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Salaries are getting quite good - At the time, amazing team and culture, but don't really feel it anymore - Some projects are interesting - Work-life balance

    Cons

    - Not enough work or motivation - it feels that no one really cares - Leadership turnover - I don't see how the company can perform when the management team is changing all the time - Overall turnover, was already quite high at the time but now Quandoo really struggle to keep its employees

    Continue reading
    Quandoo2019-10-16

    Quandoo Response

    December 5, 2019People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your time at Quandoo. As an innovative company, we take all constructive feedback on board as it helps us to grow and create a better working environment. We would like to discuss your experience with you personally. If this is something you’d be interested in, please contact us at: peopleandculture@quandoo.com Thanks again, Your Quandoo Team

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great for starting, but not for growth (or anything else)."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Quandoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good work/life balance with flexible hours and home office policies (depending on which department you end up in, as well as your reporting manager) - Good corporate benefits and gym discounts - Nice, central location with great options for lunch - Great Friday Qweekends with beers and pizza - Some really great, friendly people to work with (unfortunately, not many stay for too long because of the company's problems) - Good place for initial (entry level) work experience

    Cons

    - No proper structure within the company and teams - No proper communication between teams in departments - Managers on paper with no skills to back up the titles i.e: managers of nothing - Mid level employees may know more than their managers in certain teams - Lack of professionalism - personal feelings are always involved - No opportunities for any professional progress or growth - Lack of any real strategy and clarity (endless loop of a information scavenger hunt) - Severe discrepancies between salaries in different departments - No set boundaries for promotions, salary raises or role expectations - No appreciation of hard work (unless you're in the few teams that receive bonuses) - No equal H/O days across all departments and teams - Frustrating and negative work environment with unprofessional managers

    Continue reading
    Quandoo2019-09-26

    Quandoo Response

    September 30, 2019People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your time at Quandoo. We’re sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. As an innovative company, we take all constructive feedback on board as it helps us to grow and create a better working environment. We would like to discuss your experience with you personally. If this is something you’d be interested in, please contact us at: peopleandculture@quandoo.com We wish you all the best for the future! Your Quandoo-Team

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Best company I ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quandoo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good work/life balance - Good pay - Interesting challenges - Company activities, trips, lunches.

    Cons

    - Sometimes a bit noisy in open space.

    Quandoo2019-06-17

    Quandoo Response

    August 21, 2019People & Culture

    Thank you for sharing your feedback about your positive Quandoo experience! We are happy that you had a great time with us and we look forward to keeping in touch with you in the future. For this and if you would like to refer a potential new employee to us, you can always contact us at: peopleandculture@quandoo.com. All the best for your future endeavours, Your Quandoo Team

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good learnings, fast burnout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Quandoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really nice co-workers; Great work-life balance.

    Cons

    Poor leadership; Bad pay; Very unclear expectations.

    Quandoo2019-02-28
  7. "International open-minded environment !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quandoo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    International open-minded environment, friendly people, flexible work-life balance

    Cons

    Too much cakes and drinks !

    Quandoo2017-09-21
  8. Helpful (2)

    "I enjoy working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Quandoo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - If you have ideas and want to do some interesting stuff which correlates somehow with product needs - you have all chances to work on that ideas. - I like working atmosphere here. Great multicultural environment. Most of my colleagues are awesome! :D - There are people that do care about the quality of code we deliver. - Great new CTO - Famous "work/life balance" is set to a comfortable level. I've been working in companies where they look at you with a blame if you leave your working place strict at 18:00. Luckily Quandoo is NOT one of them. - Lots of nice and interesting technologies are being used.

    Cons

    - Some of my colleagues are not awesome :( - There's no ping-pong table...

    Continue reading
    Quandoo2017-05-11
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Want to work at Quandoo? Have a look at reviews on page 2 and 3!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Quandoo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Note: it seems management want to push all negative feedback onto pages 2 and 3, hoping that you won't see it. The good: - fast paced, never a dull moment at Quandoo - if you're good, you'll progress quickly, which is why I gave it 4 stars for "Career Opportunities" - camaraderie with your immediate team - lots of autonomy: if you achieve your targets, managers do not care how you do it

    Cons

    Just in case you're wondering, nothing in the negative reviews on the other pages is exaggerated. I've personally experienced, or seen it happen to others, or overheard EVERYTHING that other reviewers say. The bad: - Buggy software - be prepared to deal with very angry accounts. Every - single - day. Be prepared to lose accounts because they are sick of working it out. They're intelligent people, it's not them. Be prepared to spend 20 min on a task that should take you 30 secs - Unless you're high up in the hierarchy: no support from HQ. There's a review here that says exactly the opposite. I'm guessing this person is a country manager or something... - Silo mentality. Some teams (usually the ones not in direct contact with customers-accounts) won't lift the little finger if you don't hand it to them on a plate The ugly: - NO WORK LIFE BALANCE. You'll start at 9 am. You'll finish at 11pm, or midnight, or later. Every - single - day. You'll have meetings with accounts at night and on weekends because that's when they work. You'll still do your admin work during business hours. You'll basically work two jobs. You'll be paid for one. You'll never see your friends, family or partner. Your health will take a hit - Poor pay. Obviously what seems OK on the basis of 38 hours/ week, give or take the occasional crazy month, seems pretty poor when you work 70 hour-weeks on the regular, all year round - I've seen 2 people getting fired simply because they didn't bring in the same results after a while. A little like when you kill a horse that helped on the farm all its life but is now getting too old... No, all those reviewers on pages 2 and 3 saying they are afraid to lose their job month after month are not too dramatic - If you're good and achieve 100% of your targets, next month management will expect 120% from you - But you may be good one month because the targets appeal to your strengths. The company changes focus every month. So drop everything you were doing last month. Your new targets may not appeal to your strengths anymore. You may fall short, at say 60-80%. In which case, be prepared to have one-on-ones with management (not of the pleasant kind) - Obviously turnover is crazy. Just have a look at the number of past employees on Linkedin. I've seen people leave after a week. I've seen people never come back after just one day. That's why Quandoo is always, always recruiting. Not because it is growing - Value system is poor. It's OK to be "creative" with your sales strategy, as long as this new account is signed. It's short-term sales. Don't worry about long-term mutually beneficial relationships

    Continue reading
    Quandoo2016-12-27
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Not everyone's cup of tea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Quandoo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are a junior sales person with the hunger for new business sales and lower expectations, this might be suitable for you.

    Cons

    The commission scheme does not justify the daily effort put in. Commission payout is low compared to industry standards. Lack of basic sales support. No fixed mobile and transport allowance and you even have to ask for approval from your boss before taking a taxi to and from meetings now. Be prepared to be micromanaged here, assess honestly if this is something you can live with. Lack of work-life balance where management will contact you about work after official working hours and even on weekends. Management might accuse you of things you have never done with no concrete evidence. For example, when they see a bad review from an anonymous source, they point fingers based on what they think they know/feel and not by any concrete evidence.

    Continue reading
    Quandoo2015-04-20
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews