Quartzy Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
87%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Quartzy CEO Jayant Kulkarni
Jayant Kulkarni
22 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Culture! Hyper Growth! Mission Driven!

    Mar 23, 2021 - Head of Talent Acquisition in Winfield, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Serving an industry (life science) that is doing impactful work on the world around us. -Providing dynamic technology to our customers who have traditionally been underserved from a tech perspective. -100% remote/distributed team that does a great job creating consistent engagement. Virtual HH's, Virtual 5K, Speaker Series etc. - Friendly and welcoming! -Passionate founders who are involved in the day to day of the business and are highly accessible. -Both our platform and organization (employees) will grow significantly over the next 12+ months.

    Cons

    These aren't really cons (for me), but are things to point out/consider. It's start up in hyper growth mode! You have to be willing to jump in and move fast. There won't be a process defined for everything. Again not a con, but being a distributed team across the US means working with people in different timezones. Although people are very mindful of requests outside of your core hours, there will be times you have to work off hours.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fun startup

    Mar 1, 2021 - Marketing Manager in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun place to work and learn.

    Cons

    Unsure of overall company direction

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Toxic

    Jan 8, 2021 - Marketplace 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you lack diversity and consider yourself a software engineer you will do great here, although they can't pay a competitive salary. If you've worked at the company for more than 6 years, you will likely be favored but still treated like garbage.

    Cons

    Very toxic work environment. Turnover rate is off the charts. Many of the longer standing employees (usually promoted to titles with manager in them although their responsibilities remained the same) are psychologically abusive and have complexes. Diversity and inclusion was woefully disregarded, anyone seen as 'other' was told so outright and questioned to conform. Culture is centered on who made mistakes and how to punish them. Endured emotional abuse on a daily basis. Beware!

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Quartzy Response

    I'm really surprised to hear this, as it most definitely does not align with the values to which our company aspires. There is some factually incorrect information here, and I would appreciate the opportunity to talk to you about this to better understand your perspective. We most certainly do not want this to be someone's experience at Quartzy. You can contact me directly at adamr@quartzy.com. Best, Adam Regelmann (Co-founder)

  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    N/A

    May 29, 2020 - Inside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are smart, adaptable, and welcoming

    Cons

    leadership, planning, and building a sustainable product

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great experience with the normal start up excitement

    Feb 19, 2019 - Software Engineer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Although there are still the normal start up difficulties to build the right processes, everyone is very open to making changes when it makes sense. This is the first company I've worked for where I feel like I'm actually doing something good for the world. It is still a business at the end of the day, but what we provide empowers our customers to continue their good work.

    Cons

    Not everything has a clear process, and there is currently no good feedback on performance and how to improve. I believe this will be changing soon, but it does sometimes feel like I'm just guessing on what I should be doing to improve.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    Jun 28, 2019 - Customer Service Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has a great set of managers and leaders who are really approachable and open to new ideas. There is always opportunities for employees to voice their opinion and have some input on the direction the company is going. -Great benefits -Catered lunch -Stocked refrigerator Everything you need to be a functional worker. I have really enjoyed my time here and look forward to continue growing with the company.

    Cons

    Like any start up there is constant change. Some people might view this as a bad thing but this is the same with any company trying to make their way.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great mission, devoted employees, good culture!

    Sep 8, 2019 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Every team is very close-knit and supportive. Casual work atmosphere. Flat organization, you can talk with and collaborate with anyone. Consistently brining amazing people onboard.

    Cons

    Still working out the kinks of remote culture.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company Culture!

    May 24, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Quartzy is full of great people and open to remote work. The product is cool!

    Cons

    Things can move slowly sometimes, but we're working on that.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent place to work and grow

    Aug 10, 2016 - Business Development Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was at Quartzy for nearly 2 years and it has been one of the best environments I've had an opportunity to work, thus far. - Pretty common Silicon Valley startup perks (coffee, tea, snacks, community lunch, etc.). - The user base is 200K+ strong and they have an early lead on competitors in a niche market. - The company is very customer-focused and driven by empathy for the plight of the modern scientist. As a result, each member of the team adopts a sense of ownership for the success of the company. - Everyone, regardless of position, has the ability to make a lasting impact. - There is very little "in-fighting" or office politics - people are generally up front about giving and receiving feedback. - Nearly TMI-level communication from Management makes this a very transparent and open environment.

    Cons

    - Because of rapid growth, some processes were developed quickly and with a fair amount of "duct-tape"... meaning that they can be cumbersome and could use re-development. - Short ramp-up time. Everyone is working very hard and new hires need to jump in, and learn quickly in order to succeed. - People here are keen to tell it like it is, so if you're someone who "reads between the lines", you might be more confused than if you just asked a simple question (this isn't necessarily a con, just a piece of advice).

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to challenge yourself and make an impact

    Aug 29, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great Culture: positive attitudes and tons of overall passion towards the mission of the company -Knowledge across the company: management does a great job of making sure everyone has knowledge of what is happening across teams as well as on their own team -Involvement: constant opportunities to be involved in projects within your team as well as provide input to projects spanning beyond your direct team -Seeing your work directly make in impact in your company. This has been one of the few jobs I have had where I am able to directly correlate my time and efforts to a positive impact on the companies success. -Non-work activities: Quartzy does a great job of making sure we grow together and have some fun while doing so (book-clubs, art nights, cooking classes, outdoor activities, picnics, etc.) It is refreshing to be surrounded by so many different types of intelligent people who are all working hard for a common goal.

    Cons

    -We often work long hours. So if you are looking for a place with a set 9-5 schedule, this is probably not the place for you. -The learning curve can be tough for some. There is a lot to learn and most of it will be new! Work at Quartzy can be challenging. There are constant bumps and obstacles, but working through them is part of the excitement.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews

Popular Careers with Quartzy Job Seekers

VP, Product Management
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Customer Support Specialist (Remote)
Learn About the Job
Director, Product Management
Learn About the Job
Marketplace Support Specialist
Learn About the Job
Life Science Product Specialist
Learn About the Job
Director of Product Management
Learn About the Job

Work at Quartzy? Share Your Experiences

Quartzy logo
or