Queensway Carleton Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Queensway Carleton Hospital Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Queensway Carleton Hospital CEO Tom Schonberg (no image)
Tom Schonberg
3 Ratings
  1. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Queensway Carleton Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and good staff

    Cons

    Unionized No opportunity to distinguish

    Advice to Management

    None

    Queensway Carleton Hospital2019-10-12
  2. "A3 interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Queensway Carleton Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy, laid back, little prep necessary

    Cons

    Management, heavy unit with little support, unsafe circumstances at times

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff when safety concerns are addressed and don’t just be thinking about your Budget. Nurses are getting hurt regularly and that’s why we always have so many sick calls. People are getting hurt and / or getting burnt out.

    Queensway Carleton Hospital2019-09-24
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Queensway Carleton Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere to work in

    Cons

    N/A for now, still new at the job

    Queensway Carleton Hospital2019-09-08
  4. "Work expirence review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Registered Practical Nurse in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Queensway Carleton Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This hospital specifically allows nurses to practice everything in their scope with a diverse population of patients. Once working past your probation in this hospital you can "float "to any other unit and gain more experience in different aspects of nursing.

    Cons

    Queensway Carelton Hospital is underfunded in comparison the other Ottawa hospitals and has less education opportunities for Registered Practical Nurses.

    Advice to Management

    Management could better facilitate staffing resources in making certain nurses are not under staffed or given heavy patient assignment's (i.e. too many acute patient's in one assignment).

    Queensway Carleton Hospital2019-05-22
  5. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Queensway Carleton Hospital part-time

    Pros

    Good support from manager and education nurse. Team was hard working, nice, and helpful.

    Cons

    Heavy work load some days

    Advice to Management

    Provide more opportunities for advancement

    Queensway Carleton Hospital2018-06-10
  6. "Registered nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Queensway Carleton Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    the birth unit was a very happy place to work !

    Cons

    shift work 12 hour night are too hard to do.

    Advice to Management

    be more accommodating to your senior staff

    Queensway Carleton Hospital2018-03-21
  7. "Staffing Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staffing Clerk in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Queensway Carleton Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing management, they're so supportive and want you to be successful. They really care about your future career and offer possibilities about how to grow with the organization. The team is fantastic and the nurses seem to genuinely want to work there and pick up shifts. Good work-life balance and opportunities for full-time employment. The CEO came to our orientation!! Not only that, but much of senior... management also came just to meet us and hear about what we'd be doing and our experience, etc. I felt absolutely 100% welcomed. That never happened at any other health care provider I've worked for, and it was truly special.

    Show More

    Cons

    Employee parking is more expensive compared to other hospitals, but there are more spaces available and the garage is closer. Union rules can make it hard to grant time off to your hard-working employees. Pay is slightly less than other Ottawa hospitals, but corporate culture and patient load can make up for it.

    Advice to Management

    You're doing amazing. Keep having such faith in your employees and support their suggestions and talents/ideas. Your employees really like to meet you and get to know you.

    Queensway Carleton Hospital2017-08-08
  8. "PM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Queensway Carleton Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Great management team, great staff

    Cons

    High employee turnover in some departments, long hours

    Queensway Carleton Hospital2016-12-12
  9. "RN staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse Med Surg in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Queensway Carleton Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good,,love to work for it

    Cons

    Good but need to have more focus on teaching

    Advice to Management

    Good

    Queensway Carleton Hospital2016-04-05
  10. "Great small hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RPN in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at Queensway Carleton Hospital part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    friendly people, good management, good pay

    Cons

    hard to get full time job

    Queensway Carleton Hospital2013-05-12
Found 11 reviews