Questar Assessment Reader Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Questar Assessment Reader Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
42%
Recommend to a Friend
Questar Assessment President and Chief Executive Officer Stephen Lazer (no image)
Stephen Lazer
0 Rating
  1. "They keep you engaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Test Reader in Blaine, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment for more than a year

    Pros

    Questar cares about their people. When you work on a project they do their utmost to ensure that you can get the test scores reviewed thoroughly and accurately. It is a wonderful place to keep your mind sharp and help schools educate students.

    Cons

    The only con I have about Questar is that all their offices are currently in the southern suburbs in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area. I started with them in 2011 working at their Shoreview office. It was nice and convenient because I live in the northern suburbs of Minneapolis/St. Paul. This office closed in 2013 and now I have doubled my drive time to their existing offices.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-01-16
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Time to up the ante for readers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Test Scorer/Reader 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment

    Pros

    * All the folks I've worked with over the years have been great. Interesting, college-educated (required), and fun to spend time with. * Most of the scoring directors and team leaders are also easy to work with, answer questions, usually take the time needed to help you understand. * I think most scorers go in with the attitude to do well by the student.

    Cons

    * Pay is $15.00/hour, and has not changed at all over the years I've scored (since 2011). * This year there was a project bonus, but they were very cagey about the criteria for getting it. Much time/energy put into gift card drawings, which apply to only a few people, vs. actually giving a raise to all. * Facilities (W. Bloomington) leave much to be desired (unused space from previous corporate tenant, so probably cheap rent). Old chairs that are simply awful on your back/posture, horrible ergonomics. My back still hurts. Carpets were filthy, and the air is stale. I'm guessing they're not paying much for actual cleaning services. * Projects seem to be managed rather haphazardly at times. Not the fault of the scoring directors, but scheduling seems to have some randomness to it (i.e., no papers, don't come it; lots of papers, but no overtime; or, work as much as you can; and, then, just abruptly being finished with the project). * Also, no heads up about future projects. If you've been there awhile you know a bit of the rhythm of what projects happen when, but not if there are new ones that you might be interested in. Just the luck of the draw when you check your email if something is going on.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2019-06-20
  3. Helpful (8)

    "This company has limited thinking, and it has its own success in mind!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reader/Scorer in Bloomington, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many professional and educated people that work hard as scoring directors and team leads.

    Cons

    Atmosphere is depressing, no investment in the work environment, filthy carpets, worn down chairs, plastic tables and hard to read from laptops which clunk off line, making it hard to do your job. As a reader/scorer we are to training on the set criteria provide by a contracting state on their rubric on placing scores for English, math and biology. As a requirement, you will need to pass the standardized testing sets to show you know the rubric.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-08-15
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Company needs leadership and growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reader in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Questar Assessment part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great people - Great Scoring Directors - Training is good - Job has purpose and can be rewarding

    Cons

    - Projects are scattered and timelines are unpredictable - Communication with employees is sometimes cryptic or non-existent - Projects seem to be vanishing. Wondering if the company is dying.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2015-11-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Making a difference, one score at a time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reader in Apple Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent pt opportunity for anyone with a BA degree! I've worked in the seasonal scoring department for 5 years and plan to continue as long as they will have me. I work at the Apple Valley location. Friendly and approachable project managers Excellent training and tech help Culture that demands high performance, challenges your thinking, inspires you to do even better FUN environment: high praise, team activities, stretch breaks, book swaps, and foodie nights EXCELLENT hourly compensation. If you're looking for extra income, this is the place.

    Cons

    Project managers from other locations could learn a trick or two about respect and training from the top notch project leaders at AV. There are 1-2 that I would not consider working for on future projects. Career note: Questar promotes from within, but I'm not aware of how to move up in the scoring center area. Senior Mngmt note: only 4 stars due to very limited interaction. They seem highly knowledgeable and engaging when they make rounds.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2015-02-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reader in Apple Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good way to earn some extra money once a year.

    Cons

    Limited night shifts are available

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2015-01-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Mentally taxing work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Reader/Scorer in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you prefer seasonal work, there is sometimes a couple of weeks between each contract.

    Cons

    The work is mentally exhausting to the point of complete fatigue at the end of each work day.

    Questar Assessment2014-07-21
  8. "It is a challenging and rewarding place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Reader in Apple Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment

    Pros

    Variety, Personal caring and involvement by the supervisors and managers. Challenging projects with excellent training processes. Professional and supportive team.

    Cons

    The major con is that there are times when projects don't provide the amount of work necessary to keep the employees engaged. There should be a minimum level of compensation for employees time when they have arrived on site, e.g. 4 hour minimum.

    Questar Assessment2011-09-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews