Questar Assessment Reviews | Glassdoor

Questar Assessment Reviews

Updated Feb 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
20%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Questar Assessment President and Chief Executive Officer Stephen Lazer (no image)
Stephen Lazer
18 Ratings
  1. "friendly and efficient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very friendly employees learning environment encouraged

    Cons

    i've yet to find any cons

    Questar Assessment2018-06-07
  2. Helpful (17)

    "Save money by living at work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you love takeout food, this place is great. Mgmt will make you stay and work through lunch by bringing in takeout food for lunch.

    Cons

    While working at Questar you will miss ALL of your kids recitals/sports, every concert on the weekends or wedding you are invited to. You will never travel anywhere because you will be in the office for 12hr days everyday, and then nights and weekends will be full of emergency calls/emails. If you do ever dare to leave "early", expect to hear about it for eternity. Most of management has a huge temper. Expect to get yelled at and cursed out many times a week over nothing. There is no professionalism and project planning is non-existent. There will forever be a parade of people getting interviewed because turnover is very high.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2018-02-17
  3. Helpful (14)

    "Great colleagues. Great mission. Broken organization."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues. Sincere commitment to making good products and positively impacting education.

    Cons

    Capricious executive leadership. No formal onboarding or training -- you learn your job by being thrown into the deep end. Limited direction from supervisors; and limited performance reviews. Expect to work 70+ hours per week.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-12-03
  4. Helpful (15)

    "No Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love my team and I’m proud of the work the company is doing. The company is innovative and growing. In many ways, I believed this was my dream job. I appreciate the camaraderie with colleagues I work closely with, if not for them, I would have quit in the first month.

    Cons

    There is no work/life balance - NONE. I’m pulling 60-70 hour work weeks, which is not what was discussed during my interview. I am so busy that I eat only two meals a day- most of the time it's delivery—yech! I barely have time to go to the bathroom, and I still can’t finish the tasks in front of me. I don’t read websites or go on Facebook, I barely have time to chat with coworkers, I just WORK all day. The work I can't finish, I take home. I’m becoming depressed, I’ve snapped at my loved ones (who I love dearly—I NEVER snap at them, but I am doing this more frequently). I’m perpetually exhausted and anxious. Sunday night rolls around and I can't sleep because I'm stressed about Monday.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-11-04
  5. "Seasonal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Questar Assessment part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are nice and culture is pleasant

    Cons

    Can't really think of any.

    Questar Assessment2017-11-10
  6. Helpful (17)

    "Technology Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Questar Assessment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    New technologies, ability to learn a lot quickly

    Cons

    Long hours, extremely short deadlines, frequently over works employees, lack of communication, weekend and overnight work is expected.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-11-29
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Professionally Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Apple Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Questar is a good company. There has been a recent change in leadership, and it is encouraging. The company is heading in a positive direction and the new CEO has the industry knowledge and experience to move the company in a positive direction. My time at the company has been extremely professionally challenging. I have gained a lot of experience and have had the opportunity to work with may great people. Most of the employees are extremely dedicated to delivering the best possible product.

    Cons

    If you are considering applying to the company, be prepared for a sharp learning curve, tight deadlines, and high expectations. If you are not self-motivated, a fast learner, and willing to put in time and effort, you will not be successful here. Depending on your department, there can be nights and weekend work. There has been high turnover due to people burning out.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-10-01
  8. Helpful (14)

    "No Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    You will work alongside a talented group of people. New CEO - but the effort needed to turn the culture around may take too long for many. Some of the executives are aligned to finding work life balance - not all.

    Cons

    A 60 hour work week is common. It is common to hear "yeah, well, this team, or this person worked this much longer" 24/7 availability is expected - this means holidays, weekends, at midnight - you never know when you will get that crisis email. As a result you are always "on-call". They do not know how to manage the clients and have promised deliveries that stress all resources. Employees are burned out, which causes errors which causes even more chaos.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-10-29
  9. "Future looks bright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    Staff and new leadership are worth investing your talents.

    Cons

    Change will be the norm for a while, which makes some feel uneasy.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-09-19
  10. "Scorer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Questar Assessment part-time

    Pros

    Nice people, possibility of flexibility of hours.

    Cons

    can be tedious. project lengths can not be not guaranteed.

    Questar Assessment2017-09-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 111 reviews