Questar Assessment Reviews | Glassdoor

Questar Assessment Reviews

Updated Feb 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
21%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Questar Assessment President and Chief Executive Officer Stephen Lazer (no image)
Stephen Lazer
18 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Working at Questar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    People are nice and professional

    Cons

    Training across the board for all groups should be improved

    Questar Assessment2017-08-23
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people who work here are some of the hardest working, most dedicated people you will ever work with.

    Cons

    Leadership lacks the ability to plan ahead and set a strategy for the organization and instead gets caught up in micromanaging the day to day activities of the teams. Leadership expects people to be available 24/7, work long hours day after day and handle more than one person should be able to handle, leaving a very limited work/life balance. This organization thrives on adrenaline and chaos as well as super heroes constantly having to jump in and save the day.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-09-20
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Already looking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I feel for my skills and experience I am payed appropriately for the first time in my life. My direct boss is flexible with needs/easy to talk to. Employee events committee that seems to care. Generous PTO. Co workers on same level are great.

    Cons

    Work life balance stinks - be prepared to work nights and weekends. They lowered the cubical walls so there is 0 illusion of privacy. There are a few huge rooms with open cubical - the definition of cubical farm. Loud and hard to concentrate. Upper management seem blind to the problems and high turn over going on around them. The thought is, the more hours you work the better employee you are. Even if you are bad at your job if you work more hours you do better in their eyes over someone who is great at their job and is able to complete it in a normal work week. No clear training. High turn over means everyone is doing things differently. Little flexibility for salaried employees to work from home/flex hours. Treated more as an hourly position without the overtime. Used to get snacks monthly, they took it away as a months worth of snacks went missing in an few hours. No bonuses, only low cost of living increases. Negotiate high on the front end.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-07-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Changing Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    New management, changes for the better have started making work/life balance adjustments. Training is in the works. Many talented people. Exciting place to work currently.

    Cons

    Need to be flexible and able to commit to a fast paced environment.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-07-11
  5. Helpful (8)

    "This company has limited thinking, and it has its own success in mind!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reader/Scorer in Bloomington, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many professional and educated people that work hard as scoring directors and team leads.

    Cons

    Atmosphere is depressing, no investment in the work environment, filthy carpets, worn down chairs, plastic tables and hard to read from laptops which clunk off line, making it hard to do your job. As a reader/scorer we are to training on the set criteria provide by a contracting state on their rubric on placing scores for English, math and biology. As a requirement, you will need to pass the standardized testing sets to show you know the rubric.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-08-15
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Growing FAST!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for a growing company provides many opportunities to learn and grow. You will have plenty of opportunities to learn new technologies and work with many different levels of the leadership team.

    Cons

    The hours can be difficult for someone with a family or young children. The testing season demands many long hours (most are unplanned). The salary and benefits are below industry levels making it difficult to attract good talent. Turnover is high so those that stay end up taking on most of the work making it difficult to do you own job. They have many areas where they only have one resource making it challenging to get the support when you may need it. IT lacks a clear strategic vision and roadmap.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-07-06
  7. Helpful (14)

    "This place is broken on the inside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You will never be happier to leave work than you will be when you leave here. The thing is- simply leaving work at the end of the day (or week) is far more difficult task than it is elsewhere.

    Cons

    The company creeps and lurches from one crisis averted to the next catastrophe. This is the hook, for many of those who stay here- to help out the people with whom they work. From dire situation to dire situation, burning adrenaline like rocket fuel, that crisis mentality which keeps good people looking out for their colleagues is perpetually exploited and cultivated by the company. When one realizes how intentional this all is, they can only escape- which explains the high rate of turnover.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-08-06
  8. Helpful (8)

    "employer of last resort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Automation Engineer in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    opportunity to practice one's craft; good technology stack and tool set; well intentioned people;

    Cons

    terrible work life balance; persistent inability to organize work efficiently; much more of a Waterfall methodology shop than any reasonable implementation of Agile; workforce made up of a coalition of the willing and all too often a coalition of unhappy and burned out castaways; hobbled and/or ineffective leadership; low pay and inability to recruit and retain the best and brightest employees; change agents ignored, resented, or dismissed;

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-06-23
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    The people there are great. How such great people work at such a lousy company is beyond me. Fun technology to work with on the product side.

    Cons

    Work/life balance stinks. Often worked evenings, weekends, overnights....24-and-higher-hour work days are not unheard of. High burnout/turnover rate. I didn't get the impression that senior management cared about the situation, because nothing changed.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-06-14
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Training needs attention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Scorer in Bloomington, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, pleasant work areas, breaks lunch are well coordinated.

    Cons

    The training session is difficult for a new person coming in. I was in a group of 60 and 3 of us were new. It basically was a review for the 57 returnees. When a question was asked by the leader, they would spout out the answer. I didn't know what they were talking about. The leader would say, "Go to 5.5.8B1 Far-Link Bullet one." I had no idea what it was or where it was. Then they would read a sentence and I couldn't find it. I had to learn the book by myself but could not take it out of the room. I did not qualify. I wasn't surprised.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-04-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 111 reviews