Questar Assessment "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Questar Assessment Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
25%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
Questar Assessment President and Chief Executive Officer Stephen Lazer (no image)
Stephen Lazer
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Time of Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are few company's where you can be part of something big. The growth in sales have allowed for tremendous opportunities for employees. If you like growth and change, you will like it at Questar. The leadership team works well together and there is constant continuous improvement happening. We also have the opportunity to help children with our product / services that is rewarding in itself. Whatever reviews existed here before 2015 would not apply any longer because it is a very different company now.

    Cons

    With growth comes challenges. We have many new people, new applications and new clients. The busiest time of year is spring so long hours are often necessary. People need to be self starters because there is not someone to hold your hand and on board new employees.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2016-03-27
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Day and night when compared to other jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Location (if you live in south metro) - Exposure to a lot of different technologies - Some really good people there. Haven’t found anyone quite like them. Still in contact with a few. - Gained an understanding on how not to do things. - Gained an understanding on how to manage a team, how to protect, and how to empower them. (And to be fair, you can find most of the above in any company, minus the part below)

    Cons

    I was there from a time when we started of with a handful of people in the department to a team within a department managed by a director. Luckily for my department, the majority of my tenure, we were shielded from much of what you read below. We were still subjected to it, but our director really helped manage that and filter it so we could attempt to do our jobs. And even then, it is a night and day difference from my current position. The biggest things that caused incredible strain on the department: - Lack of process - Lack of solid, truthful, and inspiring leadership from the Leadership team. There were good directors and managers sprinkled about, but when the C levels are the heads of said departments - where they go, we went, ultimately. - Blame game. No one ever took responsibility. I would never do anything without some sort of paper trail, just to cya. What a terrible way to work. - Lack of comradeship. As I mentioned, for the majority of my tenure, I had an incredible boss, and that time was great - but before and after his tenure, wasn’t the most positive. - Too many hot fixes, in the general sense. Rather than turn off the source of the fire, lets just put the fire out in this room, because who cares about the rest of the house. - Too much bending over for clients. Get the product solid. We had 50 (exaggerating) different versions of software, causing huge mismanagement of data. - The feeling from most leadership was that we were just expendable parts of a sinking boat. - Work/Life balance. People being pulled back in from PTO for issues that could have been remediated before the leave. 80+ hour work weeks. - Poor planning. Many issues can be remediated if we had planned properly. - A very stressful culture. My significant other noticed a “cloud of depression” come over me after my boss (aka the filter) left. - Expected long hours (for most departments). It should be on exception, not expected. - Turnover rate is astronomical. I once tried to keep track and couldn’t. Many, many, many great people have come and gone. I would not recommend this company for anyone not scrounging for a job, or if you value your time. Even if your think you can right the ship, you can’t. Many have tried and failed. Until leadership gets on board/changes, I would stay away.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2019-11-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Lots of long hours in the Fall and Spring

    Questar Assessment2018-09-27
  4. Helpful (17)

    "Technology Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Questar Assessment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    New technologies, ability to learn a lot quickly

    Cons

    Long hours, extremely short deadlines, frequently over works employees, lack of communication, weekend and overnight work is expected.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-11-29
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people who work here are some of the hardest working, most dedicated people you will ever work with.

    Cons

    Leadership lacks the ability to plan ahead and set a strategy for the organization and instead gets caught up in micromanaging the day to day activities of the teams. Leadership expects people to be available 24/7, work long hours day after day and handle more than one person should be able to handle, leaving a very limited work/life balance. This organization thrives on adrenaline and chaos as well as super heroes constantly having to jump in and save the day.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-09-20
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Growing FAST!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for a growing company provides many opportunities to learn and grow. You will have plenty of opportunities to learn new technologies and work with many different levels of the leadership team.

    Cons

    The hours can be difficult for someone with a family or young children. The testing season demands many long hours (most are unplanned). The salary and benefits are below industry levels making it difficult to attract good talent. Turnover is high so those that stay end up taking on most of the work making it difficult to do you own job. They have many areas where they only have one resource making it challenging to get the support when you may need it. IT lacks a clear strategic vision and roadmap.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-07-06
  7. Helpful (17)

    "Needs new leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    They provide free coffee and tea.

    Cons

    This is one of the most poorly managed companies I have ever worked for. The executive team has no experience in the industry and it shows in the numerous bad decisions they make. Anyone with industry experience left the company or was fired, so for the most part they operate blindly. They aggressively went after new business without understanding the scope of work involved. As a result, the clients suffer. Contracts are under bid, under staffed, and poorly managed. The current program management team has almost no experience managing large assessment programs. IT builds the products they think the clients want without understanding the nature of student assessment and how the systems should work in a student environment. If clients want something new or different, IT says *we can build it* and then the entire development schedule is trashed. The content team is understaffed and people regularly burn out and leave. HR is a joke: There is essentially no HR, just a couple of unqualified individuals who can't even be bothered to conduct exit interviews. The office space is depressing. The people are unfriendly. The long hours coupled with the fact that you are managed by incompetent managers makes any job there a soul-sucking bummer.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-03-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Hard working staff - always emergency requiring extra long hours with no compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment for less than a year

    Pros

    People are nice and work hard. Very dedicated individuals to meet crazy short deadlines.

    Cons

    Long hours with no appreciation. Lacking top leadership. Rarely a thank you except by my immediate boss.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2013-02-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews