Questar Assessment "people are great" Reviews | Glassdoor

Questar Assessment Employee Reviews about "people are great"

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
25%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
Questar Assessment President and Chief Executive Officer Stephen Lazer (no image)
Stephen Lazer
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "people are great"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Test scorer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Test Scorer in Apple Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Questar Assessment

    Pros

    The people are great to work with

    Cons

    The seating set up is not very ergonomic

    Questar Assessment2017-01-20
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Prioritization is what it all boils down to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazingly, the people are great, which almost everyone says, considering the horrifying environment. Generally no yelling, screaming, tearing people's eyes out, threats, or dismemberment

    Cons

    Lack of effective value-based prioritization, which I believe is the MAIN problem. Defects and hotfixes as numerous as the stars. The "C" suite was witnessed blaming others for their own mistakes (I saw it, too). Wrong people leading the company and IT...nice people, but just wrong. Scrum and its talented practitioners were ignored and then abandoned...sad Business ignored new functionality showcases, so sprint teams got little feedback. Popular phrase was: "over-promise, under deliver." No, it was simply "over-promise." How much more room in this box do I have?

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2019-06-11
  3. Helpful (17)

    "Rocky roads ahead for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assessment Delivery in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There were some great people at this company. Were is the main word, most have left. Good career opportunities and experience if you're willing to deal with all the problems. I honestly learned way more than I thought I would, enough to move on to a much better job, so that's a big bonus to me. Pay was competitive with market rates, but after factoring in hours I was making about half as much as I would have working somewhere else.

    Cons

    There has been no visible effort to actually appreciate employees or retain staff. New work is barely getting done, most deliverables are late. Turnover and poor documentation has resulted in lots of people in positions they are not qualified for. Senior management seems clueless about what's actually going on while the most junior people do 3 times more work than they should have to because of management's poor planning. Miscommunication is so bad between departments that the company is basically a satire.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2018-11-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Lots of long hours in the Fall and Spring

    Questar Assessment2018-09-27
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Professionally Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Apple Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Questar is a good company. There has been a recent change in leadership, and it is encouraging. The company is heading in a positive direction and the new CEO has the industry knowledge and experience to move the company in a positive direction. My time at the company has been extremely professionally challenging. I have gained a lot of experience and have had the opportunity to work with may great people. Most of the employees are extremely dedicated to delivering the best possible product.

    Cons

    If you are considering applying to the company, be prepared for a sharp learning curve, tight deadlines, and high expectations. If you are not self-motivated, a fast learner, and willing to put in time and effort, you will not be successful here. Depending on your department, there can be nights and weekend work. There has been high turnover due to people burning out.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-10-01
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    The people there are great. How such great people work at such a lousy company is beyond me. Fun technology to work with on the product side.

    Cons

    Work/life balance stinks. Often worked evenings, weekends, overnights....24-and-higher-hour work days are not unheard of. High burnout/turnover rate. I didn't get the impression that senior management cared about the situation, because nothing changed.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-06-14
  7. Helpful (18)

    "No work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    I work with many great people. Unfortunately they don't last long and it's an endless cycle of people coming and going.

    Cons

    Poor planning throughout the organization. The PMO is shattered with good PM's frequently leaving and the recent firing of a good PMO director. Many late nights and weekends are normal and expected. As the turnover is atrocious, it's hard to get anything done as the institutional knowledge leaves when the employees do. I would really love to stand behind the product we offer, however we frequently cut corners to meet deadlines and do not do the proper quality assurance testing required. In general, poor hours and benefits make this place somewhere I don't want to work. If you work here, do it as a contractor as the overtime pay might make up for the late nights.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-04-05
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Company needs leadership and growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reader in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Questar Assessment part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great people - Great Scoring Directors - Training is good - Job has purpose and can be rewarding

    Cons

    - Projects are scattered and timelines are unpredictable - Communication with employees is sometimes cryptic or non-existent - Projects seem to be vanishing. Wondering if the company is dying.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2015-11-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Atmosphere of a start-up within the structure of a well-established company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT in Apple Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    In general, the people are great to work with and really want to do the right thing. While the leadership is new, they bring with them solid outside experience. There is a renewed focus on the company mission and vision while recognizing the need to modernize and diversity. This is opening up a world of opportunities.

    Cons

    As with any company that undergoes major organizational changes, there is a ripple effect of uncertainly and perhaps even anxiety. That said, the atmosphere of "starting over" is energizing. But for many people change is anything BUT energizing. If one finds themselves in the latter category, I recommend they assess if they need to either change their attitude or change their career.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2015-01-22
  10. "Strong company with high moral character. Company has a bright future. Poor HR department."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Management in Apple Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great. Bright, articulate and highly educated. The mission and desire to do right for the customer are the key points stressed by management and in my experience have always been applied.

    Cons

    Duplicitous HR department. HR leader is not to be trusted and has lost the respect of most of the employees. There has been lots of turnover lately. The company is trying to find their place in the new online assessment and with summative assessments.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2014-02-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews