Questar Assessment "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Questar Assessment Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
25%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
Questar Assessment President and Chief Executive Officer Stephen Lazer (no image)
Stephen Lazer
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Changing Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    New management, changes for the better have started making work/life balance adjustments. Training is in the works. Many talented people. Exciting place to work currently.

    Cons

    Need to be flexible and able to commit to a fast paced environment.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-07-11
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Day and night when compared to other jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Location (if you live in south metro) - Exposure to a lot of different technologies - Some really good people there. Haven’t found anyone quite like them. Still in contact with a few. - Gained an understanding on how not to do things. - Gained an understanding on how to manage a team, how to protect, and how to empower them. (And to be fair, you can find most of the above in any company, minus the part below)

    Cons

    I was there from a time when we started of with a handful of people in the department to a team within a department managed by a director. Luckily for my department, the majority of my tenure, we were shielded from much of what you read below. We were still subjected to it, but our director really helped manage that and filter it so we could attempt to do our jobs. And even then, it is a night and day difference from my current position. The biggest things that caused incredible strain on the department: - Lack of process - Lack of solid, truthful, and inspiring leadership from the Leadership team. There were good directors and managers sprinkled about, but when the C levels are the heads of said departments - where they go, we went, ultimately. - Blame game. No one ever took responsibility. I would never do anything without some sort of paper trail, just to cya. What a terrible way to work. - Lack of comradeship. As I mentioned, for the majority of my tenure, I had an incredible boss, and that time was great - but before and after his tenure, wasn’t the most positive. - Too many hot fixes, in the general sense. Rather than turn off the source of the fire, lets just put the fire out in this room, because who cares about the rest of the house. - Too much bending over for clients. Get the product solid. We had 50 (exaggerating) different versions of software, causing huge mismanagement of data. - The feeling from most leadership was that we were just expendable parts of a sinking boat. - Work/Life balance. People being pulled back in from PTO for issues that could have been remediated before the leave. 80+ hour work weeks. - Poor planning. Many issues can be remediated if we had planned properly. - A very stressful culture. My significant other noticed a “cloud of depression” come over me after my boss (aka the filter) left. - Expected long hours (for most departments). It should be on exception, not expected. - Turnover rate is astronomical. I once tried to keep track and couldn’t. Many, many, many great people have come and gone. I would not recommend this company for anyone not scrounging for a job, or if you value your time. Even if your think you can right the ship, you can’t. Many have tried and failed. Until leadership gets on board/changes, I would stay away.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2019-11-12
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Be prepared to be thrown to the wolves"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    Most people are friendly and level-headed.

    Cons

    - The CEO lacks all the skills needed to lead a company to success successfully. He waits for direction from other Chiefs without thoroughly analyzing the consequences of decision-making. - The company's financial decisions are a miss. The company is continuously losing money due to loss of contracts and reckless spending resulting in a high turnover rate. - Products are delivered late and with bugs. Hotfixes (temporary) are implemented to resolve an issue without disclosure, hoping it would "go over" the client's head. - Departments are egocentric and enjoy pointing blame. The Tech Department is the first line of the fault due to the high volume of demand for online testing. Faults blind leadership without analyzing the foundation of how an error occurred. - The company's internal mission and vision do not align with the action of each individual with a leadership role, including Chiefs and Managers. - There are no repercussions or consequences for management if issues occur under their supervision. Each employee is dispensable; leadership and management are at-the-ready to discard those who are "challengers." If a positive work culture and ethic are where you thrive, consider looking elsewhere. You will be incredibly over-worked and stressed. If you have a family, there is no work-life balance. You will be told to bring your laptop home to work. There were many occasions where employees were forced to work while they were on PTO. Onboarding and Training: Well, it doesn't exist. Consider your onboarding as being thrown into a pack of wolves, and with luck, you'll survive; if you don't, they'll eat your life up and discard you.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2019-07-26
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Background"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    Solid Operations department with very hard working, honest people. Departments work hard to drive successful projects.

    Cons

    Leadership clashes which leads to downstream impac to the teams. Inconsistency with unreasonable delivery dates, miscommunication between department team, and constant playing favorites. No work life balance and promoting of inexperienced staff to leader roles instead of actually skilled employees who could do the work. Too much favoritism for certain employees.

    Questar Assessment2018-09-09
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Interesting Business; Fast-paced; Expectations too High"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting, complex, and challenging industry. Diverse technology stack. Descent benefits. Good physical working environment. Passionate workforce. The desire to improve work-life balance seems culturally important, but they aren't there yet . . . and may not be for a while.

    Cons

    Little to no process. Expectations on working hours too high - expect to work 60 hours a week just to keep up - depending on your position and department. Little to no documentation. Poor to non-existent on-boarding process. Good high-level training, but nothing detailed enough to actually help you in your job.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2018-08-03
  6. Helpful (15)

    "No Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love my team and I’m proud of the work the company is doing. The company is innovative and growing. In many ways, I believed this was my dream job. I appreciate the camaraderie with colleagues I work closely with, if not for them, I would have quit in the first month.

    Cons

    There is no work/life balance - NONE. I’m pulling 60-70 hour work weeks, which is not what was discussed during my interview. I am so busy that I eat only two meals a day- most of the time it's delivery—yech! I barely have time to go to the bathroom, and I still can’t finish the tasks in front of me. I don’t read websites or go on Facebook, I barely have time to chat with coworkers, I just WORK all day. The work I can't finish, I take home. I’m becoming depressed, I’ve snapped at my loved ones (who I love dearly—I NEVER snap at them, but I am doing this more frequently). I’m perpetually exhausted and anxious. Sunday night rolls around and I can't sleep because I'm stressed about Monday.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-11-04
  7. Helpful (14)

    "No Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time

    Pros

    You will work alongside a talented group of people. New CEO - but the effort needed to turn the culture around may take too long for many. Some of the executives are aligned to finding work life balance - not all.

    Cons

    A 60 hour work week is common. It is common to hear "yeah, well, this team, or this person worked this much longer" 24/7 availability is expected - this means holidays, weekends, at midnight - you never know when you will get that crisis email. As a result you are always "on-call". They do not know how to manage the clients and have promised deliveries that stress all resources. Employees are burned out, which causes errors which causes even more chaos.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-10-29
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people who work here are some of the hardest working, most dedicated people you will ever work with.

    Cons

    Leadership lacks the ability to plan ahead and set a strategy for the organization and instead gets caught up in micromanaging the day to day activities of the teams. Leadership expects people to be available 24/7, work long hours day after day and handle more than one person should be able to handle, leaving a very limited work/life balance. This organization thrives on adrenaline and chaos as well as super heroes constantly having to jump in and save the day.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-09-20
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Already looking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Questar Assessment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I feel for my skills and experience I am payed appropriately for the first time in my life. My direct boss is flexible with needs/easy to talk to. Employee events committee that seems to care. Generous PTO. Co workers on same level are great.

    Cons

    Work life balance stinks - be prepared to work nights and weekends. They lowered the cubical walls so there is 0 illusion of privacy. There are a few huge rooms with open cubical - the definition of cubical farm. Loud and hard to concentrate. Upper management seem blind to the problems and high turn over going on around them. The thought is, the more hours you work the better employee you are. Even if you are bad at your job if you work more hours you do better in their eyes over someone who is great at their job and is able to complete it in a normal work week. No clear training. High turn over means everyone is doing things differently. Little flexibility for salaried employees to work from home/flex hours. Treated more as an hourly position without the overtime. Used to get snacks monthly, they took it away as a months worth of snacks went missing in an few hours. No bonuses, only low cost of living increases. Negotiate high on the front end.

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-07-06
  10. Helpful (8)

    "employer of last resort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Automation Engineer in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Questar Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    opportunity to practice one's craft; good technology stack and tool set; well intentioned people;

    Cons

    terrible work life balance; persistent inability to organize work efficiently; much more of a Waterfall methodology shop than any reasonable implementation of Agile; workforce made up of a coalition of the willing and all too often a coalition of unhappy and burned out castaways; hobbled and/or ineffective leadership; low pay and inability to recruit and retain the best and brightest employees; change agents ignored, resented, or dismissed;

    Continue reading
    Questar Assessment2017-06-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews