Questex Reviews | Glassdoor

Questex Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Questex CEO Paul Miller  (no image)
Paul Miller
9 Ratings
  1. "Great Compamy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Questex

    Pros

    No Micro Managing, Easy to get a long with the team

    Cons

    Lack of Industry Experience for department heads

    Advice to Management

    Hire better experienced professionals within the industry of the department

    Questex2018-08-24
  2. "This place has character"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Questex full-time

    Pros

    - In the 2 years I've been here I've seen a lot of people cycle in and out. But despite seeing a lot of good friends come and go, the company has still maintained a its friendly, fun and quirky culture - the sales team is managed VERY well, and their leaders have 10+ years of industry experience, which is obviously a pretty long time in digital media - impressive editorial staff with strong content - recent... changes are bringing ad operations, audience, marketing and sales all closer together - most people that work here don't take themselves too seriously but work very hard - Fierce/Questex hires smart, cool people

    Show More

    Cons

    - a lot of management changes - high turnover - revenue performance issues - challenges with a clear brand

    Questex2018-08-02
  3. "“Remote”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Questex part-time

    Pros

    So far loved working for Questex, the freedom of the remote projects is great. The managemnet is easy to deal with and helpful with all problems I have faced.

    Cons

    So far I do not have any complaints for working at Questex.

    Questex2018-05-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Slow to make necessary changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDM in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Questex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun and positive work environment

    Cons

    Antiquated systems and products.

    Questex2018-05-02
  5. "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Questex full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance within the company

    Cons

    Salary was personally not there for me

    Questex2018-04-14
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Garbage Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Questex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Finding humor in the nightmare you've gotten yourself into.

    Cons

    Condescending attitudes from everyone, horrible management, cliques and bullying. The pay is horrible and you will receive no respect. There is literally no incentive to work here. The magazines are trash and frankly the entire experience would be an embarrassment to your resume. Often times I get employers who look at my resume and they say "what's 'Questex'?" Save yourself the embarrassment and work elsewhere.... They have NO money and are losing profits every month. It's a matter of time before this company goes under.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to Management is quit your job and go somewhere else because you're hurting your employees who usually just want experience on your resume. For you this is all you have left but for them this is just a stepping stone, so make their experience as painless as possible. Also drop your attitude, literally no one know who or what Questex is or the name of your trash magazine.

    Questex2018-02-21
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Questex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location. Variety of work.

    Cons

    Distant management. Too many expenses.

    Questex2018-02-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Old Fashioned Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Questex full-time

    Pros

    If you work hard, you will get noticed.

    Cons

    Poor communication from the top, and company infrastructure for things like HR.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within and pay a higher salary.

    Questex2017-11-28
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Questex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great boss who I admired greatly

    Cons

    The worst senior leadership ever

    Advice to Management

    Stop thinking you're always right

    Questex2017-10-03
  10. "Work with great people. I have learned a lot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Specialist in Newton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Questex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I work with are A++. Depends on which department you work with but try and get involved with the trade shows since you will usually get to travel to where it is which are usually fun locations.

    Cons

    Not many positions to move up into. 401k isn't matched either if you invest in it. Need more team building outings

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees. You have a lot of good people working here.

    Questex2017-04-16
Found 59 reviews