Quicken Loans Reviews | Glassdoor

Quicken Loans Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Quicken Loans CEO Jay Farner
Jay Farner
549 Ratings
  1. "Bait and switch work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Power Banker in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Quicken Loans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited earning potential, excellent sales training , great benefits

    Cons

    It’s scary working for a company that keeps telling you why it’s so great to work for them and keeps selling you on the job after you have been with them for 6 months. I realized how bad the turnover was once you actually get into the job and why they kept selling me on the position, seemed Iike trying to incorporate Stockholm syndrome. The hours promised during recruitment of 50ish per week were never as promised, the leads are watered down, and my 17 person training class was down to 2 people left with the company before I left.

    Quicken Loans2020-02-21
  2. "Toxic Technology and Executive Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    All the free slushies totally make up for them paying consistently below market rates. It's so fun when senior leadership ISM's all over your face, but don't worry, they are just "coaching" you. Senior leadership is always right, somehow they never make mistakes, so it's so encouraging working with leadership who can always let you know how their actions were your fault. But this is a positive thing because now I can grow from it.

    Cons

    The CEO has told all of senior leadership to flat out fire any team leaders who aren't towing the line. Since Peters principal is in full effect there (tons of senior leaders are in positions of power just because of their tenure) we have directors, VPs, and Senior VPs firing team leaders who simply don't least like them. The ISMs sound good on paper, but the real culture inside the company, especially in technology is FAR different. There is a mass Exodus happening in technology right now. Ask recruiters from other companies around Detroit if you don't believe me. Everyone is jumping ship for a reason. Regarding technology, they say that engineers get to make the technical decisions, but that couldn't be forget from the truth. Senior leadership will ALWAYS second guess your decisions and make you feel like your solution is stupid, even if they don't have a better one. I know this sounds crazy, but it's unfortunately true. Their anonymous surveys called "The Outlet" are not anonymous, trust me. They find ways of pinpointing who said what, and they absolutely black ball you for it. Oh yeah, and leadership doesn't actually read them, it's all a ploy to get team members to think there opinion is heard. I've seen it first hand to many times. Doing the job right isn't as important as doing the job fast. They have built up so much technical debt this way, it is incredible. Just don't be the guy left holding the bag when systems go down or it will be all your fault, even though the problem was the decisions that had been made previously by most of those in senior leader roles. Since they are never at fault, guess who is, bingo, you are. And btw, it will be reflected in your review and your bonus. There is so much arrogance there by people who have no context of what an Enterprise solution should look like. They are using the thinking they did when the company was small and trying to apply it to a large Enterprise, and you wonder why there are so many outages. I've literally heard people say multiple times "we are Quicken loans, our way is better than the industry." When clearly those methods cause outages. Speaking of outages, hold on tight, because you will be on them all the time. Day and night. And again, if it's your system that you inherited full of problems, doesn't matter it's all your fault.

    Continue reading
    Quicken Loans2020-02-21
  3. "Not great for women"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quicken Loans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training is very good and thorough

    Cons

    Culture is very toxic and sexist.

    Quicken Loans2020-02-18
  4. "Summary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Support Analyst in Detroit, MI

    I worked at Quicken Loans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large company with many opportunities

    Cons

    Corporate work/life balance Salary compared to market

    Quicken Loans2020-02-17
  5. "Intern Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun workplace, Good Pay, Lots of development

    Cons

    Lots of Hours, low hourly, no overtime

    Quicken Loans2020-02-17
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexibility and great work environment

    Cons

    high expectations and high turnover in certain roles

    Quicken Loans2020-02-16
  7. "Nice company with vibrant culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great pay, especially compared with living cost

    Cons

    dont have much to say

    Quicken Loans2020-02-15
  8. "Great first job hands down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Video Content Creator in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tons of benefits, especially if you live in Detroit. Healthy pay, access to healthy food and exercise. Very flexible with time off.

    Cons

    Corporate environment with the same annoying meetings that could've been emails.

    Quicken Loans2020-02-15
  9. "Definition of a churn and burn operation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Quicken Loans

    Pros

    Campus is very nice, some solid perks involved like weight room

    Cons

    Hours tend to he incredibly long to the point where if you even have a dog, you honestly might want to look elsewhere or even consider getting rid of it due to prolonged hours away. They basically only hire young, recent grads now who they can convince that is normal and buy into the cult like committment required, until they eventually burn out and are replaced by another 20 something. The hiring process is also pretty absurd, considering they don't drug test but will spend months having internal discussions about a job you had when you were 16 for a week, and how that shows you lack committment. All in all, can be great, but priorities are far from aligned.

    Continue reading
    Quicken Loans2020-02-13

    Quicken Loans Response

    February 13, 2020Job Board Specialist

    We are disappointed to hear about your experience as that is not how we want our team members to feel. We are happy to say we have implemented a program called "Paws at Work," so that our team members can bring their furry friends with them on scheduled days. However, we do appreciate your constructive feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve our team member experience especially during the hiring process.

    Continue reading
  10. "Sr, Banker position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well run organization. Good People

    Cons

    Income opportunity for me is lacking

    Quicken Loans2020-02-11

    Quicken Loans Response

    February 13, 2020Job Board Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honesty and constructive feedback. We value our team member experience but understand that there is always room to improve.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1750 reviews