Quicken Loans Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Quicken Loans Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Quicken Loans CEO Jay Farner
Jay Farner
14 Ratings
  1. "Great Culture, Fun City"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineering Intern in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quicken Loans for more than a year

    Pros

    Quicken Loans has an amazing culture where you are able to thrive in any direction you choose. Very cool office spaces and cool to be in Detroit which is on the comeback.

    Cons

    Lower pay Could have more exciting projects

    Quicken Loans2019-10-21
  2. "Quicken loans software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great way to start a career

    Cons

    not enough ownership of projects

    Quicken Loans2019-11-26
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Was a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall a pretty relaxed work environment, most of the team leaders are pretty down to earth and are very focused on making sure team member satisfaction

    Cons

    There often seems to be a lack of communication and direction between project teams and upper management. It seems that especially over the past year or so there have been too many different initiatives, each which sound intriguing and often involve lots of buzzwords in their description, without having a solid road map. This has caused problems both from dealing with constant major changes to having to put out fires from not prioritizing maintenance of current services.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to do so many things at once and try to do a couple of things really well to start with. I think that people overall take more pride in doing things well than trying to be at the 'cutting edge' in each facet of the technology sector, and while these can complement each other, they do not always do so in practice. Also, it seems like there have been measures taken to reduce non-work activities in the office, like the disappearance of the ping pong table. I am not sure whether this has been deliberate, but trying to force people to be at their desk 'working' more often actually makes many of the teams I have seen less productive and enjoy their work less.

    Show More
    Quicken Loans2019-10-25
  5. "Great internship - meaningful projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quicken Loans for less than a year

    Pros

    Work environment, meaningful projects,

    Cons

    Pay (compared to other software internships)

    Quicken Loans2019-09-20
  6. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice work environment. As an Intern, It was overwhelming to be part of this organization , not only work but they encourage you to enroll yourself into many events for community.

    Cons

    There is no cons I have ever found

    Quicken Loans2019-08-13
  7. "Intern Psotion at Quicken Loans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Quicken Loans for less than a year

    Pros

    All the employees are very much enthusiast.

    Cons

    Response time for the interview process was very slow

    Quicken Loans2019-04-26
  8. "Great opportunity, amazing benefits, in transition."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, snacks, office space , benefits

    Cons

    Unhealthy snacks, insufficient work from home options

    Quicken Loans2019-02-23
  9. "Good work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good spaces, amazing work culture

    Cons

    most of direct leadership in technology do not have any technology background Less pay

    Quicken Loans2019-02-13
  10. "Neutral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company is adapting new technologies, tools and updating to latest versions very quickly. Lot of Perks for detroit retailers. Good Insurance and benefits.

    Cons

    Very high competitive environment. Long hours.

    Advice to Management

    Should loosen up the people little bit.

    Quicken Loans2019-01-25
  11. Helpful (2)

    "Not bad, but lacking in some areas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Intern in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great schedule Decent pay Good environment LOTS OF SPACE TO MOVE AROUND, seriously, you can go to any team and just work with them if you want to

    Cons

    The intern events are enough to drive you insane. They treat you like you're 5 years old and it is honestly dumb enough to cause brain damage. That single handedly made me want to switch locations if possible

    Advice to Management

    STOP THE INTERN EVENTS.

    Quicken Loans2017-10-12
Found 51 reviews