KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Quicktate

Is this your company?

Quicktate

Add a Review

Quicktate Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 16 reviews

2.6
44%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent

    Sep 17, 2015 - Transcriber 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule Work whenever you want Very reliable Work is always available

    Cons

    Compensation not that high. Lots of missing audio files Nothing else to add Nothing else to add Nothing else to add.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Won't make much money

    Jul 27, 2021 - Transcriptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can work pretty much whenever (Though I think most jobs become available during NY business hours). You can work from home in your pajamas!

    Cons

    You won't make much money. I got qualified for iDictate and if iDictate jobs were regularly available you might make an okay wage, but there's rarely any jobs available for iDictate. The actual Quicktate jobs are also somewhat sparse and you make pennies. Maybe post-Covid they'll be more jobs and you can actually make money at this job, but for now...

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Contractor

    Been At Quicktate for 10+ years l

    May 8, 2021 - Transcriptionist in Valdosta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Self paced, no commitment, always paid 2 weeks after transcribing no exception nor underpayment but your history is there in your account/dashboard to double check if concerned. Easy-to-use. Voicemails mostly, are fun to transcribe

    Cons

    Low pay, lack of interaction (in the past, you could communicate via Pidgin IM. It was actually required), and no hope for advancement plus pay increase i.e. Proof Reader, except the test for medical. There's features such as long files to download and type in a transcription program that no longer exist

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    It's fine for extra work

    Apr 15, 2020 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible, log in whenever you'd like to work

    Cons

    There isn't always work available, pay is low

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Not a bad gig for a few extra dollars

    Jan 4, 2015 - Typist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can log in and work anytime you want. If you want more or different kinds of jobs, you can log in and take tests for the other transcription jobs. You know when they have the most files because they send you emails to let you know that files are available. Pay is always on time and correct. They have a page where you can see how much you've made/worked. The transcriptions don't tend to be boring, and you can do other things while you wait on a file to come through if they are not busy. The work is also quite easy and fun.

    Cons

    Pay is quite low; not that the pay is low for the work, as this is not a hard job. However, it wouldn't hurt them to pay a few more pennies to those who have been on a while. Nobody is living off these wages for sure.

    13 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Contractor, more than 5 years

    Communication Problems

    Aug 19, 2012 - Transcriptionist in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One of the few places where you can get hired for transcription without experience. No schedule commitment, so you can just sit down and work (assuming it's available) whenever you want.

    Cons

    Poor communication. Only one point of contact for administrative/technical issues and that person is unresponsive most of the time, to IM and to Email. Some of the contacts that distribute the work and proofread need to learn a little tact. I've been around long enough and I'm thick-skinned enough that I don't take it personally, but I know of many others who are intimidated by the snarly replies they get when they ask for files. Pay is the lowest I've seen for online work. To the other poster, if you think this is high pay then it must be the first paid job you've ever had, because it only pays a fraction of what other companies pay.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Quicktate Response

    Manager

    Communication & Contacting Management. If at any time any contractor would like to share a comment or complaint with management please write to management at "alerts at quicktate.com". Further, the company frequently solicits feedback and recommendations from its contractors. Zendesk was configured to automatically respond to the many thousands of typist questions and inquiries received. An estimated 70-80% of the questions are answered through automation, however those questions requiring individual responses are usually acknowledged within 24 hours, with the investigation - if needed - initiated shortly thereafter. Easy issues are typically resolved promptly whereas those requiring investigation or fixing by our technical team take longer. If the automated reply does not answer the contractor's question or does not resolve the issue, the contractor should simply reply to the email that was sent. Typist’s / Contractor's Earnings. Although compensation is based on productivity, most contractors accepting assignments from iDictate and Quicktate earn the equivalent of $7.00 - $12.00 per hour. We understand that anyone wishing to be a contractor for Quicktate would certainly like to start sooner rather than later, and Quicktate is continually upgrading it's systems to make the entire process as streamlined and state-of-the-art as possible.

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    The best transcription job I've tried so far.

    Sep 10, 2011 - General Transcriptionist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work is great. It is home based, so it is not so stressing. The salary is good compared to other companies that offer home based transcription jobs.

    Cons

    You don't know how many jobs you are going to get. There are still some bugs in the work website..

    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Working for Quicktate was nice. Working for iDictate, not so nice.

    Aug 10, 2015 - Transcriptionist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy work. Work as much or as little as you want. As long as your work is accurate and timely, things go smoothly when doing work for QuickTate. It's a great way to get transcription experience. The style they teach is not transferable to other serious transcription companies but it's a great filler to put on your resume to show that you can do the work to an employers specifications.

    Cons

    Once you've been with QuickTate for awhile and have submitted high quality work, they will offer you a position with iDictate. This is where all the issues and the majority of their complaints as a transcription company come from. They offer support teams for basic needs and general questions and a contact for any detailed questions or as a final say in a style standard. They also have various reviewers that review your work. The issue comes in with the lack of consistency among them. It was normal for me to be told completely different things by all three and when I would ask for clarification, instead of getting a final answer, the transcriptionist contact would give attitude instead of answering the question. That left me with no answer and a desire to not want to clarify anything in the future. I often had to google answers to my questions and would utilize forums. Through the forums, I discovered that it's common knowledge that because of the lack of oversight of the transcription contact and reviewers, most transcriptionists had no idea what format they really wanted and were used to being treated poorly. They changed their work based on who their reviewer was likely to be. I also learned they have very high turnover rate in iDictate because it doesn't seem to get any better regardless of how long you work for iDictate. It was ultimately not worth the hassle. I moved to work for another transcription company.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Freelancer

    Transcription

    Oct 20, 2017 - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can work whenever you want, there is no strict schedule you ever have to follow. You can work from thr comfort of your own home on any sort of electronic.

    Cons

    The pay sucks!!! You literally are making pennies, don't even think about trying to support a family much less yourselves with this job. Work also can be scarce.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Easy work

    Dec 26, 2015 - Transcriptionist in Milan, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work whenever you want. Audio files are voice mail messages that are easy to transcribe. Enjoyable work you can do at home.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay. 1/4 a penny per word. Wish I could make this a career but pay is so low it's not worth doing and turns into a waste of your time. What a shame.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Popular Careers with Quicktate Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Quicktate? Share Your Experiences

Quicktate logo
or