Quidel Reviews | Glassdoor

Quidel Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Quidel CEO Doug Bryant
Doug Bryant
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It seems (depending on what area you work) upper management/mid level management not interested on feedback from low level personnel(in 5 reviews)

  • "High turnover - little loyalty for most workers(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Applications Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quidel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small enough company to really know the people you are working with.

    Cons

    There are no cons for this company.

    Quidel2019-10-12
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Specialist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quidel full-time

    Pros

    Engaged management,great teams,decent compensation and bonuses

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any

    Quidel2019-07-25
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Bottom of the Barrel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Quidel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits. I have to admit, Quidel know they lack skills, competencies, culture and people, so they make up for it with pay and benefits. More below.

    Cons

    This is my opinion...just want to get this legality out of the way. This company truly is bottom of the barrel. Everything is wrong with this company: Disorganized, imbecile departments, no team work, no culture, no leadership, no efficiency, no strategy, no prescriptive analysis, nothing. Absolutely nothing. Remember, Quidel was just a 300 employee organization until they acquired Alere in 2017, which was... 500+ employee. What's wrong with this picture? Quidel did not organically grew to 1000+ employees but GOT LUCKY and grew through acquiring Alere. What does this mean? They did not have the skills, competency, culture, know-how to grow their business. They brought in consultants to help fix, to no avail, the cultural, efficiency and technical issues, and recruiting and poaching talent from more established companies. Even with their talent acquisition program, the talent is not staying long term....because management, at all levels, do not know how to lead, which resulted in key scientists and employees at Alere leaving in droves. It is quite a sorry sight to behold. Lastly, Quidel loves to blind side employees. Employees, at all levels, will walk in one morning to find out they are terminated without warning. Yep, they do this to VP's and Directors, too. Because Quidel does not have an official performance review employees do not know how well they are performing and get terminated. Trust me, the money ain't worth it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None given. The only reason your stock price is still where it is is because of the Alere real estate deal.

    Quidel2019-08-01
  4. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality 

    I have been working at Quidel full-time

    Pros

    Consistent growth, great products, customer focused

    Cons

    Takes too long to promote

    Advice to Management

    Quality is not just documentation.

    Quidel2019-05-27
  5. "Good place to work in San Diego"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Quidel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's lot of exciting projects

    Cons

    Not much negative to say

    Quidel2019-02-08
  6. Helpful (4)

    "It's all I who you know to get anywhere in this Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quidel for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees are good, upper management are all about themselves. Upper management show little or no support. Promotions given to folks whom don't deserve promotions. Employees are taken granted of, no appreciation what so ever. A thank you goes a long way.

    Cons

    My boss said thank you everyday...

    Advice to Management

    Please open your eyes. Thank your employees. Listen to your employees. Trust and give chances to the underdog.

    Quidel2019-01-06
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Work anywhere but here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development Associate in Athens, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Quidel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    it is a pay check

    Cons

    Poor pay. Management doesn't care about employees. No one likes their job and it shows. Depressing environment. Every year the benefits cost goes up more than the max annual raise. The benefits are awful. Nothing you say privately to HR stays private.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people right if you want them to stay

    Quidel2019-02-05
  8. "Sales Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Quidel full-time

    Pros

    Good people and casual environment

    Cons

    too many changes and management does not seem to know what they are doing.

    Quidel2019-01-11
  9. "Middle of the road"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quidel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots to keep busy all day.

    Cons

    Resources are hard to get, especially for personnel.

    Advice to Management

    Replace knowledgeable talent. Too many good people left.

    Quidel2018-12-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "QA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Quidel full-time

    Pros

    Not micro-managed to do work

    Cons

    The current culture is lacking

    Quidel2018-11-02
Found 74 reviews