Quidsi Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Quidsi Chief Executive Officer Emilie Arel Scott
Emilie Arel Scott
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is encouraged and supported(in 8 reviews)

  • "Medical plans are good and affordable, free food is a nice surprise once in a while too(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Customer Care is expected to fix everything under the false pretense of "helping" other teams(in 10 reviews)

  • "No one has any any documentation or real training materials(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Best comnpany I've ever worked for

      Apr 16, 2018 - Customer Service Representative in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great relaxed positive work atmosphere. Suggestions and input was always welcomed. It was such a fun place to work. I worked with such amazing people. they really put the customer first which is hard to come by these days.

      Cons

      The only con is that they closed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Wonderful People...Some

      Apr 8, 2020 - Customer Care II in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity for advancement & caring professionals

      Cons

      Some had their own "kingdoms" and assisted those whom they deemed worthy or would stroke their ever expanding ego

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Now Defunk but Great in Early days

      Jul 7, 2020 - Customer Service Representative in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay was great during the time of employment.

      Cons

      Management was lost and too much personal affairs within company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Difficult to find fault ...

      Jan 30, 2015 - Anonymous in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been with Quidsi for over 3 years and feel no reason to look for another job since I am constantly challenged. I have been able to work on multiple projects across the company interacting with some of the smartest, kindest, open minded and driven professionals on projects beyond the scope of my function. Quidsi’s philosophy on performance evaluation is so fair, giving you the chance to create your own goals and ask for feedback on them from those that you believe can best comment and assess your abilities. Your voice is also heard with the anytime feedback in place should you want to comment on anyone within the organization at any level. It is so refreshing to see the changes since Amazon’s acquisition with the implementation of better systems, best practices, and focus on continuous improvement while at the same time a conscientiousness on the preservation of Quidsi culture. There has been just slight adjustments to the principles promoted to account for maturation and business focus. The company fosters learning and development through training, promotion cycles , and transfers internally within the greater Amazon network. They also recently renovated the office space accommodating additional conference rooms, huddle areas, and the infamous stacked kitchens overlooking the beautiful views of NYC giving me even more comfort of Amazon’s commitment to Quidsi’s future.

      Cons

      While I have seen some cost cutting controls in place, I believe it is in the best interest of responsible sustainability. Amazingly though, it hasn't watered down the fun, celebratory culture.

      9 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work

      Aug 20, 2015 - Anonymous 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are lots of pros to working at Quidsi. We are empowered to be creative and lead large projects. Work/life balance is encouraged and supported. As a single mom, what I value the most is the flexibility to adjust my schedule, work from home, or take time off to meet my personal needs. My manager supports my career growth and is also my mentor. The views are breathtaking. Benefits and salary are among the best in the region - highly competitive.

      Cons

      There have been many changes at the company - some good, some not so good. However, our leaders are very open and communicate business updates weekly. I'm excited about the future of the company and I'm honored to be part of a company that truly cares about doing the right things for our internal and external customers.

      Continue reading
      26 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      culture is in the eye of the beholder

      Apr 30, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Guiding Principles and Amazon Leadership Principles: everyone seems truly to be on board with these and tries to embody them. This is great because it defines what the company culture, values and standards of expectations. - Teams are comprised of talented and experienced people, props to recruiting for setting the bar high. - Internal movement opportunities available, though you have to seek it to find it, they're there. - If you raise your voice with a well thought out and beneficial idea it will be heard. - Medical plans are good and affordable, free food is a nice surprise once in a while too.

      Cons

      - Negative outlook from employees who have been here for a while plays a toll on newer employees who don't know "what it was like before". I'm content with what it is now but others need to stop dwelling on the past and stop being brats about "perks" that were cut down. Morale is low because you're holding a grudge against privileges, not rights.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great people, great culture, great opportunities.

      May 23, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quidsi is full of a lot of opportunities. Just looking around my department of nearly 30, almost half of either been promoted, have transferred in from another department/function, or have taken on a new suite of responsibilities within the last 18 months or so (and most of the rest were recently hired into newly-created roles). You get opportunities to take on projects and scopes of work that you likely wouldn't get elsewhere. The people are also awesome - you couldn't ask to work with a higher-caliber yet still fun and down-to-earth bunch. There is also a sincere effort made to make Quidsi really a great place to work - the calendar is constantly full of fun events, interesting trainings, sports and clubs, you name it.

      Cons

      With rapid growth comes growing pains - things that once worked won't work so well anymore, and it does take some time and creativity to come up with new, better solutions. But just like those awkward couple of years we all hit growing up (I'm talking to you, 6th-8th grade...), you emerge better for having gone through it. So Quidsi is still a bit of a gawky teenager - but a well-intentioned, ambitious, fun-loving one at that. The workload can be heavy at times too, there is no denying that. At the same time, I know that I've accomplished so much more in my 3 1/2 years (and counting) here than I would in the same amount of time elsewhere.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Peer group is great, work could be more fulfilling

      Aug 8, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      +work alongside some of the smartest & nicest people (who are also funny!) +Amazon stock +flexible work schedule +opportunity for advancement +opportunity for movement inside Amazon +power to own your business +Amazon benefits

      Cons

      -systems and tools don't keep up with the business -constantly chasing deliverables and due dates -lack of long-term strategy, everything we do is in the now for right now -some of management and leadership don't have any valuable coaching or development skills to offer -don't get rid of the people they should but spend time weeding out some more junior folks -lack of accountability, ownership, and goal alignment across functional teams

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Quidsi Response

      VP HR

      We also think that Quidsians are some of the smartest and nicest people around! We appreciate your summary of some of our many perks and benefits – from career growth opportunities to happy hours to flexible work schedules, we believe that investing in our employees is investing in our company. We appreciate your advice, as well. We have been working hard to continue to increase communication and transparency. We hope that everyone now understands the strategies we have in place, and we hope you’re as inspired by our vision as we are! From awesome improvements to our websites to new marketing initiatives, we are excited about Quidsi’s future growth.

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      The Chocolate Factory of Call Centers

      May 24, 2016 - Customer Care Associate in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Where do I begin?Great attitudes from all departments and personnel, free food (including fruit for us health nuts), and even a special event they hold one day a week for employees! (I don't want to give away any spoilers). They have a recreational area complete with video game systems, pool tables, and even work out equipment. Speaking of workout equipment, not only do they have their own personal workout area but you also get a free pass a really upscale gym around the corner. The training was awesome and I really hope to one day go back to work for the company. If you've been in customer service for years like I have, this company makes you feel like all that hard work finally paid off.

      Cons

      The only cons that comes to mind is that with most call centers the rookies are going to get the worse shift bids at first. This is a 24/7 contact center, and when I started out, I got off work around 3am at night. So this might not be for everyone.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fast paced, and brutal

      Jan 24, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you want to burnish your resume with work at an online retailer and an Amazon company, this is the place for you. At least when I was there, Quidsi had plenty of smart, ambitious people. The company also has the full suite of goodies, free snacks in the break room, movies, gym, and other stuff you'd expect from an online company.

      Cons

      An incredibly fast paced company. While everyone is on the surface very friendly, you will quickly find out that it's either stay caught up or get eased out. It was nothing to see people crying at their desks, overwhelmed with the workload. Senior management was determined to launch new brands at a pace that was not sustainable. Employees routinely complained about the crushing amount of overtime they were expected to work. The C-level execs didn't care. One programming team flew back from China (Quidsi has a development team there) direct, and came straight from the airport to the office to work a full day. The company is growing so fast that the new flock of employees every week masks the stream of employees leaving. Worst is the compensation. They lure employees with a portion of Amazon stock. But when you do the math, Quidsi actually pays about 75% of the industry standard...but expects employees to put in long hours anyways.Oh, and it's in Jersey City, which quickly gets old for NYC residents.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 126 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Quidsi Job Seekers

    Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Quidsi? Share Your Experiences

    Quidsi logo
    or