Quiksilver "laid back" Reviews | Glassdoor

Quiksilver Employee Reviews about "laid back"

Updated Feb 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Quiksilver CEO Pierre Agnes (no image)
Pierre Agnes
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "I had the opportunity to gain experience in various departments and enjoyed the laid back work environment(in 38 reviews)

  • "Very laid back with great management(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor upper management, poor scheduling(in 15 reviews)

  • "salary low- no room for growth- bad managers who wont have your backs even thought you worked your butt off(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "laid back"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company to learn customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Laughlin, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Quiksilver part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very laid back with great management.

    Cons

    Can be boring when the store is slow.

    Quiksilver2019-02-15
  2. "Loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Quiksilver

    Pros

    Great mentoring from bosses, %50 discount in the company store, lots of independence in design, visiting the archive room, laid back environment.

    Cons

    Unpaid, no chance to really work with other interns or within other disciplines, seems like the company is too small for it's own headquarter space so you don't really see a population of other people, we were too spread out. My boss also never returned my emails about a recommendation letter I had requested weeks before I left.

    Quiksilver2017-09-25
  3. "Awesome company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Quiksilver

    Pros

    I interned here for 2 summers and loved the company culture and people I worked with. I had the opportunity to gain experience in various departments and enjoyed the laid back work environment. Company events were epic too!

    Cons

    It was unfortunate when Quik had to file for Chapter 11, but they're making a comeback which I'm stoked about! Other than being unpaid, can't think of any cons, I really enjoyed my internships and gained valuable knowledge while interning here.

    Quiksilver2017-09-10
  4. "Cool place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Quiksilver part-time

    Pros

    Laid back, Great atmosphere, Great Corporate perks like 50% off everything we make, California passes for a fraction of the price. Awesome parties!

    Cons

    No real leadership, everyone does their own thing.

    Quiksilver2017-05-19
  5. "Merchandise and Design Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Quiksilver

    Pros

    Super friendly and laid back

    Cons

    No downsides, everything was great!

    Quiksilver2017-03-27
  6. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quiksilver full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid back environment, but still professional. They definitely embrace a work family mentality. The core retail people genuinely care about the company and people.

    Cons

    Retail division is struggling right now. Lots of changes and store closures over the past couple years.

    Quiksilver2017-01-04
  7. "Demand Planning Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Demand Planning Analyst 

    I worked at Quiksilver full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back environment, could surf at lunch.

    Cons

    Lack of career development, accountability.

    Advice to Management

    Improve career development

    Quiksilver2016-10-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Quiksilver

    Pros

    flexible schedule, laid back atmosphere, casual dress

    Cons

    hardly any bonuses, company claimed bankruptcy, no raises, no 401K matching, no job security, workload extensive because they kept laying off people

    Quiksilver2016-09-05
  9. "Loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Quiksilver full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing people and culture, laid back style, great product and insane discount

    Cons

    retail style shifts, no commission, low starting pay

    Quiksilver2016-04-13
  10. "ASM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quiksilver full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid back, fairly easy workload, AMAZING discount

    Cons

    POLITICS, if upper management doesn't like you don't expect to be promoted....EVER

    Quiksilver2016-01-20
Found 28 reviews