Quiksilver "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Quiksilver Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jan 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Quiksilver CEO Pierre Agnes (no image)
Pierre Agnes
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "I had the opportunity to gain experience in various departments and enjoyed the laid back work environment(in 38 reviews)

  • "Very laid back with great management(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor upper management, poor scheduling(in 15 reviews)

  • "salary low- no room for growth- bad managers who wont have your backs even thought you worked your butt off(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager - in Morgan Hill, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Quiksilver full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great work environment flexible schedule and great benefit package very generous employee discount

    Cons

    because it't retail, lots of employee turnover due to school and seasonal positions.

    Quiksilver2020-01-06
  2. "I worked at quik"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Quiksilver part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and easy work environment

    Cons

    Rude customers and high volume so constant traffic

    Quiksilver2019-03-18
  3. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Cabazon, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Quiksilver part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work environment. Good discount.

    Cons

    Little room to advance. Company is currently trying to get out of bankruptcy, so lots of caveats with that.

    Quiksilver2017-10-09
  4. "Laid back corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Quiksilver full-time

    Pros

    Very casual work environment. Everyone works really well together. Finance was one of the few departments that made it feel "family" like.

    Cons

    Corporate mentality. Sometimes you feel like a number and it's hard to shine when you have to show your work for more than 3% and that's if they will give it (currently unsure due to bankruptcy)

    Advice to Management

    Communicate. Communication is key and needed across all departments to be in the know of the company.

    Quiksilver2017-09-12
  5. "Awesome company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Quiksilver

    Pros

    I interned here for 2 summers and loved the company culture and people I worked with. I had the opportunity to gain experience in various departments and enjoyed the laid back work environment. Company events were epic too!

    Cons

    It was unfortunate when Quik had to file for Chapter 11, but they're making a comeback which I'm stoked about! Other than being unpaid, can't think of any cons, I really enjoyed my internships and gained valuable knowledge while interning here.

    Quiksilver2017-09-10
  6. "Hire within the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Quiksilver full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quiksilver has a great work environment, with some really amazing people.

    Cons

    Movement throughout the company is hard to come by.

    Quiksilver2016-08-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Huntington Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Quiksilver full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relax work environment, 50% discount on clothes, ok benefits, and flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    No room for growth, weak pay, abrasive teaching environment, hasn't had performance reviews in 3 years, no raises, and unnecessary drama. Bad coffee in the break room. Have a history of doing annual lay offs.

    Advice to Management

    Cross train employees, stop micro managing, spread out the workload, and listen to employees ideas.

    Quiksilver2016-07-26
  8. "Fun while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Design in Huntington Beach, CA

    I worked at Quiksilver full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Old crew of people were great, fun work environment, surf sessions, free product

    Cons

    Cut throat with layoffs at the time. Indecisiveness with executed decisions at times.

    Quiksilver2016-07-28
  9. "Licensing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quiksilver

    Pros

    - Great company culture and great work environment. - All the employees were very nice and engaging. - Rich company history and focus on innovation

    Cons

    - There was a fair amount of downtime, when I felt I was underutilized.

    Advice to Management

    Create an intern project of which interns can work on to stay busy but still learn and engage with the company.

    Quiksilver2016-04-27
  10. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Quiksilver

    Pros

    Really fun work environment, cool people

    Cons

    Folding t-shirts never gets more fun

    Quiksilver2016-02-29
Found 38 reviews