R.C. Willey Reviews | Glassdoor

R.C. Willey Reviews

Updated August 1, 2017
94 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Scott L. Hymas
46 Ratings

94 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great people to work with and wonderful opportunities to grow (in 8 reviews)

  • The employee discount is decent (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • Low pay, insurance only for full time employees (in 5 reviews)

  • Extremely stressful, very poor management, poor working conditions, very little pay for the work they demand, horrible benefits (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Office Assistant in Meridian, ID
    Former Employee - Senior Office Assistant in Meridian, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at R.C. Willey (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decently nice office people, the sales associates are really nice. Easy and good pay for work done.

    Cons

    Management doesn't really take initiative to solve problems within the staff

    Advice to Management

    Listen more when employees say that something needs to be done about a problem they're having within the workplace

    R.C. Willey Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Social Media/Online Repuatation Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I'll make sure to pass this on to our management.


  2. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at R.C. Willey part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone was nice and always willing to help. Especially the warehouse crew. They would clean off the snow from our cars and that was really sweet of them.

    Cons

    Wish they offered just a bit more pay.

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening to your employees when they have problems.

    R.C. Willey Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Social Media/Online Repuatation Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I'll make sure to pass this on to our management.

  3. "Prepare furniture for delivery."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prep Crew in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Prep Crew in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R.C. Willey full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work at your own pace.

    Cons

    Management corrupt. Difficult to transfer from crew to another crew. Really bad turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the corruption and favoritism.

    R.C. Willey Response

    Apr 13, 2017 – Online Customer Service Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I'll make sure to pass this on to our management.


  4. "One of the worst places I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at R.C. Willey full-time

    Pros

    Discount on merchandise, closed on Sundays

    Cons

    Terrible management, sexist environment, high turnover

    R.C. Willey Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Online Customer Service Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I'll make sure to pass this on to our management.


  5. "A Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R.C. Willey full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good place to work. With any sales job you get out what you put in.

    Cons

    Little direction provided for struggling sales associates.

    R.C. Willey Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Online Customer Service Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I'll make sure to pass this on to our management.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Go in remembering it's a retail job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at R.C. Willey full-time

    Pros

    Corporate is usually really nice. The company doesn't believe in policies, rather it uses guidelines. Which makes dealing with customers much more beneficial for both parties. Management is typically understanding of emergencies. You can tell the company cares about you.

    Cons

    Cheap. Their hourly wage is usually not very competitive. Part time gets no benefits other than a discount on purchases. Expect to work every single Saturday (makes logical sense, it's retail and most people do their retail shopping on the weekends) and holidays.

    Advice to Management

    More communication from Corporate to stores. It's not horrible, but it could always be improved.

    R.C. Willey Response

    Feb 27, 2017 – Online Customer Service Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I'll make sure to pass this on to our management.


  7. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at R.C. Willey full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I love the culture of this company. I felt that management was good to work with and we had a positive working environment. I love being closed on Sunday.

    Cons

    Weekend/holiday hours. Night hours.

    R.C. Willey Response

    Jan 26, 2017 – Online Customer Service Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I'll make sure to pass this on to our management.

  8. "Office Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rocklin, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rocklin, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at R.C. Willey full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company they encourage you to permute

    Cons

    Have to go through sales to get major growth with this company

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    R.C. Willey Response

    Jan 17, 2017 – Online Customer Service Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I'll make sure to pass this on to our management.


  9. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Weber, UT
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Weber, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R.C. Willey full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company where you feel like you matter

    Cons

    The pay and benefits are not the best

    R.C. Willey Response

    Dec 9, 2016 – Online Customer Service Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I'll make sure to pass this on to our management.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Job with good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at R.C. Willey full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and they don't lay people off. Amazing discounts on furniture after 6 months. A great place to work if all you're looking for is a job, not a career.

    Cons

    Systemic lack of respect from management, you are just another employee no matter how well you perform. Nepotism is built into the company and specifically allowed, but only for corporate. If you want your voice as an employee to be heard, find a different company to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and treat them like human beings, not easily replaceable cogs in the machine. Focus on hiring management based on merit, not how they're related to someone else.

    R.C. Willey Response

    Nov 17, 2016 – Online Customer Service Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I'll make sure to pass this on to our management.


Showing 94 of 94 reviews
Reset Filters