R1 RCM Reviews | Glassdoor

R1 RCM Reviews

Updated Mar 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
R1 RCM President & Chief Executive Officer Joseph Flanagan (no image)
Joseph Flanagan
178 Ratings
Pros
  • "working environment was excellent and everyone is friendly(in 30 reviews)

  • "If I need to work from home occasionally, it's usually approved no problem(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is absolutely clueless as to the requirements to the job(in 35 reviews)

  • "When R1 took over the Health Information department they changed everything with out asking the people who do the work what they thought(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Make a difference AND have work-life balance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Murray, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R1 RCM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, competitive pay, time off, and benefits, responsive management who cares and fosters career growth!

    Cons

    You must be able to take ownership and initiative. Be a self-starter.

    Continue reading
    R1 RCM2019-11-08
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R1 RCM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love the progressive benefits here

    Cons

    sharp learning curve, must have a drive to learn

    R1 RCM2019-10-17
  3. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Follow Up in Southfield, MI

    I worked at R1 RCM full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, decent pay, good benefits

    Cons

    Lots of meetings. Not a lot of Cons

    R1 RCM2020-03-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not Worth It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Access Representative in Pensacola, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at R1 RCM full-time

    Pros

    None I can think of.

    Cons

    Consistently understaffed--I've worked here for over a year and not once have we been fully staffed. Horribly underpaid for the amount of work you have to do. They use to pay more but they've cut the starting pay down to $12.50 because they're cheap. And you might think: "$12.50 isn't that bad." But, honey, for the amount of work you're gonna have to do considering that we are ALWAYS understaffed..... it's not worth it. You're basically pulling the work of two employees for the cost of one. There is a VERY HIGH TURNOVER RATE--and for good reason! Rules are constantly changing--no one ever seems to be on the same page about certain things. No sick leave--it comes out of your PTO. They took away the 7 minute grace-period because they don't care about employees. Also, Managers will not rollover third-party employees (so no PTO, no benefits, no holiday pay. nada.) 12 Hour shifts only.

    Continue reading
    R1 RCM2020-03-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job, Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Access Representative in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at R1 RCM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    wonderful coworkers, opportunity to help marginalized communities

    Cons

    constantly understaffed, poor communication, unreasonable expectations

    Continue reading
    R1 RCM2020-03-04
  6. "hmmm.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HIM Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at R1 RCM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of work to do Room for growth

    Cons

    No OT Managers dont always listen

    Continue reading
    R1 RCM2020-02-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Poor place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Information Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at R1 RCM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At least I had a job for a short time

    Cons

    When R1 took over the Health Information department they changed everything with out asking the people who do the work what they thought. Everyone I know goes home crying on a regular basis and is upset alot of the time there is too much work and not enough people. The pay is terrible and management does not seem to really care. Corporate could NEVER keep my PTO straight it was always needing to be adjusted. I was let go due to techniqality which is fine. It was time to move on. I felt like a dandelion who had killer sprayed on it and was dying for the inside out. I am much happier now.

    Continue reading
    R1 RCM2020-02-25
  8. "Profits over people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at R1 RCM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule for some jobs

    Cons

    the company seems to care only about those on salary. Hourly employees are allowed 4 sick day a year, and they require a 24 hour notice for these sick days. COVID-19 as most of the country was heeding CDC advice, R1 kept associates IN hospitals in non patient facing positions. Endangering their employees and hospital staff.

    Continue reading
    R1 RCM2020-03-17
  9. "Registration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Access Representative 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at R1 RCM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Scheduling could be good for those that would like several off days.

    Cons

    Management needs more training and not knowledgable

    R1 RCM2020-02-12
  10. "it's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Follow Up in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at R1 RCM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    coworkers are nice, i lucked up and have a great supervisor

    Cons

    pay, lack of ethics, and management will throw you under the bus

    R1 RCM2020-02-11
Found 767 reviews