REAL ALLOY Reviews | Glassdoor

REAL ALLOY Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
REAL ALLOY CEO Terrance Hogan
Terrance Hogan
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company that Understands Needs for Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coldwater, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at REAL ALLOY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation is above average. Corporate and Division Managers understand the need for change and broken processes and are in the process of fixing those changes and processes.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons. I'm super happy to be employed by Real Alloy.

    Advice to Management

    Great job at realizing problems and putting change into place.

    REAL ALLOY2017-06-01

    REAL ALLOY Response

    June 12, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for recognizing our hard work. It is because of people like you that help us shape the culture and direction of our growing company.

  2. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Mechanic in Wabash, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at REAL ALLOY full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Unlimited overtime for maintenance employees

    Cons

    The insurance is horrible. Upper management could care less if you're even there.

    Advice to Management

    Get your heads on straight and pay attention to your employees.

    REAL ALLOY2019-02-05
  3. "Top Management is Removed from Daily Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at REAL ALLOY full-time

    Pros

    Co-Workers are wonderful, as we all realize we're in the same boat.

    Cons

    Top management seems to make many errors and are out of touch in today's business world. The president seems to deal only with his top layer, and that layer doesn't always tell the real story. Some VP's accomplish very little, and when they do, they make sloppy mistakes. Done wrong. No Planning. The lower level employees get the blame. VP's don't know what the daily operations really need, and they don't... ask, and if you tell them, they don't do it anyway. I can't believe the money I see wasted. Unbelievable overtime - Prepare to work on your vacations if you decide to work here. Aggravating.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the poor managers. Come on - You have to know who they are. Then start understanding the needs of the business. The company hasn't addressed the basics. Possibly a quality process. Then after you fix things, you can actually staff the place correctly.

    REAL ALLOY2017-12-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Shipping and Receiving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shipper/Receiver in Wabash, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at REAL ALLOY full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    close to home and has ok insurance

    Cons

    they don't have any communication skills

    Advice to Management

    they need to show there employees more respect and not talk down to them

    REAL ALLOY2017-11-12
  5. "It was decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Coldwater, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REAL ALLOY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Money and overtime are the best things available and the rotating 12 hour shift because you work half of the month with three day weekends

    Cons

    It is very hot and hard work and the hours are very long also HR is not very good at their job

    REAL ALLOY2017-07-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at REAL ALLOY full-time

    Pros

    Great people, sense of camaraderie

    Cons

    Management is removed from problems at plants.

    Advice to Management

    When you hire someone for their expertise, allow them to perform and help the company - Stop micromanaging

    REAL ALLOY2017-08-01
  7. "Real Alloy Inc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morgantown, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at REAL ALLOY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a growing company with lots of opportunities if an individual wants to move up. Good benefits, great group of hourly people to work with and lots of positive changes taking place. Management is starting to make changes since top management changed at the plant. Good things on the horizon!

    Cons

    As in most places sometimes hours and overtime changes depending on volumes. Sometimes there are layoffs but typically called back to work.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees and keep us updated on changes whether they are good or bad.

    REAL ALLOY2017-04-20
  8. "Aluminum recycling plant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Production 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at REAL ALLOY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I like the people I work with, the plant recycles metal and delivers it mostly to automotive customers. Interesting process, safety is important along with metal recovery. If I want overtime, it is usually available.

    Cons

    In the summer, it gets hot, but there are vests to help. It is dirty but not bad.

    Advice to Management

    More barbeques

    REAL ALLOY2017-02-20
  9. "Place is a dump"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Furnace Operator in Coldwater, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at REAL ALLOY for more than a year

    Pros

    Only good thing was sleeping on the job.

    Cons

    Absolutely hated going to work I got treated like crap by the plant manager all the time. That's why I would sleep on the job. No matter how hard you work or don't work it's always your fault if they don't like you

    Advice to Management

    Blow it up and start over

    REAL ALLOY2017-01-27

    REAL ALLOY Response

    June 12, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, yes we did make management changes, and employee changes too! Sleeping on the job does not provide stable employment.

  10. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Project Engineer in Coldwater, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at REAL ALLOY

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    High amount of travel required.

    REAL ALLOY2016-12-17
Found 19 reviews