REC Group Reviews | Glassdoor

REC Group Reviews

Updated December 2, 2017
66 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
REC Group CEO Steve ONeil
Steve ONeil
7 Ratings

66 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Island wide transport that is the only Pros of joining REC (in 5 reviews)

  • No distraction and work life balance (in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • Alot on cost cutting which do not really make alot of sense from the maintenance point of view (in 6 reviews)

  • Not a place to earn money and for career progression (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "REC Silicon group review,US"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SAP SD Functional Consultant in Moses Lake, WA
    Former Employee - SAP SD Functional Consultant in Moses Lake, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at REC Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Working for REC group was great.

    Cons

    I could not find any cons except if they think about revising compensation.

    REC Group Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – CEO

    Just FYI, REC Silicon in Moses Lake is not a part of REC Group, a fully integrated manufacturer of solar modules.


  2. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Butte, MT
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Butte, MT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at REC Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Excellent pay and benefits for family

    Cons

    Hours suck and so does the smell

    Advice to Management

    Be professional

    REC Group Response

    Jun 21, 2017 – CEO

    I suspect, from your location in Butte, MT, that you are referring to REC Silicon ASA, which is no longer a part of REC Group. REC Silicon separated in 2013 into a stand-alone organization focused... More

  3. "Difficult time due to solar trade war"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at REC Group full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefit, slim organization

    Cons

    Volatile business and thin financial strength

    REC Group Response

    Jun 20, 2017 – CEO

    The solar trade wars are indeed challenging but REC is one of the longest running companies in the industry (more than 20 years) and I'm confident we know how to succeed in a sustainable way. Thanks... More


  4. "REC Silicon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infrastructure Manager in Moses Lake, WA
    Current Employee - Infrastructure Manager in Moses Lake, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at REC Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Company takes good care of their employees and has logs of opportunities to grow professionally. The company is full of new challenges and is fast paced.

    Cons

    Market for product fluctuates quickly which makes it difficult for the company provide a sense of stability for employees even though they navigate the market well.

    REC Group Response

    Jun 21, 2017 – CEO

    FYI, REC Silicon is a separate company, not affiliated with REC Group. REC Group operations are located in Singapore and Norway, producing solar panels. – Steve O'Neil, CEO, REC Group


  5. "doing good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at REC Group full-time

    Pros

    I like it here a lot

    Cons

    not much to complain about

    Advice to Management

    keep on trucking

    REC Group Response

    Jun 18, 2017 – CEO

    Very happy to hear you like working at REC. We are dedicated to making REC a great place to work and we are passionate about renewable energy! – Steve O'Neil, CEO


  6. "Key Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Key Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at REC Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great products and they treat their employees well.

    Cons

    Bought by Chinese company and changing the company DNA.

    Advice to Management

    Don't take the easy way out.

    REC Group Response

    Jun 18, 2017 – CEO

    Thank you for your positive review. We will remain true to our DNA with a Norwegian board of directors, operational HQ in Singapore and globally diverse management team. – Steve O'Neil, CEO


  7. "REC, take your life in your own hands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager/Shift Lead in Moses Lake, WA
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager/Shift Lead in Moses Lake, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at REC Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    high pay for the area, good vacation, some really nice workers, good medical.

    Cons

    high turn over rate, dangerous place to work. no real skilled workers. in maintenance, operations, management, unstable future

    Advice to Management

    need no training or skills to advance into management

    REC Group Response

    Jun 21, 2017 – CEO

    Sorry for the confusion but REC Silicon in Moses Lake, WA, is not a part of REC Group. We are a solar panel manufacturer with operations in Singapore and Norway, and we take pride in our safe work... More

  8. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Moses Lake, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Moses Lake, WA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at REC Group (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and a chance to make a real impact in the organization. Higher level leaders depend on the abilities of lower level workers to drive improvements.

    Cons

    Most positions are overworked and given responsibilities for which there is little or no training.

    Advice to Management

    Develop your people, don't just make assignments and hope for the best.

    REC Group Response

    Jun 21, 2017 – CEO

    REC Silicon in Moses Lake, WA, is not a part of REC Group. REC Group is a leading supplier of solar panels to the US market and around the world. We do not have operations in Moses Lake. – Steve... More


  9. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical Engineer in Moses Lake, WA
    Current Employee - Chemical Engineer in Moses Lake, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Descent company to work for. People are generally quite good to work with and the technology is unique. Although more companies are coming into the area, they still remain one of the predominant employers in the area. Good opportunities for growth and internal movement. Benefits are actually decent or at least the industry standard.

    Cons

    Salaries may be a tad lower than market value. Moses Lake is a very small town with mostly poor schools and city management. Despite it being a decent place to work IMHO, the is actually a fair amount of turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Make salaries fair market value compared to equivalent industries. Know the size of your company and act accordingly, meaning there has been lots of growth with recent expansions, but some policies/management act as if REC is quite small, while others act as if we are huge.

    REC Group Response

    Jun 21, 2017 – CEO

    REC Group does not have operations in Moses Lake, and is not affiliated with REC Silicon. – Steve O'Neil, CEO, REC Group


  10. "I liked working on process development to enhance company's leadership position in industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology Engineer
    Former Employee - Technology Engineer
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at REC Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Company is supportive of new ideas nad encourages innovation.

    Cons

    Can get very cold where it is located.

    Advice to Management

    Stay ahead of the competition.


Showing 66 of 76 reviews
Reset Filters