RED Interactive Agency Reviews | Glassdoor

RED Interactive Agency Reviews

Updated September 5, 2017
51 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Brian Lovell
39 Ratings

51 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good work / life balance, at least in my field of work in the company (in 10 reviews)

  • 401k, gym membership, dry cleaning, happy hours, competitive vacation) (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • Any place doing great work like they are, will have long hours (in 3 reviews)

  • Very top heavy, with more directors and VPs than junior level employees (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "I like coming into work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RED Interactive Agency full-time

    Pros

    -Collaborative, talented, and motivated individuals work here
    -Everyone is NICE to one another
    -Everyone is friends with everyone. I would feel comfortable talking to anyone here about something professional or personal. I feel like my coworkers have my best interests at heart
    -Fun "agency" perks. Park Day. Inspirational Days. Happy hours.
    -Food for the office
    -A place that I can really grow my career
    - I feel supported and happy here everyday. Truly some of the best professional individuals I have ever worked with.

    Cons

    None I can think of at the moment!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be transparent with employees and help them reach their career goals.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Director in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Creative Director in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RED Interactive Agency full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    RED consistently employs top talent and cultivates an environment that promotes growth for team members. This is evident in the company's ability to maintain quality while expanding in size and expertise.

    Brian believes in taking care of people. It shows in the way he interacts with his employees and the team that he's built to guide and protect the company's culture.

    Cons

    Wish it was just called RED.

    RED Interactive Agency Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – VP, Human Resources and Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the great work and dedication. For you, we’ll go by “RED.”

  3. Helpful (3)

    "RED is a Pretender That's Quickly Falling Behind On Many Industry Standards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RED Interactive Agency full-time

    Pros

    - Fully stocked kitchen
    - Friendly people
    - Good location
    - Parking

    Cons

    - Full of social cliques
    - Secretive, inaccessible management
    - No confidence in their youth
    - Serious lack of mentorship or growth opportunity
    - Stale leadership that relies on their previous background too heavily
    - HR decisions are made on how well liked someone is, not their performance
    - Nepotism
    - Low pay, inconsistent bonuses/raises
    - Extreme lack of diversity

    Advice to Management

    Leaning on the experience that got RED to where it is today will not get RED to where it wants to be in the future. Current leadership prides themselves on being industry veterans, but their skills and vision are limited by those same achievements because they won't accept change. Empower the younger generation at RED and open your ears and eyes to their ideas. Strengthen the lines of communication to and from leadership and be more transparent with the employees about the status and direction of the company, even when it's not what they want to hear.

    RED Interactive Agency Response

    Sep 6, 2017 – VP, Human Resources and Talent Acquisition

    We're bummed to hear that this is how you felt. I wish that we had the opportunity to address some of these sentiments while you were here. We would have wanted to support you, emphasize the growth... More


  4. Helpful (6)

    "Great Salary / No Diversity or Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RED Interactive Agency full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    – Decent Salary and Opportunity to Learn. I found it incredible that they kept me around after a client pulled their budget for the year.

    – Flexibility to work from home.

    Cons

    – Not enough junior level workers and too many VPs and Directors. This then makes someone who is junior level to work excessive hours without recognition and a gap when SOWs are written.

    – When I left, they were 19% female and roughly 90% Caucasian males. Oddly enough for a Disney Christmas project, I was the only female who had a Christian background. I was told to go for diversity purposes.

    – No growth. I worked extremely smart and hard to get a promotion and the VP I worked with did everything in his power to undermine my efforts and attack my character multiple times. This is why I left.

    – HR is cliquey. You won't feel like you can go to them with issues without them spewing it to the entire office. If you are not liked by any of them for personal reason, they will find a way to get rid of you... and quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more junior level employees to physically do the work that directors and VPs won't do. I would recommend replacing many of those VPs and Directors as they don't have the soft skills to manage these junior level employees. I'd also recommend that HR be less cliquey and work on making sure these junior level employees feel supported. Please start recognizing those who work smart and well.

    RED Interactive Agency Response

    Jul 28, 2017 – VP, Human Resources and Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re disappointed that your experience here didn’t reflect our values.

    Increasing our diversity is something we are always thinking about. We employ several... More


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Eh, cool but not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Fun, hip environment that really focuses on employees happiness. Most people are nice and friendly. People are working on cool projects.

    Cons

    The racial demographics probably work out to be about 95% white. 90% at the minimum. Definite cliquey exclusive environment. Not many people over age 35.

    Advice to Management

    Diversify!! Having some international employees that are mostly white is not effective diversity. We literally have one Black employee. Not okay.

    RED Interactive Agency Response

    Jul 28, 2017 – VP, Human Resources and Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your thoughts.

    While your stats are not accurate, we certainly agree with you that diversity is critically important to our business. Different backgrounds, experiences... More


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Inconsistency throughout each department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RED Interactive Agency full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly environment.

    Some genuinely interesting work.

    Office location is convenient.

    Cons

    There is a wide of a skill gap between individuals that share titles. Hard to determine what the actual requirements are for a position outside of longevity.

    Inefficient use of time and resources, many decisions appear frantic and reactionary.

    Very top heavy, with more directors and VPs than junior level employees.

    Advice to Management

    Hold off on promotions.

    RED Interactive Agency Response

    Jul 28, 2017 – VP, Human Resources and Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

    Years ago, Brian was opposed to having titles at all. He just wanted everyone to focus on the work.

    He still does. But as we’ve grown... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RED Interactive Agency full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great staff, friendly people
    Fun projects and great clients for your resume
    Access to upper manangement
    Great company culture: happy hours, weekly company-wide meetings, comped meals when working thru lunch/dinner, etc.

    Cons

    Unbelievably long hours, client-is-always-right mentality even when client clashes with an entire department
    Poor performing staff kept on long after they should be fired because of years at company... Disheartening for staff working hard to compensate for these people

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the staff when they're having trouble

    RED Interactive Agency Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – VP, Human Resources and Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback. We’re excited you liked the people (we do too), the open-door leadership style, and our culture.

    We do our best to cultivate an account services practice that balances... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Ethics Anyone?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RED Interactive Agency full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Wasn't there long enough

    Cons

    Agency struggling to figure out the space they need to play.

     Some members of leadership have been there so long that they don't understand how to support and mentor incoming talent.
    Stale business and growth planning
    Cheap

    Advice to Management

    The ad industry is small. Your ethical and moral values are reflected by the way in which you exit your employees and your business will be judged the same.

    Change out leadership with stale and limited knowledge on technology.

    RED Interactive Agency Response

    Jun 30, 2017 – VP, Human Resources and Talent Acquisition

    It's never easy to exit someone from the company. These decisions are not made lightly. However, if someone is not performing, and we've done what we can to try to make them successful, we have to... More


  9. "great place for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RED Interactive Agency full-time

    Pros

    I have worked at RED for several years. There is a lot of opportunity for growth here and all levels get to work on innovative projects. Everyone is really friendly and collaborative, it has been a good experience. The team leads are very supportive too.

    Cons

    Communication from leadership is not always consistent, but it has gotten better.

    RED Interactive Agency Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – VP, Human Resources and Talent Acquisition

    Hey, thanks. We’re glad you’re enjoying it.

    If you have thoughts about how we can continue to improve our communication, please let us know!


  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Artist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Artist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RED Interactive Agency full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Love the culture the people and the opportunities here. They care about their employees, and quality is very important. It's fun to work with so many skilled and talented people. I've worked for multiple game studios in the past, but this one takes the cake. The games we do for clients are quality, and it really shows as they all get featured in the app store. I just feel grateful to be a part of the success.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Advice to Management

    great job guys. keep it up ;).

    RED Interactive Agency Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – VP, Human Resources and Talent Acquisition

    Thank you. We appreciate the feedback, kind words, and the winky face.


Showing 51 of 52 reviews
Reset Filters