REED Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
REED Chairman James Reed
James Reed
351 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is still a uniform dress code which is a little out dated, this has been modernised over the years but still old fashioned for 2020(in 63 reviews)

  • "The only thing would be flexible working but I know that this is something that is being introduced(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good pay"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Armed Guard 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time

    Pros

    Pay is good, nice gym.

    Cons

    Away from home, German chow hall

    REED2020-04-18

    REED Response

    April 27, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your positive review

  2. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at REED full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, team, stress free environment

    Cons

    Lack of growth opportunities

    REED2018-08-15

    REED Response

    September 20, 2018Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your great review. We are launching our new Sales Academy at reed.co.uk which is transparent progression, development and reward framework which we expect will be a great enhancement to joining our sales teams.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at REED

    Pros

    Leadership, Company Values, Promotions, Compensation

    Cons

    Compensation, Perks, Personal Growth, Training

    REED2015-03-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "In-fighting, politics, and all that's wrong with recruitment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at REED full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Instant name recognition Lots of opportunities Company values are outstanding Variety of recruitment areas

    Cons

    Different "specialisms" compete with each other and reed.co.uk for business, and it can get really nasty Managers are so busy making sales figures that they don't manage staff properly Lip service paid to values, but not upheld in the company Outdated mentality about recruitment: call, call, call, etc

    Continue reading
    REED2014-10-17
  5. "Great place to learn and grow"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Managing Director in London, England

    I worked at REED full-time

    Pros

    Supportive and friendly people. Invest in training and development of recruiters. Socially motivated owners

    Cons

    Hard to criticise based on personal experience, autonomy and opportunity.

    REED2020-05-19
  6. "Great company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Resource Business Partner in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are wanting to work for a company who truly offers great career opportunities then REED if the one for you. I have worked for REED now for 5 years and in that time, my career has developed from Team Leader, Team Manager, Resourcing Business Partner and Senior Resourcing Business Partner. I have been a recruitment professional for 10 years now and what I love about my job is the interaction with so many amazing people, internally within our business and externally with all our valued clients. My job allows me to radiate the family core values we have here to our clients as we truly do care about supporting our clients’ needs and helping candidates securing their perfect job! – If you love old school family values then you will get on so well with Reed, as an employee and also as a preferred supplier to support your recruitment needs. We have been established since 1960 and incredibly innovative with the way we work and the technology we use however, one thing which has remained the same from when Sir Alec Reed founded the company is the importance of family! Our Chairman James Reed and our Global MD Ian Nicolas are both inspirational leaders, even during the extremely difficulty COVID-19 pandemic which has forced a lot of very hard decisions. Both have ensured that all employees are kept supported, safe and assured that we as a REED family will get through this!

    Cons

    Nothing - Really great company!

    Continue reading
    REED2020-05-11

    REED Response

    May 20, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your lovely review. Congratulations on your 10 years! I agree that Ian's regular vlogs and overall communication has really helped to lead and support us through challenging times.

  7. "Great company to work for, lots of incentives, great bonus structure and career development programme"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Recruitment Consultant in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues, training and career opportunities

    Cons

    The 40 hour working week

    REED2020-05-12

    REED Response

    May 20, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your positive feedback.

  8. ""Find a job you enjoy doing and you'll never work a day in your life""

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been with Reed for over 7 years now, I have always been given opportunities to develop my skill set and I feel that my manager values my opinion. Training and development is strong and although a bit slow and somewhat behind when compared to other similar companies, I have noticed significant improvements in the last few years both with their focus on employee retention and image overall, they clearly care!

    Cons

    The dress code when working in an office is quite archaic although worse for the men as they all have to wear the same ties which I'd find embarrassing if I was a guy and on a client meeting with another bloke - You shouldn't need to check which tie your colleague is wearing that day so you don't turn up like a pair of matching numptys! I understand that the bonus scheme is competitive for billing roles but I work in a support function and there is nothing for us, a target driven reward for doing your job well would be appreciated as the basic salary levels are certainly not any higher when you compare them to similar jobs with other companies. Staff turn over is reasonably high in central support functions too which I suppose is another con and would perhaps be helped by the introduction of the above point?

    REED2020-05-12

    REED Response

    May 20, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your positive review. We have worked hard to highlight and communicate the many great things about working for REED and so it's pleasing that you can see this. It's easy to lose sight of these things when we're all busy working hard. I will share your thoughts internally.

  9. "Best business I have been working for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    That's what I can say after almost a year: - helpful management - amazing tools - good brand to work for - juicy and generous bonuses - clear and achievable career progression - good work life balance - good company parties and nights out with the team - amazing team

    Cons

    - our demarcation rules are complicated - should be more flexible

    Continue reading
    REED2020-05-07

    REED Response

    May 20, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your positive review. I agree, there's lots of positive things that REED give you and having a great team around you helps too.

  10. "Love my job at Reed"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I joined Reed in January 2007 and never looked back . Reed have always encouraged , provided constructive feedback and ongoing support , have immaculate training and delivery , clear progression structure that is driven by you and your achievements . I have the best Manager who I am thankful for , he’s made me feel appreciated and respected and always listens . I know other recruiters and some still believe we are high street but we are not , we are true specialists in every market space and I am a true advocate for Reed. We have a job that changes people’s life’s and assist businesses to flourish , now who wouldn’t want a job like that .

    Cons

    I really can’t think of any.

    Continue reading
    REED2020-05-07

    REED Response

    May 20, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your positive review. Recruitment does give the opportunity to make a positive difference on one of the most important life decisions for an individual - where they work.

Found 691 reviews
</>Embed