Cover image for REI
Logo
See All Photos

REI

Engaged Employer

REI

Add a Review

REI Reviews

Updated Jan 26, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 2,992 of over 3K reviews
4.0
79% Recommend to a Friend
REI President and CEO Eric Artz
65% Approve of CEO

Found 2,996 of over 3K reviews

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
REI President and CEO Eric Artz
Eric Artz
586 Ratings

What people are saying about REI

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about REI? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with REI employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay and even lower pay for those with over 20 years in the company.(in 282 reviews)
  • "Bad management and not much growth(in 154 reviews)
  • "Some great managers have left REI(in 83 reviews)
  • "Long and Limited Hours(in 61 reviews)
  • "Senior Leadership has low awareness of the challenges of getting work done and dismisses the feedback from employees.(in 27 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of REI and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years
    Featured Review

    Can’t get better than this in retail

    Apr 4, 2022 - Sales Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well vetted team, caring and thoughtful managers. Recognition for excelling.

    Cons

    Hours aren’t ideal and holidays can be tricky to get time off

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good Summer Job

    Dec 28, 2022 - Retail Sales Specialist in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -great discounts on outdoor gear and rentals -easy to have shifts covered and view the schedule

    Cons

    -Lots of seasonal employees, everyone comes and goes.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the REI team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Transparency

    Jan 26, 2023 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great paid training, good retention, decent work culture and sick leave policies, easy resources to keep customers happy, supportive management.

    Cons

    Customer service sucks, you’ll get yelled at in your own home, but your managers support setting boundaries with bullies. It doesn’t pay enough for the stress or keep up with living wage expectations despite the rhetoric around work/life balance. Perks only go so far when you’re living on a barely surviving wage. All work and time is recorded and quantified in a system that you’ll be nitpicked about and criticized for in meetings with supervisors.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Jan 25, 2023 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun, exclusive environment to work if you like the outdoors

    Cons

    Retail hours can be tough

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company to work for

    Jan 25, 2023 - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good culture and people, good starting pay

    Cons

    Unreliable hours, corporate becoming more corporate

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company and Culture

    Jan 25, 2023 - Outdoor Guide 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I appreciate the flexibility REI offers, the training, and the overall company culture that is supportive. There is growth opportunities in regards to training, but it is hard to find full time work outside of seasonal positions.

    Cons

    -Lack of growth opportunities within the company -inconsistent hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great people working towards a common good

    Jan 24, 2023 - Bike Technician in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is passionate about the company values and ensuring the customer has the best service possible.

    Cons

    Managers ask for a lot of availability for part-time workers.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Community

    Jan 24, 2023 - Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers and management are kind and helpful. Cross training is something the managers promote, which is great for you because it means more hours and a different working environment.

    Cons

    It can be overwhelming if the store is very busy and they are understaffed.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Jan 23, 2023 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool and greate. Super awsome.

    Cons

    None at all rei is da best!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Best in outdoor

    Jan 22, 2023 - Art Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Creative Art People Money Flexible

    Cons

    Attitude Ego People Direction Growth ops

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,996 Reviews
</>Embed

REI Reviews FAQs

REI has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 3,078 reviews left anonymously by employees. 79% of employees would recommend working at REI to a friend and 64% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, REI employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at REI. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

79% of REI employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated REI 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at REI to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with REI Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at REI? Share Your Experiences

REI logo
or

REI Careers

Cover image for REI

Who we are At Recreational Equipment, Inc. (REI) we believe a life outdoors is a life well-lived. We believe that it’s in the wild,...More

  • Diversity and Inclusion
  • Benefits
  • Culture and Values
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

REI

80 days ago

Culture
Wondering what #REI life is like? 🤩 Take a peek inside one of our beloved co-op traditions. As we gear up for the holiday season across the country, we gather around the fire to sip hot cocoa and roast twinkies to #BringOnTheSnow! Any twinkie fans out there?#reiemployee #culture #reilife
Shared image
Logo

REI

113 days ago

Company News
We are giving #BlackFriday the 🥾for good and taking action! For 7 years, REI has set an example for other retailers by choosing time outside over the busiest in-store shopping day. By committing to #OptOutside, we are giving our employees paid time away from crowds and long lines to enjoy the outdoors with their friends and families. Learn how we are living up to our true belief that "life outdoors is a life well lived." #REIemployee #benefits
Shared image - #OptOutside on Black Friday and every day | REI Co-op
#OptOutside on Black Friday and every day | REI Co-op
www.rei.com
See all

REI Photos

+ Add Photo
REI photo of: Green Vest always ready to assist our members.
REI photo of: Reception area in our Sumner Distribution & Customer contact center
REI photo of: One of the many areas on campus to unwind & relax...
REI photo of: Working hard at headquarters
REI photo of: A great start to any day is a green vest huddle!
REI photo of: A popular feature to our campus- our indoor bike rack storage! Perfect for the rainy northwest season!
REI photo of: REI team members at our contact center-- helping out our customers!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

REI Job Seekers Also Viewed

Amazon Logo
Amazon

3.8

156,868 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 3,078 REI reviews submitted anonymously by REI employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if REI is right for you.