RELX "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor

RELX Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Feb 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
RELX CEO Erik Engstrom (no image)
Erik Engstrom
93 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The senior management no longer values its Dayton based employees and are treating us like garbage(in 12 reviews)

  • "Upper Management especially in the Philippines(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RELX

    Pros

    good health benefits for all employees and family

    Cons

    senior management is inconsistent and makes snap decisions

    Continue reading
    RELX2011-08-26
  2. "Great benefits but poor senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay Good benefits Good work / life balance Good training Great Supervisor. I have enjoyed working here and my direct supervisor has made the job very enjoyable. Having a boss who believes in you and encourages you daily is a great morale booster.

    Cons

    Over the years I have worked here we have seen many employees being laid off and transferred to Raleigh, NC. We have experienced a 4.25% pay reduction and now are being forced to move to NC or having to find a new job. The senior management no longer values its Dayton based employees and are treating us like garbage.

    Continue reading
    RELX2020-02-09
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Rough Acquisition Transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a lot to learn at Elsevier. I feel like I have gained about three years of experience in the past year. The financial rigor has pushed me to pick up lots of new skills that I will certainly be able to take with me in my next positions. There are also many, many talented individuals who are absolute experts in their fields.

    Cons

    Senior management is much more concerned with making the finances look good than with actually growing the business. They do much more talking than listening.

    Continue reading
    RELX2016-04-17
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Marketing/Event Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Norwalk, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Co-workers become your family, fun travel destinations. Entry level positions have room to advance quickly. Veteran employees are what is keeping the event teams together.

    Cons

    Culture is awful, no one is motivated, senior management recognizes the problem but does nothing to address it. Benefits are reduced/eliminated every year while more work is piled on without additional support. No work life balance.

    Continue reading
    RELX2016-04-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "S&T books only cares about the short-term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Acquisitions Editor in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at RELX

    Pros

    The people are the only reason to stay. Honestly, it was hard to leave them.

    Cons

    If you get a new role or promotion within the company, they will try to keep you at the lowest salary possible, even if you're not within the range for the position. This is an extremely short-sighted strategy. Anyone with two neurons will realize this and leave as soon as possible. Senior management has also taken a turn for the worse. We used to have some autonomy and ownership in our roles, but now everything we do is criticized and questioned. Tasks we have done for years one way will all of a sudden be rejected based on the whim of someone in senior management. With just one bad hire into leadership, every day is a battle to preempt some change in the winds. We're asked to spend our time on things that won't further the bottom line with no explanation. It's frustrating to be asked to spend my time on something extraneous when I should be focusing on activities that will benefit my portfolio. It seems like our jobs are getting much more difficult with no reason behind it.

    Continue reading
    RELX2015-10-06
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Use you up and dump you - was much better years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large, multi-national media company that successfully transitioned from print to digital. Lots of diversity and interesting locations, projects and really great, dedicated people.

    Cons

    Executive management can be stifling and are often misguided by expensive consultants. Loyalty, passion and dedication are quickly forgotten when senior management changes. The really sharp senior executives who get recruited and hired are smart enough to leave within a few weeks leaving behind backward-thinking mediocrity.

    Continue reading
    RELX2015-01-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Incredibly challenging but not without its rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RELX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people. Most of the people I dealt with whether they be part of the shared services group, business controllers and finance teams of both the US and UK business divisions or even the AsiaPac team..all of them are incredibly knowledgeable and open to collaboration.

    Cons

    Unfortunately in 2013 there has been significant RIF(s) in the US in the operational and SS areas (not sure about what is going on in the UK) A good chunk of that talent has been taken away; the people that are left are being stretched to increase output without additional resources or improved infrastructure. Communication between senior management and the its' reporting teams is not always optimal.

    RELX2013-09-10
  8. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at RELX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, work/life balance. Advancement can happen if you play the politics right and are ambitious. Flexibility allows for internal job switching if an opportunity comes.

    Cons

    My personal experience was bad because I worked for the American publishing division which was eventually sold off. The division I worked for was in sale mode for nearly four years, and that meant very little investment in technology or business expansion. Overall, the senior management seemed directionless and inaccessible. There was little or no communication between the various divisions.

    RELX2013-02-10
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Uninspired senior managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RELX

    Pros

    Great co-workers, until they left for better places to work

    Cons

    Management is so unknowledgeable about the business that they constantly hire outside consultants to tell them what to do. We've seen every one you can name. Bain, McKenzie, Monitor, PWC, and others. They even had an initiative one year on "Innovation." And of course, Crispin Davis hired an outside consulting firm and paid them millions of dollars to run an "innovation" program. Be innovative, or else!!! In that program, of the ideas that "won," and were therefore funded, none ever came to anything. The one I was most aware of was quietly killed after about two years, having achieved absolutely none of its objectives and having cost a ton of money. OF COURSE all this was funded by cutting programs for normal everyday business. True innovation, either by ongoing improvement, or leapfrog ideas, is smothered, because management doesn't trust people with ideas. They only trust people with MBAs from a specific handful of business schools and then only if they have had work experience with-- you guessed it, those consulting firms. The senior management of Reed Elsevier Group doesn't know enough about the companies in the group to be able to assess the decision-making and leadership of the management teams for the divisions.

    Continue reading
    RELX2009-02-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Reed Elsevier's clueless management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consulting Software Engineer in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RELX

    Pros

    Great salary. Very smart and experienced people.

    Cons

    Complete lack of substantive communication from senior management. They communicate, but we have no clue why they do what they do.

    Continue reading
    RELX2008-12-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews
</>Embed