RELX "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

RELX Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
RELX CEO Erik Engstrom (no image)
Erik Engstrom
93 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The senior management no longer values its Dayton based employees and are treating us like garbage(in 12 reviews)

  • "Upper Management especially in the Philippines(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Love! Creative, Innovative, Forward-Thinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Room to develop, work life balance, intelligent staff, well organized. Innovation and learning is put first when possible. They want you to be challenged and satisfied with your position.

    Cons

    Relx has no cons that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    RELX2019-03-03
  2. "Great benefits but poor senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay Good benefits Good work / life balance Good training Great Supervisor. I have enjoyed working here and my direct supervisor has made the job very enjoyable. Having a boss who believes in you and encourages you daily is a great morale booster.

    Cons

    Over the years I have worked here we have seen many employees being laid off and transferred to Raleigh, NC. We have experienced a 4.25% pay reduction and now are being forced to move to NC or having to find a new job. The senior management no longer values its Dayton based employees and are treating us like garbage.

    Continue reading
    RELX2020-02-09
  3. "A good place to work with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Miamisburg, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, people are really good

    Cons

    Work/life balance could be better

    RELX2019-07-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Business Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at RELX full-time

    Pros

    Work Life Balance is great

    Cons

    Lack of growth for US based employees

    RELX2018-01-31
  5. "A company that I would recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RELX full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work with a neat work-life balance

    Cons

    maybe could offer a better pay scale; some silly internal politics

    Continue reading
    RELX2017-12-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Publisher struggling to become digital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Smart colleagues, great work life balance

    Cons

    Limited advancement and poor management

    Continue reading
    RELX2016-11-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in India, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RELX

    Pros

    a) Year on Year Training b) Defined KPIs c) Work Life Balance

    Cons

    a) Incompetent Managing Director not so comfortable mingling with entry level executive. spends most of the time attending Global calls b) Incompetent HR, playing politics and not done the work in evaluating employees. HR all noise nothing done. c) Limited growth, no value for skills d) If you outgrow CTC to a specific level, then you are in danger of becoming redundant. If you ask the management for better opportunities, they may not be willing to give you e) Divide between global and local. Hence local achievements will be looked down f) Huge nasty nexus among senior leaders. They spend time in managing perception and guarding secret. No focus on improving operations g) Executive Vice President makes a visit every year and goes back saying everything is fine. We know everything cannot be fine at every time. Not so inspiring, if you are looking for real growth.

    Continue reading
    RELX2016-05-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Marketing/Event Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Norwalk, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Co-workers become your family, fun travel destinations. Entry level positions have room to advance quickly. Veteran employees are what is keeping the event teams together.

    Cons

    Culture is awful, no one is motivated, senior management recognizes the problem but does nothing to address it. Benefits are reduced/eliminated every year while more work is piled on without additional support. No work life balance.

    Continue reading
    RELX2016-04-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The perfect job if you need something steady..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at RELX

    Pros

    Consistent schedule, good work/life balance, great department dynamics.

    Cons

    Management has their hands tied by corporate, making change near impossible.

    RELX2016-02-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Coordinator/Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at RELX full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Diversity, work/life balance, friendly working culture

    Cons

    Heavy workload, less innovative, need more new ideas and products

    RELX2015-12-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 57 reviews
</>Embed