RISI Reviews | Glassdoor

RISI Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Dan Klein
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Bedford, MA

    I have been working at RISI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of flexibility and work-life balance. Because it's a small company you have a lot of responsibility.

    Cons

    Little room for growth.

    RISI2016-02-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work, especially if you're starting or finishing a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Analyst in Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RISI full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work-life balance, relaxed corporate culture, and flexibility to grow independently. Non-monetary benefits are abundant, including vacation time. Its a small office, and fellow employees are welcoming and helpful to new hires. Long term employees are valued.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to grow in the short term within such a specialized and relatively small field. Salaries could be more competitive considering the office's close proximity to Boston. Dated technology. Salary structure is unclear.

    Advice to Management

    Make investments in technology upgrades more of a priority. Consider shifting some non-monetary benefits into salary increases.

    RISI2015-12-22
  3. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at RISI

    Pros

    People are very friendly and nice. Good work environment.

    Cons

    Couldn't think of any as it is a great place to work.

    RISI2015-12-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Really an amazing company, great brand, high level of integrity and fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RISI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers NEED our products - we are the dominant player in the forest products market research industry. High level of Integrity - the economists are really good at forecasting and our journalists great at breaking news & price reporting, and we never compromise on questions of integrity. Sales team structure is improving and we are getting more focused on getting the value we deserve from customers. Opportunities...

    Show More

    Cons

    Our customer data [CRM] is a bit discombobulated. We have too many customer databases and as a result it can be hard for our sales reps to sell to the right companies, and for our customers to get to the right sales rep in an orderly fashion. Once we fix this challenge, we can grow even faster!

    Advice to Management

    Keep charging forward, and continue to invest in our great products, and more sales people to sell them.

    RISI2015-04-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RISI

    Pros

    - flexible hours - very good sick leave - decent vacation - lots of challenging work

    Cons

    - not a lot of opportunities for advancement (small company) - salaries a little low compared to market - technology a bit dated (but they are working to improve)

    RISI2015-03-30
  6. "Great place for recent graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Economist in Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RISI

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. Flexible working hours. Great company culture. A lot of challenging projects.

    Cons

    Communication between departments. Need to raise salary.

    RISI2015-03-31
  7. "Great company, Love the work atmosphere (work with smart, down-to-earth and fun people)."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RISI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great co-workers, strong team spirit and positive energy. - HR did a great job helping their employees. - Open communication from Higher level management. - Excellent Work-life balance. - Growing company - I have been work at RISI for more than 4 years and I have confidence in the current top management structure. They are showing a strong leadership and bring the company to successful level.

    Cons

    - Need to raise the salary. - Need a room for job growth.

    RISI2015-03-30
  8. "Fine place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RISI

    Pros

    - Excellent in terms of work/life balance: flexible hours, ample vacation time, and the option to work from home. - A fun environment: multiple social events each month. - Friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    - Career development path is unclear. - Technology is dated.

    RISI2015-03-28
  9. "Overall positive work environment with great employees, but with continuous change throughout."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RISI full-time

    Pros

    Leading company in the forestry products information industry Flexible work scheduling and casual dress code Adequate benefits/time off provided Overall positive work environment

    Cons

    Vast amount of job turnover the past few years (within management and lower level employees) Very limited room for job growth Raises never more than cost of living increase Not enough training provided for employees Some processes still way behind the curve technologically

    RISI2015-03-27
  10. "In general, a positive, rewarding experience, working with quality co-workers and for a reputable firm."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at RISI

    Pros

    I enjoy independence and flexibility in my work area; feel I'm valued and respected by the company. We do appreciate the big-picture perspective provided regularly by the last two CEOs. A great place to work, all things considered.

    Cons

    Sometimes, the autonomy (we appreciate) leaves us disconnected from others in the company: We seldom bring together Indices and EA staff. Too much silo-effect. And we are insufficiently connected with our department managers. Example: we may not hear if our specific products are underperforming - or outperforming. More importantly, we lack clear leadership in some areas. Wish we had a 'champion' to grow our products...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Content is king - yet we are under-staffed in some areas. Let's provide staff resources (and leadership) to make this a reality.

    RISI2015-03-06
Found 37 reviews