RTI International Reviews

Updated May 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
90%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
RTI International President & CEO E. Wayne Holden
E. Wayne Holden
332 Ratings
Pros
  • "The priority is that we have a sustainable work/life balance(in 87 reviews)

  • "RTI tries incredibly hard to be a diverse and employee centric work environment(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Surprisingly focused on growth, competition and the bottom line for a non-profit(in 26 reviews)

  • "The push for work/life balance is in full effect here but very difficult to achieve in the IT roles(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of RTI International and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      Great Place to Work

      Oct 9, 2020 - Senior Researcher in Research Triangle Park, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work, very supportive culture, excellent training and professional development opportunities, many career growth opportunities, meaningful mission, excellent benefits.

      Cons

      There are not really any downsides to working at RTI. It's not always perfect but the culture is one that is continually improving.

      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      May 17, 2021 - Public Health Analyst in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, good management

      Cons

      No ideal location, satellite offices limited

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Extremely Stressful and Micromanaged

      May 11, 2021 - Anonymous Past Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Upper management is open to new ideas and suggestions.

      Cons

      -timesheet (you charge to the minute basically) I’ve had to fill out time sheets for almost every job I’ve worked at and this is by far the worst system -extreme focus on funding and staying within a certain number of hours for projects which can lead to less quality of work -people don’t really care if you are happy with the work you are doing; they care more about if you have enough work and are super overworked like everyone else is -the organization loves to say they offer many employee groups and wellness information sessions but then do not allow you to charge time for it (they promote work life balance but when it comes down to it, it’s not supported)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Health Solutions is a great place to work!

      May 3, 2021 - Associate Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very collaborative and flexible environment. Extremely supportive and aware regarding work-life challenges during the pandemic.

      Cons

      Health benefits could be more comprehensive, but many other benefits offset this (e.g. paid family leave, flexibility)

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great benefits and smart people

      May 6, 2021 - Senior Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredible individuals, smart and dedicated

      Cons

      Lack of collaboration and lots of reinventing the wheels

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great coworkers

      May 5, 2021 - Welder 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Money co-workers easy work. Laid back

      Cons

      7 days a week rotating shifts

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      No trajectory for starting positions

      May 12, 2021 - Public health analyst II in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meaningful work, smart colleagues, and good work life balance.

      Cons

      The starting position trajectory is slow and bureaucratically rigid. No matter how you perform you will be promoted with the same salary increases at the same dragging timelines as everyone else.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great opportunities to get hands on applied research experience

      Apr 23, 2021 - Junior Economist in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work, good colleagues, opportunity for advancement

      Cons

      Groups can be siloed, occasional unrealistic deadlines

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      ok

      May 12, 2021 - Research Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They were nice to me which was nice

      Cons

      the job was pretty difficult and hard

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Women and Long-Term Employees deserve the same pay as Men and more than New Hires

      Dec 30, 2020 - Financial Analyst in Research Triangle Park, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well established company, good outlook, cared about our health during Covid-19. Company size allows you to meet people from all backgrounds and has allowed me to make several friends.

      Cons

      *Only applies if you are an existing employee, a woman and care to be treated the same as men and want more loyalty than what is given to new hires" After multiple years of completing all projects on time, and training people in a higher position than me I ask to be promoted. Nearly 3/4 a year later I was given a title change to keep me quiet with only 4% more money and much more work. All of the new hires and men in my position are paid 5-10% more than me. I love RTI and they feel like family to me but this is why it hurts even more because I wanted to make a lifelong career at RTI. The favoritism towards men and new hires has been something bothering me and several of my coworkers for years.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      RTI International Response

      Manager Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you have been able to build a diverse professional network at RTI. We also hear your concerns around compensation. In order to retain the critical talent and attract the new talent to RTI, it's imperative that our compensation program offers a competitive compensation package to employees at all levels. Our compensation package is intended to be externally competitive, internally equitable, designed to attract and retain critical talent, provide meaningful rewards and recognition, and reward individual performance. Our compensation team works with leadership regularly to provide internal and external compensation reviews, ensuring pay equity for all, regardless of their gender, race, religion, national origin, age or physical/mental abilities. We provide all direct supervisors and managers with training and resources to help them navigate conversations with their direct reports around our compensation review process. We encourage you to continue to have conversations with your direct supervisor or manager, and also recommend that you reach out to your Human Resources Business Partner. We understand the importance of every employee being fairly compensated for their contributions at RTI and we will continue to evolve our compensation package to reflect that.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 696 Reviews

    Popular Careers with RTI International Job Seekers

    Public Health Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Research Public Health Analyst II
    Learn About the Job
    Research Public Health Analyst
    Learn About the Job

    Work at RTI International? Share Your Experiences

    or