Rackspace Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Rackspace CEO Kevin Jones
Kevin Jones
123 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Culture from the Rackers(in 141 reviews)

  • "Great culture, amazing head quarters(in 131 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some challenges with silos, but most Rackers genuinely want to help each other(in 122 reviews)

  • "Middle management is afraid of senior leadership because of the high risk of being fired(in 71 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (9)

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team! Solution Architecture leadership genuinely care about individuals and developing their careers and providing career development opportunities. Pay and benefits are good. Campus, canteen, parking and facilities are of a high standard, which more than makes up for the location. Free breakfast and ad-hoc free lunches. Racker culture!

    Cons

    Quality of leadership varies across the organisation. Some challenges with silos, but most Rackers genuinely want to help each other. No different in these respects to any large organisation.

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2019-09-05
  2. "Great place to work..."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People, drive to serve customers and have fun doing it...

    Cons

    Concerns with acquisition and long-term strategy. Seems to be moving in the right direction.

    Rackspace2020-01-27
  3. "life as a racker"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Customer Support 

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time

    Pros

    good place to work for entry level

    Cons

    interview process was very long

    Rackspace2020-05-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging, Fast Paced & Rewarding"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leader in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great people, teams and leaders - Change and continuous improvement are constant - Meaningful work - Focused on customers and results - Core Values are real - Communications to leaders has improved greatly in 2020 - Impactful decisions during crises

    Cons

    - the pace can be challenging over the long haul - need attention to diversity - US 401k is below market

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2020-05-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Love my job and company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rackspace offers so much to its employees, and although they are constantly going through changes, I never feel forgotten. They are extremely flexible and accommodating, constantly ask for feedback, and try and include our opinions in their decisions. The amenities at our office are great. The gym, free workout classes, massages, meditation rooms, and resource groups (plus others I can't think of) really pay off and show that they care about their employees physical and mental health.

    Cons

    With those constant changes can come some confusion. Our strategies and goals have shifted many times, but I don't see this is as completely out of the ordinary. With Rackspace trying to go public, we expected alot of these major changes to occur. If you are looking into Rackspace, keep an open mind. I am fortunate to have a good manager who cares and listens.

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2020-05-07
  6. "Great Environment & People, but revolving door."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Culture, Great Salaries, Flexible, talented colleagues

    Cons

    Lack of training, corporate organization, & structure. People constantly leaving roles that go unfilled for months, making it hard to do your job since you are reliant on other departments.

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2020-05-22
  7. "No place I'd rather be!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Committed leadership, exciting projects to support, extremely talented coworkers, fun and engaging activities to suit your interests

    Cons

    Moving very quickly to keep up with customer demand as well as our own evolution in the industry. Can be daunting but wouldn't trade it.

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2020-05-06
  8. "Fun place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of good people, fun work environment, good benefits

    Cons

    Disorganized at the top at times, too much focus on metrics and process vs. solving problems

    Rackspace2020-05-07
  9. "An Amazing Company with an Amazing Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director, Public Sector in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best TEAM culture that I have been part of. EVERYONE is rowing in the same direction and wants to help. Amazing product surrounded by FANATICAL support for our customers. We have AMAZING customers!!

    Cons

    None yet. I am 4 months in and love it!

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2020-05-04
  10. "Great Experience & Performance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Capability Owner in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership, Energy, Performance, Culture, Communications

    Cons

    Fast pace (also good!), Compensation (improving!)

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2020-05-04
Found 1693 reviews