Rackspace Reviews | Glassdoor

Rackspace Reviews

Updated August 13, 2018
1,327 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Joe Eazor
68 Ratings

1,327 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great Work Environment, substantial remote workforce, excellent work/life balance" (in 85 reviews)

  • "Great culture and the employees are amazing" (in 113 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of work life balance for those in 24/7 roles" (in 33 reviews)

  • "Incompetent middle-management pits employeees against one another as opposed to fixing problems" (in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Grow & Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linux Administrator II in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Linux Administrator II in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity for growth; Ample free training; Great personnel in the support department; Best front line supervisor I've ever had, including the military

    Cons

    Frequent reorganizations; Many changes since Apollo acquisition; Not all career paths open to remote workers

    Advice to Management

    Be more remote inclusive in all tracks. Be transparent in company direction. Take input from front line workers.

    Rackspace Response

    Jul 2, 2018 – Global Talent Brand Manager

    First, thank you for your service to our country! Rackspace is committed to developing all levels of talent and we are delighted that you are receiving growth opportunities from formal trainings and... More


  2. Helpful (14)

    "Great, but C-Level is not engaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Account Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Technical Account Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Learning opportunities
    Challenged at all times
    Frontline Rackers are like family
    People truly care, especially our VP of support, genuine, authentic leader

    Cons

    Substance over flash is no longer a thing - Flash without substance is rewarded
    We have too much leadership and not enough technical rackers to help our customers.

    Too many C-Level, C-Level rarely visits frontline.

    Huge disconnect from C-Level to frontline support

    C-Level is not hungry, they’ve made their millions, not engaged or motivating.
    C-Level has zero empathy or solutions to the challenges frontline Rackers face each day.
    C-Level does not address questions when recently asked, “Why so many leaders and not enough engineers to support our customers?” This was asked in a recent town hall, it was not addressed as it was found insulting to the leaders.

    Leaders in frontline support are often self serving and not truly interested in the success or happiness of their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage substance over flash
    Keep Justin Brady as the VP of support and model all other leaders after him.
    Require account managers to be technical as well as leaders. Most leaders are not technical and offer no help when there are issues as they only understand excel and KPI reports. This leaves us to fend for ourselves and hope for the best.
    Stop lowering the bar on who we hire. We used to have high standards, now we hire incompetent leaders regularly and account managers who are not effective for our customers.
    Require consistency across the segments - Example, some segments are allowed to WFH, some are not. Yet, roles are the same. We have hundreds of remote Rackers, so the theory behind the limitations remains a mystery and is never explained by leadership.

    Encourage a work life balance. Encourage leaders to encourage employees a work life balance. We burn out quickly on the frontline.

    Ask yourselves with the amount of leadership in place why we continue to face the same issues and challenges we have for over 5 years. How many leaders does it take to change a lightbulb? Too many at Rackspace. Take the money we pay these leaders we truly don’t need and hire NetSec, Storage, Virt engineers. Our customers would be happy, our NPS scores would rise (customers will recommend us) We will grow faster and have happy customers and happy Rackers.

  3. "Enterprise Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enterprise Account Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Enterprise Account Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I loved my team, culture was better than most companies

    Cons

    Pay was low for Account Managers

    Rackspace Response

    Aug 13, 2018 – Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your service to our customers!!


  4. "Racker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Very employee friendly, great atmosphere.

    Cons

    Doing things the Rackspace way can be counterproductive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep taking care of your employees.

    Rackspace Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks, Racker!


  5. "Individual Contributer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Individual Contributor in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Individual Contributor in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Bite off as much as you can chew
    Great people
    Unlimited opportunity for innovation

    Cons

    Little or no reward for your effort besides keeping your job

    Advice to Management

    Incentivize properly
    Clean house of wasted middle management
    Assess people differently; make sure than are actually contributing

    Rackspace Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for sharing with us.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "A good start!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Center Technician in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Former Employee - Data Center Technician in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Stepping stone to something great. Tons to learn and plenty of tools to do your job. Working here for 1-2 years feels like attending a school but instead i learned more. If you stay ambitious and willing to learn more, they won't stop you. Great company culture! Lots of folks willing to geek out with you and you don't feel so bad talking about the latest dr. who or something similar.

    Cons

    If you're the hardest worker in the room, you don't really get rewarded. Furthermore, its disheartening to find the ones that do less get promoted due to "friendly circles".

    Advice to Management

    Don't be biased, see the talent as it is rather than judging it!

    Rackspace Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Global Talent Brand Manager

    We consistently grow our Rackers through frequent feedback and performance conversations as driven by role expectations and business outcomes. We're thrilled to know how much you learned during your... More


  7. "Seams like a stepping stone kind of company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linux Systems Administrator in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Linux Systems Administrator in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great Learning opportunities
    Many of the skills you aquire are outside job description which will make you more marketable
    Awesome people to work with

    Cons

    Horrible Leadership
    Nonexistent standardization
    Little investment in support tools
    Core systems are a joke
    Compensation is a bit lacking

    Advice to Management

    Invest more time and money automating how the company actually makes money and less time automating micromanagement of the few good employees you have left.

    Rackspace Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Employee Experience Analyst

    Hi Racker - We care about your experience and your work that impacts our customers. As part of our Always Listening strategy, we encourage you to share some of your concerns & ideas in the next... More

  8. Helpful (8)

    "Transformed into just another beauractic corporation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Free credit on their public cloud
    -Many people are pretty awesome

    Cons

    -Too much middle management
    -No clear direction
    -always reactive/fire fighting mode
    -No innovation
    -No investment in serious software engineering
    -Everyone is overwhelmed
    -Managers promoted due to attrition and not because they are good at it
    -The buyout has completely changed the company culture and an entire tier of employees

    Advice to Management

    -Trust the professionals that you hired
    -Quit changing direction so often
    -Invest in your employees again
    -Quit burning everyone out
    -Reduce the amount of middle management

    Rackspace Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We'd welcome the chance to learn more about your experience and how we can improve, burnout is not acceptable. We encourage you to share your... More


  9. "Good Company but more suitable for oracle db/erp people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX

    I worked at Rackspace full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work form home
    Good Package and Increments

    Cons

    Can not mess up with management

    Rackspace Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks, Racker! We work hard to provide great benefits across the globe!


  10. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, good people

    Cons

    Uneasiness of whats to come however it is exciting

    Rackspace Response

    Jul 2, 2018 – Employee Experience Analyst

    Thank you for your feedback!


Showing 1,327 of 1,377 reviews
Reset Filters