Radian Group "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Radian Group Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated May 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Radian Group CEO Richard Thornberry
Richard Thornberry
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, great location(s), lots of opportunities in the IT / technology organization(in 11 reviews)

  • "Fair pay, and good work/life balance(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "The new senior management is cutting staff in the short-term, but it won’t be prepared when the volume increases again(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Radian Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home, good management support (Team Lead’s always available and extremely knowledgeable). Fair pay, and good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Too many layoffs (4 groups of people in an 18 month period). After each layoff, the workload increased for those remaining, minimum quotas were raised to impossible levels, while trying to maintain good quality reviews (nearly impossible to do both). The new senior management is cutting staff in the short-term, but it won’t be prepared when the volume increases again. Could be a critical mistake for the company’s future.

    Advice to Management

    Play the long-game if you want to be a number one player in the industry. The previous CEO did this and the company was stronger because of it.

    Radian Group2019-03-10
  2. "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Radian Group full-time

      Pros

      Great work/life balance Excellent employee benefits Collaborative team environment

      Cons

      None available at this time

      Radian Group2018-11-12
    • "Growing company, Great culture!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Radian Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Work/Life Balance New brand changes Collaborative team environment Mentor program has been a great benefit Great employee benefits

      Cons

      None at this time

      Radian Group2018-10-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "[IT] Fine pay and benefits, but terrible management and work execution"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Developer in Philadelphia, PA
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Radian Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It pays well enough, has a great 401k match and very solid benefits. The company is doing well. The CEO seems to be making good business moves. Work/life balance is good, with a generous vacation allotment, some work-from-home options, and general lack of fuss about hours.

      Cons

      The technology groups are very poorly managed. There's layer upon layer of management and so-called "agile" functionality, but everything is run on systems implemented by random consultants years ago by rote, and much of it doesn't make sense. As a developer, expect to spend the first 4-7 days of every sprint figuring out what your incoherent or blank stories mean and whether they are even ready to be implemented....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Quit managing by "cargo cult" and buzzwords. Flatten the hierarchy, make meetings smaller, and insist that stories and features be well-defined before development work can begin.

      Radian Group2018-10-04
    • "Mortgage Underwriting"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Radian Group full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Work/Life balance, team support, company culture, consistency, training

      Cons

      Lack of employee interaction and social engagement

      Advice to Management

      More team interactions or social engagements

      Radian Group2017-05-19
    • Helpful (3)

      "Information Technology Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Process and Online Information Analyst in Phila, PA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Radian Group full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Was a great place to work for many years. Good benefits, salary, work life balance was good for most of the time I was there.

      Cons

      The worst manager I've ever had made me want to get out. IT lost a few talented people because of the same bad manager. I hear from current employees he's still there and more talented people have left. I'm glad I'm out.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to employees when they tell you what's going on instead of taking care of the golf club buddies.

      Radian Group2016-10-28
    • "Amazing company with great leadership!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Claims Analyst in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Radian Group full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Radian is extremely focus on work-life balance. They provided an excellent office culture which encourage up-ward mobility.

      Cons

      Actually this was a really great company all the way around. No complaints from me!

      Advice to Management

      Help employees to understand where they fit in to the overall picture and scope of the company. This helps each employee to really feel apart of the growth of the company

      Radian Group2014-06-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "I liked my coworkers and management. The culture is positive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior QA Auditor in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Radian Group full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The people are great and it really does feel like a family unit for the most part. This appears to be a company where they encourage professional growth. Management is very understanding to work-life balance.

      Cons

      I do not have anything negative to say about the company. I am very happy that I was given the oppurtunity to hone my skills here and to grow.

      Advice to Management

      Set realistic goals

      Radian Group2013-08-29
    Found 74 reviews