Radio Flyer Reviews | Glassdoor

Radio Flyer Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Radio Flyer Chief Wagon Officer Robert Pasin
Robert Pasin
96 Ratings
  1. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Radio Flyer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Radio Flyer has great people, amazing culture, great benefits, the office space is open concept and beautiful. I love working here and being part of something great. We have multiple committees, that invite us to give back to the community and they host wagon u classes to help us grow as professionals and individuals. We work as a unit, the collaboration between department is great.

    Cons

    The location is a little tricky from commuting in from the suburbs.

    Radio Flyer2020-03-24
  2. "Awesome Team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Radio Flyer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best thing about working at Radio Flyer is the people and the culture! The second you walk into the building you get all sorts of great vibes. Everyone that's here WANTS to be here. There's a great creative energy coming from everyone. People are happy, and genuinely interested in you as a person and a colleague. People are kind, helpful, and accepting of EVERYONE. We all work extremely hard, but we also play hard (it's difficult not to when you have cool products all around you). We have a great senior management team who lead us through the easy and challenging times. There's trust going both ways along with lots of open communication and transparency. Great job Flyers!

    Cons

    There is a lot of work to be done, especially during peak season. Sometimes it can get overwhelming and you're for sure going to put in some long hours. You can usually plan ahead in your role and with your team so that the workload is evenly spread, however, sometimes you're pulled into last minute ad hoc projects/event planning that are outside of your norm and you can't really say no. It's tough, but it gets done. On the bright side, we have flex summer hours which balances out all of the extra hard work we put in.

    Continue reading
    Radio Flyer2020-03-22

    Radio Flyer Response

    March 27, 2020Chief Wagon Officer

    Really appreciate your review and we will continue to communicate openly. I'm happy to know you feel that our culture creates a positive environment for Flyers to come to the office each day for work. As with any business, there are peaks and valleys in workload based on the time of year and department. We encourage Flyers to keep a running dialogue with their managers to ensure a positive work-life balance. Thanks, Robert

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Culture, Great Products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Radio Flyer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The office space has an open, collaborative floor plan with plenty of natural light. The CEO and senior leaders show transparency in their communication and updates. Monthly company meetings bring employees together and keep everyone on track to aim toward common goals. The culture embraces creativity regarding product brainstorming and development.

    Cons

    The company keeps teams pretty lean, so workload can get heavy. The company is small, so there are some limitations with promotions.

    Radio Flyer2020-03-20

    Radio Flyer Response

    March 27, 2020Chief Wagon Officer

    Appreciate your feedback! I'm thrilled that 30% of our Chicago team was promoted last year and was we continue to achieve more success and growth there will continue to be more opportunities for all. Thanks, Robert

    Continue reading
  4. "A Great Place to Work for Passionate Self-Motivators"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Radio Flyer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Radio Flyer is a great place to work for self-motivated people looking to grow their careers. The company fully invests in the employees (Flyers) growth and well-being. Flyers are given the resources to choose their path here and are expected to consistently exceed the bar set before them. Everyone has an equal voice regardless of their position. Our world-class work-space helps foster creativity and collaboration. There are countless ways in which Flyers are encouraged to socialize outside of daily work. From on-site events, social hours, holiday celebrations, or simply eating lunch with people from other departments, there is no shortage of a sense of community here. The best part of working here is that we get to play as much as we work. Would you expect anything less from an outstanding kids’ toy company? You could say our culture here is pretty phenomenal!

    Cons

    There really aren't many cons to working here but there are two that come to mind. First, while there are great opportunities to develop your career, this does not look the same for all departments. For some departments, it takes longer to work your way up or there might not even be much room for upwards mobility. Second, while you are not required to work overtime, it is an unspoken expectation. There is never a shortage of weeks I have worked well over 40hrs. Of course there are times when this is crucial to a project, but I often have a lack of time or energy for my personal endeavors.

    Continue reading
    Radio Flyer2020-03-20
  5. "Great People! Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Radio Flyer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Radio Flyer is truly unique. There is an all in mentality and work ethic here that I never experienced at my past employers. We work as a unit - the collaboration between Flyers across departments to accomplish our goals is a testament to how dedicated each of us is. I think having a Management Team that is open and transparent with us about the business helps. We are given the tools we need to do our jobs. We have an amazing open work space with sit/stand desks. Radio Flyer provides us with generous health and wellness benefits, onsite training , vacation time, volunteer days (these are just some of the many benefits).

    Cons

    It hasn't been an issue for me but I have heard that we are far for those who live downtown and take public transportation.

    Continue reading
    Radio Flyer2020-03-19
  6. "Best Job I've Ever Had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Radio Flyer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Radio Flyer is a unique place to work as it is a small, family-owned company that has the resources and global presence of a large business. Flyers are provided with tools and training opportunities to develop their career. I've always felt secure in my role, and confident that I can grow here.

    Cons

    The office is tough to access via public transportation, which may be a draw to people living downtown without a car. There are a couple of CTA bus routes right out front, but if you don't live near either route the commute can be rough.

    Continue reading
    Radio Flyer2020-03-19
  7. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Radio Flyer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am very fortunate to work for a company as great as Radio Flyer. Some of the best things about Radio Flyer are the leadership, positive culture, transparency, and benefits. Our CWO, Robert Pasin, has lead this company to great successes and built a well-respected Senior Management team. Flyers, as employees are called, are kept informed of everything the business is doing. We recently just heard that we are modifying our benefits package to extend sick time and parental leave, which was VERY generous and well-received by all. Radio Flyer also offers professional development courses in our WagonU program. Why want to work anywhere else??

    Cons

    Since we are such a small company, I wear many hats and can get pulled in different directions, making prioritization difficult at times.

    Continue reading
    Radio Flyer2020-03-19
  8. "Collaborative, reliable team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Radio Flyer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The leadership is transparent and stable. The senior management team is made up of leaders with a long history at Radio Flyer. The senior management team leads with a long term version and keeps a consistent strategy. They are willing to keep focus on the company's long term future, to weather out a storm. They place a strong emphasis on the importance of our vision, mission and values, and they also demonstrate the values in their day to day work. Radio Flyer has a culture of collaboration. There is a focus on building camaraderie among co-workers, including across different departments, through team building games, company lunches, on-site social events, etc. Radio Flyer invests in building casual relationships among all of it's employees, knowing that it leads to higher quality, collaborative results. Departments work better together as a result. The culture of Radio Flyer encourages innovation and small, incremental improvements. Mistakes are shared openly and there is a high level of trust, where mistakes can be shared, fixed and used as learning opportunities. All employees are expected to work hard and smart. Every employee is valued and valuable. There are defined processes in place to ensure a consistent approach to many aspects of the business, such as hiring, the performance review process and the goals setting process.

    Cons

    Radio Flyer places a strong emphasis on hiring the right person for each job. This is great, because everyone that joins as a Flyer is committed and an asset to his/her team. But, this also means that teams can be stretched thin when job openings stay open for a long period. Some job openings are never filled and the roles are eventually eliminated; the job responsibilities typically end up being absorbed into other roles. While this pushes teams to learn and develop new skillsets, it is adding more work to already stretched teams, without taking away other responsibilities.

    Continue reading
    Radio Flyer2020-03-19

    Radio Flyer Response

    March 27, 2020Chief Wagon Officer

    Thank you for your review! The Senior Management Team works together to ensure that our Vision Mission & Values are the foundation of everything we do -- our team, our culture, our strategy. Within every level of the company, we value mistakes as learning opportunities and actually encourage them. Thank you for taking these risks in your role and reporting out on successes, failures and most importantly, the learnings. We appreciate your feedback and will keep this in mind as we look to fill new roles. Thanks, Robert

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company with Few Flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Radio Flyer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, amazing culture, beautiful office, great salary and benefits.

    Cons

    I mean it when I say there are very few flaws, but the biggest and most concerning is that aside from warehouse temps, the employee demographic is very, almost overwhelmingly, white. Especially considering the neighborhood where the chicago office is located. The one or two non-white Flyers who are on the non warehouse side are pictured on the website's career page, which is misleading.

    Continue reading
    Radio Flyer2020-02-02

    Radio Flyer Response

    February 10, 2020Senior Human Resources Representative

    Thank you for your review and feedback! We share your view and value diversity. Radio Flyer appreciates people from different backgrounds, experiences, and perspectives. Currently, 25% of our Flyers identify as diverse, and 55% are female. We strive to attract a diverse workforce by being a great place to work for all.

    Continue reading
  10. "After 16 years I still look forward to coming to work and continuing learn and grow professionally & personally."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant to the Chief Executive Officer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Radio Flyer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Senior Management Team, open work environment, generous benefits, and an overall wonderful place to work!

    Cons

    No cons from my point of view.

    Continue reading
    Radio Flyer2019-09-23
Found 102 reviews