RadioShack Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

RadioShack Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 152 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Dean Rogers
13 Ratings
  1. "Miss this place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MIT/Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co workers, decent insurance.

    Cons

    Base pay could have been better. Still not to bad.

    Advice to Management

    Resurrect this place! We miss it!

    RadioShack2019-07-06
  2. "Couldn't go out of business fast enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Silver Spring, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    customers would be genuinely happy to see you were still open for the deep discounts on clearance blow outs

    Cons

    erratic schedule as company sold off assets, killed a business.

    RadioShack2019-06-17
  3. "Everything is pretty unstable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Employee Discount -Employee phone plans -Flexible schedules

    Cons

    -Company plans change way too often (General desired approach to customers, sale focus, store design changed often, etc) -Minimum pay plus some commission (very low). -Everything was very unstable through my experience, with 3 different District Managers, and 4 different Store Managers in only 3 years of working there.

    RadioShack2019-02-08
  4. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Trenton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment. Potential to advance...

    Cons

    Commission on sales steady lowering. Stringent sales goals

    RadioShack2018-07-09
  5. "Great company for college students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Greensburg, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay depending on performance, flexible schedule, realistic goals, good benefits

    Cons

    It's retail, so there's always going to be customers that give you a hard time

    RadioShack2018-05-28
  6. "Assistant store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RadioShack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Over all its a good company

    Cons

    They dont follow the technalogy

    Advice to Management

    Put apple products in your stors

    RadioShack2018-02-22
  7. "Myself and another employee ran the store for 6 months by ourselves"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Antioch, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great employees and having fun solving problems.

    Cons

    Upper management only cared about numbers and not people

    Advice to Management

    None .... Went out of business

    RadioShack2017-11-20
  8. "Fun and creative everyday"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Lebanon, MO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RadioShack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Retail, Tech, Great hours, Something new everyday, Lunch breaks, No night shift, Friendly coworkers willing to help, Impressive new show rooms

    Cons

    Lifting, Inconsistent pricing, Hot building, Mandatory uniform, Lots of down time some days, Typical retail problems like dealing with angry customers

    Advice to Management

    Better flow with POS, Allow managers to handle inventory and customers properly.

    RadioShack2017-10-25
  9. "Assistant Manager Manaver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My store was great No drama Pretty easy Learned how to sell

    Cons

    Upper management Being pushed to as things that were terrible

    RadioShack2017-10-06
  10. "Used to be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Retail Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RadioShack full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's an income and the fellow employees are good people, at least from the District Manager on down.

    Cons

    The salary & commission rate, the expensive medical benefits that you have to have by law, the metrics required or you're fired attitude, the visits from loss prevention.

    Advice to Management

    From the Regional Managers up, get your heads out of your collective butts and realize the those of us in the trenches need a living wage, that the expensive benefits are dropping our wage before taxes by as much as 40% and threatening us with our jobs to increase performance metrics only garners depressed & rebellious employees, as well as customers who don't return because of the constant and repeated pressure to part...

    Show More
    RadioShack2017-08-20
Found 152 reviews