RadioShack Retail Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

RadioShack Retail Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

1.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
1%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Dean Rogers
5 Ratings
  1. "Sharktank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hands on access to a lot of new technology, including cell phones, phones, phone accessories, radio controlled devices, electronics, batteries and supporting materials.

    Cons

    I worked as part time, seasonal employee, on full commission, at a location that was scheduled to close after all of the currently promoted and sellable merchandise had already been transferred. I was then transferred to another location that was overstaffed with commission only associates.

    Advice to Management

    It doe not matter now as the company has been closed for a while. It was always the largest. It was never the best.

    RadioShack2016-07-12
  2. "Management and Employee Treatment Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Suwanee, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small team size. The customers

    Cons

    Regularly changing pay structure. Commision wasn't realistic for where each store was located. Heavy push from corporate management to pressure customers into wireless sales. General push to sale too hard to customers instead of beaing allowed to help them with what they needed.

    Advice to Management

    Great your employees and customers with more respect.

    RadioShack2016-03-03
  3. "Retail Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees are great and helpful people.

    Cons

    Employees and managers are good people in a bad situation! No one is compensated properly. Things are constantly changing and it doesn't seem like the company knows what it wants to be.

    RadioShack2016-02-24
  4. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at RadioShack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They're flexible scheduling if you've worked there a while

    Cons

    The store managers are very rude

    RadioShack2016-02-20
  5. "Dishonest upper management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Santee, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack

    Pros

    -commission: cam be a good thing. Little extra cash for extra work? Awesome. -in store managers are typically cool people who have also been SA at some point. -interesting and sometimes spectacular customers.

    Cons

    -base pay is minimum wage. Difficult to keep good technical help when you pay them essentially a pittance. -commissions aren't just extra. There are INTENSE sales goals, and not meeting them consistently will land you in trouble. Difficult to sell smart phones in certain markets, I.E. areas where most citizens are aged 55+, and yet they still expect you to do it. -upper management is INCREDIBLY out of touch with their...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop planograms. They are evil. Also, try maybe not encouraging SAs to be dishonest in order to make sales? That's why I left.

    RadioShack2015-09-11
  6. "Decent job for college students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Kannapolis, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, active work environment with a very positive atmosphere, great schedule flexibility for college students or multiple jobs.

    Cons

    Wouldn't recommend for full time position, doesn't pay very much, days can be long and slow or really busy.

    RadioShack2015-09-01
  7. "Great starting sales job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    semi-professional technology environment you learn the basics of retail selling you get the chance to work on some cool projects in order to help customers room for growth due to management turn over

    Cons

    Not payed nearly enough considering what corporate phone store employees make, and you are doing the same job. The turnover rate of employees can be daunting. Some processes in store could be simplified but their organization is a little out of date due to CEO turn over rate. High rate of employee theft

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees the same way other big box technology companies do. and 2% commission is too low period. in other words I can sell 250,000 worth or products and services and only get $6,000 in a year, thats a joke even compared to a used car salesman.

    RadioShack2015-08-28
  8. "Horrible upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My store manager was AWESOME. Really enjoyed the customer base. I learned ALOT about technology as a whole....not from Radioshack....but from the customers lol

    Cons

    Pay. They try to dress it up with a 2% commission ....yes.....2%...on top of minimum wage. There was no stability in hours. I was a TOP seller and even I never knew, until the schedule went out, if I would be getting 60 hours or 11 hours in a pay period.

    Advice to Management

    PAY the "front line" employees what they are worth....the people running the stores themselves. Put forth some type of NOTICEABLE financial effort... that measures up to TODAYS STANDARDS.

    RadioShack2015-07-28
  9. "Good Starter Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Training Competitive Lots of international customers

    Cons

    Main focus is phone sales Training can easily be skipped through Managers actively undersale you for bonuses

    Advice to Management

    None.

    RadioShack2015-06-05
  10. "Decent College Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in State College, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment with mostly knowledgeable staff. Long but straight forward training process. Usually friendly customers looking for staff to assist them with different tech products.

    Cons

    The store seemed to focus a lot on selling cellphones instead of other specialty products. It was a low paying job and the commission based income was mostly based on selling cellphones as most other individual products were inexpensive. The store also tried to really push their replacement plan on most of the products they sold.

    Advice to Management

    Take some of the focus off of cellphones. The majority of your businesses customers are looking for specialty electronic parts they used to be able to find at radio shack in the past. Most people I spoke with were surprised to hear that Radio Shack even sold cellphones

    RadioShack2015-05-13
Found 23 reviews