RadioShack Retail Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

RadioShack Retail Store Manager Reviews

Updated May 23, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

1.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
12%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Dean Rogers
2 Ratings
  1. "Mehhhhh, it was fun with the right people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in Charleston, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack

    Pros

    was nice while it lasted

    Cons

    work / life balance was not good

    RadioShack2016-12-08
  2. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack

    Pros

    I you fulfill all operational and performance expectations mgmt leaves you alone to run your own store.

    Cons

    Executive Leadership has completely lost touch with the industry, the customer base and how to motivate the field organization. Zero marketing budget resulted in Zero traffic push.

    Advice to Management

    You have not earned any bankruptcy bonuses. Shut the doors and leave retail.

    RadioShack2017-05-23
  3. "Once Upon a Time... it was great, then it wasn't..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    working with the latest and greatest products. best part of the job was meeting all of a customer's needs.

    Cons

    poor communication between management and upper management. hard to advance in any position. no understanding of the sales process in stores from those in exec positions creating a lot of conflict when it comes to goals and requirements.

    Advice to Management

    ask your assocs for their input on things -- even more than management, these folks are the ones that will make or break it for those in management. without them, you can't meet your goals. not sure if the hourly pay is any better than it was or what kind of commission structure is in place, but sales incentives go a LONG way when it comes to meeting and exceeding sales goals. friendly competitiveness is key. no one wanted...

    Show More
    RadioShack2017-02-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Asst. Retail Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Retail Store Manager in Pompano Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At one time, WAS a good place to work

    Cons

    Filed for bankruptcy due to inability to change back to the late 90's when the company was making money.

    Advice to Management

    DON'T GET ME STARTED....Suffice to say that if I had know then, what I know now...I WOULD NEVER HAVE ACCEPT THE POSITION.

    RadioShack2017-02-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Radio Shack Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at RadioShack

    Pros

    Decent sales experience for those new to retail. If this is your first job out of high school or college you will get a good view into the culture of retail sales and commission. Good if you are only planning part time employment, I would not advise this for a full time position trying to support yourself.

    Cons

    Fraud. Training. Planograms. I took over a store from someone fired for fraud, lost several employees from an internal audit. I hadn't even finished the standard training for sales associates and didn't know the company's internal software well enough to manage my other employees. Several managers within the area either committed fraud themselves, stole money, or ignored unethical behavior of their staff.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time vetting during the hiring process and listen to the feedback of store managers. Don't rearrange the entire store every week.

    RadioShack2016-12-20
  6. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in Brownsville, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack

    Pros

    Good environment fun working with new tech and cell phones

    Cons

    Awful salary, worse benefits, ceo and upper management really don't care about the quality of life for their associates or store management team

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees what they are worth

    RadioShack2015-11-13
  7. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in Weston, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time

    Pros

    changing work environment and customer interaction

    Cons

    micro management, long hours for salary work and hard to balance home and work

    Advice to Management

    let stores server customers in there area the way needed and supply better products for customer at better pricing

    RadioShack2015-10-01
  8. "Glad to be gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in Shawnee, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quick advancement, entry level sales experience, plenty of down time to catch up on homework, easy to meet sales goals for failing stores.

    Cons

    Pay changes: 3 times in one year. Overtime is mandatory for managers, due to lack of budget to staff properly. Training required three weeks for material, but was condensed into three days often.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more and consistantly

    RadioShack2015-07-31
  9. "To much Stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    product knowledge, you learn a lot about different products, as well as components as long as you take the training seriously

    Cons

    under paid for the amount of work and stress you have to deal with from a management stand point.

    RadioShack2015-05-27
  10. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RadioShack full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meet great people, opportunity to control store.

    Cons

    District managers are not the best fit and are frequently replaced. Each DM has different ideas so its too many changes, that deviate from company standards and policies.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better management(DM, RSD) let managers run stores, follow 1 company policy to many bosses.

    RadioShack2015-04-11
Found 46 reviews