RadioShack "cell phone" Reviews | Glassdoor

RadioShack Employee Reviews about "cell phone"

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2901 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
Dean Rogers
239 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "not to mention just like most retail jobs upper management expected the world from you, with little appraisal or recognition(in 269 reviews)

  • "To much pressure to sell cell phones even on days when we had blizzards as that was no excuse(in 162 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "cell phone"

Return to all Reviews
  1. ""Sad ending. I worked there 5 years.""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Paterson, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RadioShack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You made good money when a new cell phone came out

    Cons

    "Upper management not forthcoming with company health"

    Advice to Management

    It's too late now (November, 2017).

    RadioShack2017-11-21
  2. "What an experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Grants Pass, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    When I worked at RS with my amazing Manager Brandon it was always fun and great people, loved selling cell phones and learning all about what it takes to be the best sales person.

    Cons

    Management needed improvements when new manager would come in, there would be a huge change and shift with employees and how we were treated. Only an appropriate with employees.

    Advice to Management

    When an employee calls HR or other Management with a problem with a manager such as sexual harassment, or other issues I feel that it should be addressed immediately and appropriately.

    RadioShack2017-09-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate Slavery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack

    Pros

    Customer service experience, used to have great cell phone plans

    Cons

    Horrific pay, ridiculously low commission, greedy/overbearing bosses, inept corporate office

    Advice to Management

    Change everything

    RadioShack2017-03-09
  4. "Started My Sales Career With RadioShack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Hobart, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Knowledge of the latest cell phone technology. Good pay, ok benefits. Flexible scheduling. Fun atmosphere. Small stores and light staff so you build relationships with customers in a one-on-one setting.

    Cons

    Large corporation with way too many levels of management, as a result, information travels very slowly through the chain of command. Procedures and policies were constantly changing.

    RadioShack2017-01-19
  5. "Good place to work while attending college."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in West Berlin, NJ
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great colleagues, commission, great discounts on cell phone service

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to get enough hours while i was in school. Overworked at holidays.

    RadioShack2016-10-23
  6. "Mehhh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Clemente, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack for more than a year

    Pros

    -Learn a lot about new technologies and cell phones. -Great job for a teenager who is looking to gain sales experience -Store discount

    Cons

    -Unrealistic Sales Quota -Upper Management is detached -Upper Management does not take location or market in to consideration when dealing with store sales -Too much emphasis on selling phones, rest of store is forgotten

    Advice to Management

    Realize that different locations and markets will do better than others. Stop telling employees to hawk people for phone sales; most people aren't in the stores for that.

    RadioShack2016-10-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "RadioShack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack

    Pros

    RadioShack gives commission for cell phone sales and bases promotions on sales metrics Promotion is pretty quick Promote from within culture Known for being great at developing managers

    Cons

    RadioShack is the most obsolete company in the world. Being promoted up the ladder is like being promoted to captain in a sinking ship - you're just gonna go down with the ship. Like working holidays? No? Too bad. Employees are encouraged to take advantage of the customer - which is shown by the company's outrageous prices. Amazon has everything you want from there anyways.

    Advice to Management

    Honestly, just sell the assets and move on.

    RadioShack2016-09-08
  8. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack

    Pros

    Great place to work! Good money especially if you can sell! The employee discount is good as well especially for the employee cell phone plan

    Cons

    Have to work weekends and retail hours. They are a selling company so you need to sell, sell, sell!!

    RadioShack2016-08-20
  9. "Hard work for little reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at RadioShack part-time

      Pros

      Hours are flexible, easy entry level position, good perks with cell phone companies like special plan pricing and discounts on phones

      Cons

      Minimum wage, low commission split, crooked managers & district managers, retail inventory here is the worst!

      RadioShack2016-08-15
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Random Hills, VA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at RadioShack

      Pros

      You made good money when a new cell phone came out

      Cons

      That whole,"we're closing" thing. That old chestnut.

      RadioShack2016-07-14
    Found 2901 reviews