RadioShack "cell phones" Reviews | Glassdoor

RadioShack Employee Reviews about "cell phones"

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2901 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
Dean Rogers
239 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "not to mention just like most retail jobs upper management expected the world from you, with little appraisal or recognition(in 269 reviews)

  • "To much pressure to sell cell phones even on days when we had blizzards as that was no excuse(in 162 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "cell phones"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Potential but poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Clinton, UT

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Commission Pto Dish network in store 2 % comission on all sales

    Cons

    Poor management Inconsistent with company goals Forced to work Thanksgiving and black Friday Too focusednin cell phone sales Got away from electronics

    Advice to Management

    Stay with focusing on being an electronic store. Used sale phine sales as a perk instead of a priority Don't leave employees in the dark with whats happenign to their jobs

    RadioShack2019-02-03
  2. "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack part-time

    Pros

    If you worked in a busy enough store you could earn "some" money by selling enough phones.

    Cons

    Commission based, no incentive to sell anything but cell phones.

    Advice to Management

    Doesn't matter now, clearly their reliance on selling cell phones didn't work out for them.

    RadioShack2019-01-31
  3. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at RadioShack part-time

    Pros

    Worked there 5 years. Loved helping people finding solutions to their issues. Loved helping people period. I miss working there.

    Cons

    That they closed. They could have sold more computer parts and done better trying to sell cell phones.

    RadioShack2018-05-19
  4. "It was my store, my business and my responsibility to operate it properly."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time

    Pros

    Great customer contact and HQ training great education for business management. Great product and great marketing to boot. Thank you

    Cons

    To much pressure to sell cell phones even on days when we had blizzards as that was no excuse. RS lost focus of its core operations. The rest is history.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff in the field.

    RadioShack2018-04-24
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack

    Pros

    Largely, you were left alone to work on projects. Troubleshooting customer projects was fun. Learning all kinds of electronics knowledge was great, too.

    Cons

    Cell phones -- I hated having to shove them down the throats of customers.

    Advice to Management

    Well, the company went belly-up, so...yeah.

    RadioShack2017-04-12
  6. "Great company! But now it's Bankrupt... AGAIN!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Managers make your own schedule, training was up to date. Learning tools were provided for all Sales Associates. Work atmosphere was fun! Looked forward to going in to work.

    Cons

    It was good while it lasted. Managers went from salary to hourly. Sales Associates earned $1 above minimum wage. However, ever since we lost big cell phone companies commission sucked! My store closed last month. :( big run around no communication or heads up.

    RadioShack2017-03-28
  7. "Out of business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work schedule and products. The employee discount wasn't bad and they would train up people who wanted to move into management.

    Cons

    High pressure to sell cell phones and contracted. Required to make many "follow up" calls to customers who may have purchased cell phones over 18 months ago.

    Advice to Management

    Most of the Radio Shacks are closed now since they went under. Maybe they shouldnt have strayed so far away from the base products

    RadioShack2016-09-16
  8. "Great Place for High School & College Kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at RadioShack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    constant training on new products, commissions, no surprises in scheduling (you get the hours you applied/asked for), great management

    Cons

    Customers thinking that RadioShack is the actual STORE to bring their Sprint & AT&T cell phone complaints, some stores have very slow business (I've worked at two stores--one had lots of business, and one had one customer per hour, LITERALLY!)

    RadioShack2016-07-24
  9. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RadioShack

    Pros

    The district manager gave a lot of structure. Great follow up.

    Cons

    Had to force cell phones on people, and that's not why they were coming into the store.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on selling what's profitable.

    RadioShack2016-03-16
  10. "Lot's of turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at RadioShack part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Store managers care about the well being of their employees.

    Cons

    Store managers seemed disconnected from the district managers. You can only survive in this business if you sell cell phones.

    RadioShack2016-02-01
Found 2901 reviews