Radius Innovation & Development Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Radius Innovation & Development Engineer Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Radius Innovation & Development CEO Joanne Moretti (no image)
Joanne Moretti
2 Ratings
  1. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Radius Innovation & Development full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Has feel of small company inside large corporation. Best of both worlds. Really talented smart people, my team is some of the best Ive worked with before. Great environment and culture, really nice folks here. Diverse project work, and great opportunities. Not just working on one type of product.

    Cons

    When they started out, the management was not ideal, but since 2017 that has all changed and its really amazing! There are some reviews that are not good from that time, and it was just because the management that started when the office opened really didn't understand the business in the way the new management does. They are now really open, supportive, positive and encouraging. Its been an incredible place ever... since.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting the teams and the company growth, we are still early stages in San Jose (3 years out) and need to have management support. Culture is just as important as bottom line, keep the vibe positive and encouraging like its been this last year.

    Radius Innovation & Development2018-04-19
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Seems to be headed on a better trajectory for 2017/2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Radius Innovation & Development full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Each office can be pretty different. Just had a great global meeting where they brought EVERYONE to San Jose. Was great to meet everyone and think it helps with morale and potential collaboration. Studio is very much stand alone, and San Jose has gotten much better in just the last new months. They did remove the CEO/president and some team members under an objective he tried but wasn't working. I know at least... a couple of the negative reviews are those people that were laid off, not due to their fault, but the CEO's plan that didn't pan out. I think San Jose office was rough a year ago, but has gotten much better. I'm happy with the hardworking, friendly people that are here . In of course because it's a product design consulting company, lots of variety.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is a consulting business, so it can be hectic at times. You need to be nimble and fast sometimes more so than a start up . The pay is OK but definitely could and should be a little bit better. The commute is far for some, but for me it's great and reverse commute.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the idea of empowering your employees. Also the principle of allowing to make mistakes in the effort to improve the employee and the business. Do a salary comparison between other companies in The Valley, or you will lose employees to the googles apples and Amazonians out there.

    Radius Innovation & Development2017-10-14
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Radius Innovation & Development full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The last project the client was a blessing. Reminded our team that there are great companies out there. Space Flexible hours if top leadership doesn't know about it. Jabil is doing well.

    Cons

    Travel and hiring freeze. High turnover of senior roles. Many are going to competitors (Farm, Flex, Frog, IDEO, Google, etc.). Finance is a mess; seems to only get worse. Be prepared to do the admin. Hiring and retaining talent is a mess.

    Advice to Management

    Vision. Less admin work. Get organized. Free pizza.

    Radius Innovation & Development2017-07-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Turn over an issue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Radius Innovation & Development full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Consulting, different industries, as a staff or senior engineer the work can be ok. We never worked on big name accounts, or clients. Mostly projects staffs could not do in house.

    Cons

    The offices really don't work together. It's all for one, one for all, and management seems to pit the offices against eachother. Many decisions we were asked about just got decided in boston.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out better way to have offices manage themselves, or work together. Stop turning everything into joss. Style of management. ( dictatorship)

    Radius Innovation & Development2016-03-22
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Mechanical Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Radius Innovation & Development

    Pros

    Everyone here is very very knowledgable and smart. However intelligent you are their will be someone here that is even smarter.

    Cons

    Communication is a bit of an issue, also clarity on expectations is also an issue. There is the normal political office drama and gossip that will serve you well to avoid. And most of the company politics seem a bit ridiculous and petty (typical). They will also dangle the job carrot in front of you when that carrot was never actually ever going to be given to you anyway. They also pay lower contractor rates... than other companies in the area.

    Show More
    Radius Innovation & Development2015-08-21
  6. "full-time and contract work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Clinton, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at Radius Innovation & Development full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Radius was an exciting place to work and grow. The people and company supported my wife and I during life transitions as best as they could. Both my wife (also a mech E) I worked on and off for Radius as contractors and full-time employees and were happy with the experiences.

    Cons

    Management sometimes powerless at hands of corporate overlords and client whims. I can't believe there's a 20 word minimum.

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting the family lives of your employees and encouraging the welcoming culture I experienced. Let someone else win at foosball sometime.

    Radius Innovation & Development2015-07-24
Found 6 reviews