Railinc Reviews in Cary, NC | Glassdoor

Railinc Cary Reviews

Updated March 11, 2017
33 reviews

Filter

Filter

Cary, NC

3.6
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Railinc President & CEO E. Allen West
E. Allen West
21 Ratings

33 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Work-life balance was good for me; some travel involved which I welcomed (in 13 reviews)

  • When I first interviewed, I thought the Rail industry would be boring, but it is one of the most fascinating industries I've been involved with (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • Salaries on the low side, then chop off 5% for the railroad pension (which is very good if you retire here) (in 5 reviews)

  • Industry segment is rife with regulation, external governance causes cycle time on deliverables (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Software Engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Cary, NC
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Railinc (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice work culture, good work environment

    Cons

    All good to me, no major cons

    Railinc Response

    Feb 10, 2017 – Communications Manager

    Thanks for taking time to write your review and for your nice comments!


  2. "Software Engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Cary, NC
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Railinc full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Relatively small company with lots of smart people. Quality working site with solid technology and equipment. Excellent benefits package. Stable company that rarely has significant downsizing

    Cons

    In my experience, the company lacks the exposure of other larger tech companies leading to a difficulty finding and retaining talented programmers.

    Advice to Management

    I would advise putting more emphasis on senior programmers mentoring the junior members of the team in both development and QA. Senior coders on my team made a minimal effort to mentor so I had to take the less efficient route of learning new concepts myself on the internet.


  3. "Great small tech company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Cary, NC
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Railinc full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    This company is old school. You usually start in an entry-level position, and work your way up. If you work hard, you will be recognized by upper management. Great benefits offered, insurance, railroad retirement is also available. For the most part, you get the opportunity with many different teams and managers. Great place, great people. The culture is awesome, so if you want to enjoy the people and the place you work, Railinc is for you.

    Cons

    You are not always compensated for the work you dedicate to the company. Don't plan on making a ton of money here. If you start with the company and are promoted internally, you will never make what people who were hired externally make in the same role. Once you are in the company, there is a policy you can only be promoted and earn a 5-10% raise at a time, and this can only occur every 6 months.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your internal people, they hold the knowledge. Make sure internal and externally promoted people are making within the same pay scale.

    Railinc Response

    Feb 10, 2017 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review. One of the great things about Railinc is that you can start in an entry-level position and move up in the company quickly. Today, former customer support reps hold ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (8)

    "Smart coworkers; poor leadership."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Xxxx in Cary, NC
    Current Employee - Xxxx in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Railinc full-time

    Pros

    Some very talented professionals fill this place. The work content and subject matter is challenging and unique. Benefits are good (use to be great).

    Cons

    Gross lack of true leadership and effective decision making. Inappropriate use of resources, complete mis-representation of activity, expenditures and resources being used on non-mission critical "strategic initiatives". No open line of communications to enable reporting without retaliation.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to HR and Board....look more closely.

    Railinc Response

    Jul 28, 2016 – Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    Thanks for your review and for your kind words about the people working at Railinc. I am concerned however, about your other comments. It’s not clear exactly what you are referring to, but you ... More


  6. "Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Railinc puts its people first. The company offers comprehensive benefits that rival most other employers. They provide career advancement opportunities, working with employees to set goals and define paths. They do an excellent job hiring qualified, intelligent people and foster a very productive yet fun-filled office environment. By providing solutions for the entire North American freight rail industry, Railinc is a stable employer that provides job security and engaging work assignments.

    Cons

    Business decisions at Railinc are often made through external customer committees. Railnc is also a not for profit company. Because of these factors, innovation and profit are controlled and balanced with the need to create products at a low-cost consensus. This is not really a problem for me, but may be an issue for others that are more accustomed to working on solutions independently.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key.

    Railinc Response

    Jul 28, 2016 – Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    Thanks much for your good review of Railinc. We care a lot about the culture here and the high caliber of technology solutions our people create. As you suggest, Railinc is a "value-driven ... More


  7. "Product support specialist Ii"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Support Specialist II in Cary, NC
    Current Employee - Product Support Specialist II in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Railinc (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture with flexibility and room to grow. Lots of benefits and training provided.

    Cons

    Salary starts out very low compared to other companies and internal promotions can often be overlooked.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what the employees need to fulfill daily duties and offer a more competitive salary

    Railinc Response

    Feb 18, 2016 – Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    Thanks for your note and comments about Railinc. It looks like you're off to a good start. Keep up the good work - about 20 percent of employees got a promotion last year. Experience in the role and ... More


  8. "Great place to expand skills and experience, with big company IT infrastructure, apps & tools but small company staffing"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Cary, NC
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Hands on experience with new technologies.
    Opportunities to take on more responsibility, learn new skills.
    New projects begin frequently.
    Lots of opportunities to be recognized for individual contributions, including cash awards.
    Employees have opportunities for technical and career training at least once per year.

    Cons

    Production systems have unresolved bugs that need attention, so all teams have cell phones they pass around like pagers.
    You are likely to get called in the middle of the night to resolve an issue.
    Budget and planning process is slow, cumbersome and error-prone.
    Projects are often understaffed.
    Budget problems sometimes result in surprise layoffs.
    Most personnel sit at open benches that are too narrow, too noisy and not ergonomic.

    Railinc Response

    Feb 18, 2016 – Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    Thanks for your review and the nice things you said about Railinc. You're spot on, we're a small company, but have a big IT footprint. Our stack is pretty strong and we have solid people working ... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Upper level management - very unapproachable"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Cary, NC
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Railinc as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits are very good and lots of schedule flexibility

    Cons

    The politics of the company is horrible. The turnover rate is very high. I was there for over 2 years and we lost an average of about 2 people per week. Sometimes it was as high as 5 or 6. They would replace them and then the cycle would start all over again. They hire a lot of contractors and then treat them very badly. This was the 1st time I have ever worked for a company that treated contractors so badly. I was eventually hired on permanent but still upper managements attitude toward other employees in the company was damaging to the morale of those that worked very hard on daily basis.

    Advice to Management

    Interact with the people that work very hard to make your company the success that it was and treat all employees the same.


  10. "Great place to work!!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst II in Cary, NC
    Current Employee - Business Analyst II in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere, great people, great customers, fun to come to work everyday because everyone enjoys working here.

    Cons

    There are some very bright people that work here but the pay could be a little better to validate that statement.

    Railinc Response

    Feb 18, 2016 – Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    Thanks for your thoughtful review and insightful comments. You've probably already heard this, but Railinc regularly makes salary adjustments where needed to stay competitive, pays annual bonuses and ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Company, Good Benefits, GREAT People!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Cary, NC
    Former Employee - Director in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Railinc full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have worked for Railinc for 5 years. There have been ups and down with the organization, but what company in this day and age does not have these issues? The good about Railinc is the stability and benefits. You could work at Railinc your entire career if you choose, and doing so will provide you with a nice Railroad pension. By far the people are what make this place great, building good relationships is the key to success with this organization.

    Cons

    Railinc could benefit by making sure that all groups are paddling the boat in the same direction. With so many products and so many irons in the fire, this is a challenge. If Railinc could accomplish this, the sky is the limit.

    Advice to Management

    Adhere to the mission, vision, and values you have set forth for the organization. Your people are your most valuable asset, make sure that everyone understands what these three values mean and how they must demonstrate them through their actions tot the company; service, collaboration, & results.

    Railinc Response

    Feb 18, 2016 – Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    Thanks for this excellent review and all your nice comments and suggestions. Thanks also for your service to the company - best of luck in your career.



Showing 33 of 70 reviews
Reset Filters