Rainforest QA Reviews | Glassdoor

Rainforest QA Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Rainforest QA CEO Fred Stevens-Smith (no image)
Fred Stevens-Smith
45 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Regaining momentum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After a big change a few months ago, the company is regaining momentum towards goals. In some ways, it's an even more exciting company than before. Great support from other team members Effective and supportive leadership Good culture Clear goals

    Cons

    Some elements of the business is still not fully recovered from the change a few months ago, just need more time.

    Rainforest QA2019-08-08
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to learn and try new things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time

    Pros

    Sharp people, great culture, free lunch, product roadmap, experimentation is encouraged

    Cons

    There has a been a lot of change recently that has taken some adjusting to. That said the changes were necessary and have put the company back on track.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2019-04-09

    Rainforest QA Response

    April 29, 2019CEO

    Thanks for the feedback! Excited to do this together.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great Startup to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    · Passionate smart people · Good pay · Seasoned Executives that are committed to supporting company and employee growth · Provide an abundant amount of channels for employees to share feedback and impact company strategy and change · Cultural fun: outings, free lunch, companywide outings, remote working, team off-sites, fun contests and prizes, etc.

    Cons

    · Sharing metrics down to individual levels vs. rolled up teams · Limited number of employees who are not ok with the ups and downs of a startup

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2019-04-08

    Rainforest QA Response

    April 29, 2019CEO

    Thanks for your commitment to our mission - totally agree on the pros and cons.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Exciting time!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity - The market opportunity is enormous. As software takes over the world, the need for QA will only expand. It is very exciting to be part of a team that solves this problem in a unique way. Product - It's great to see that the team continues to innovate on the product. We're at the verge of rolling out a game changer that'll solve this problem in a way no one has ever done before - combination of human and automation. Super exciting time! Culture - This is the part I like most about this company. Everyone works as a team together, there is no finger-pointing, everyone is here to make the company successful. It feels great to be part of a team like this, it makes me want to come to work everyday!

    Cons

    Like other startups I worked at before, the company is going through constant changes. Sometimes these changes can be painful if you're not expecting them. For those energized by changes and new opportunities, this is a great place. For those who want a stable environment where you can do the same thing for a long time, this might not be the right place.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2019-03-31

    Rainforest QA Response

    April 29, 2019CEO

    Thank you for your input! Completely agree with you, like any startup we're constantly changing and experimenting and this means that we're not stable enough for many folks. Historically we haven't done a good enough job on being explicit about this during our recruitment process, which is something we're working on now. We'll keep working hard on enabling dialogue between all Rainforesters, something we're definitely not great at today.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Time at Rainforest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rainforest QA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product, culture, values and camaraderie. The company is working diligently to enhance their processes, product offerings, and adapting/delivering what the market is looking for. Have great co-founders that care passionately about the company, the product, and people.

    Cons

    Going through growing pains so there have been some challenges/hurdles, but with direction from leadership and buy in from the employees, the company is set up for greatness!

    Rainforest QA2019-03-27

    Rainforest QA Response

    April 29, 2019CEO

    Really appreciate your support, and totally agreed - we need to get world-class at communication in order to succeed.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rainforest QA

    Pros

    -daily provided lunches -helpful and collaborative work environment -friendly employees -lives up to principles -everyone is approachable

    Cons

    Be more familiar with technical side of product to understand role and company better

    Rainforest QA2018-10-10

    Rainforest QA Response

    November 20, 2018Head of Talent and Career Development

    So glad you enjoyed your internship with Rainforest!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A great remote workplace experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Very remote-friendly (I am remote!) company which allows for interesting coworkers all over the world, diverse talent, and flexibility. And all remote employees travel to San Francisco HQ for a week each quarter to be with the team onsite. -Strong core values that are memorable (No BS, Weirdly Passionate, and Always be Caring) & actively practiced in the workplace. I've experienced firsthand my coworkers showing such care and compassion during tough personal situations. -Passionate, intelligent coworkers who enjoy working together

    Cons

    -As with most startups, changes are inevitable, but as long as you're adaptable and like a challenge, it's a great place to be!

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2018-09-21

    Rainforest QA Response

    November 20, 2018Head of Talent and Career Development

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a remote employee with RFQA! We are always looking for ways to improve remote experience, and appreciate you sharing.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture - cares deeply about employee happiness, success and growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rainforest QA full-time

    Pros

    Rainforest encourages you to be your true self at work every day; they encourage individual creativity, diversity in thinking and promote inclusivity in all discussions. The three values - be weirdly passionate, always be caring, and no BS - are sentiments that are very much alive and embraced by every member of the team.

    Cons

    Although there are bi-annual performance reviews, there isn't always a clear expectation of what is required of you. You have to be proactive in understanding the overarching team goal (which isn't difficult - execs are open/CEO has bi-weekly AMAs), then map your deliverables to those hit those metrics. I find that for those that are used to/thrive in startup environments, this isn't a con, it's a norm. Take this con as a disclaimer that one must be able to be flexible, self-motivated and determined even in periods of ambiguity.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2018-08-19

    Rainforest QA Response

    August 24, 2018Head of Talent and Career Development

    We appreciate your (No BS) feedback! Performance management & goal setting are areas in which we continue to develop, and your comments are helpful in making those improvements.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A great company with great leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The biggest pro is the leadership. They have created a true culture (not something read out of a book and half hardily implemented). The core values are legitimately felt, encouraged and lead to it being a great place to work. However for the bulleted list: * Great "true" culture of diversity and job ownership * Great management that actually owns up to missteps but is also very quick to address and correct * Real transparency - access to management and CEO is very much encouraged. * Hard working and nice co-workers (you actually like the people you work with - go figure) * Truly unique remote worker attitude. It is not only "allowed" but encouraged. Remote workers are not some faceless worker bee - but are really brought into the fold. Minimal "us and them" attitude * Corporate office is the quintessential "startup" - food, cool office, happy hour, industrial setting. * Company and HR are responsive to employee feedback. Benefits were not so family friendly - but that has improved greatly * Remote onsite - where they bring all remote workers to San Fransisco for a week a few times a year. Not only for business - but really to get to know each other on a personal level.

    Cons

    * As the company is distributed communication and process can sometime be difficult * Going through a growth phase which is great - but ensuring that we maintain the things we all like about Rainforest - while also expanding is a hard balancing act - thought so far so good. * This is a startup with a great start up mentality - you are somewhat "thrown in the lake to see if you can swim". If you are self motivated - you will love it - if you need your hand held and directed - this may not be the right fit.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2018-08-18

    Rainforest QA Response

    August 24, 2018Head of Talent and Career Development

    Wow, thank you for all of your insight & positive sentiment. We definitely take our core values seriously and strive to continue to be No BS, passionate in and outside of work, and caring for our employees and customers alike. Thank you for being a part of the team!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDR in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rainforest QA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture and people. Executive level is transparent with where they're at and where they're trying to go.

    Cons

    There's been a lot of hiring and firing of upper level management, seems a little shaky at times.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2018-04-11
Found 54 reviews