Rainforest QA Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Rainforest QA Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Rainforest QA CEO Fred Stevens-Smith (no image)
Fred Stevens-Smith
44 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Regaining momentum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After a big change a few months ago, the company is regaining momentum towards goals. In some ways, it's an even more exciting company than before. Great support from other team members Effective and supportive leadership Good culture Clear goals

    Cons

    Some elements of the business is still not fully recovered from the change a few months ago, just need more time.

    Rainforest QA2019-08-08
  2. "Had great talent that has since left"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Rainforest QA full-time

    Pros

    flexible hours, office space is nice, catered lunch

    Cons

    early start, product isn't all the way there

    Rainforest QA2019-08-06
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Has potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rainforest QA full-time

    Pros

    Rainforest has a lot of great qualities. They offer remote work, up to date technology, training opportunties. The pay wasn't great, but it was fine. The employee base was also truly exceptional. Getting to work with such a great group of people was the biggest win.

    Cons

    Rainforest has potential to be an incredible company, but this will not happen under current management. The most mature action would be for the CEO to step into an advisory or COO role and hire a seasoned CEO to manage product growth and market fit. They have reached a point where they're putting the company second to their ego and it's a shame to see.

    Rainforest QA2019-07-02
  4. Helpful (7)

    "It's a startup, not the end of the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rainforest QA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At this point this is like working at an early stage company, so there is flexibility and a huge opportunity if they get it right. There is a really talented group of people to work with, management aside. Leadership will risk everything to win. You also get taken care of if you are laid off. Remote culture, you don't have to show up to the office.

    Cons

    Company is not doing too well and had to downsize. Most leaders are inexperienced. The core business is at risk. Hard to take leadership seriously, their actions and words don't match up. Compensation is pretty subpar for the stage.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2019-05-22
  5. Helpful (11)

    "An incredible story of failure unfolding before our eyes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rainforest QA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can work from home. Good opportunities to travel on company's dime and hang out/party/drink with the team! Most of the team is really sweet.

    Cons

    The company is literally imploding as we speak! But the founder is more and more delusional... Most employees were let go last week, and that's after the founder said runway was solid. Investor money is being lit on fire. Trips, fancy dinners, marketing events all posted publicly on Instagram! Employees recruited only to be let go with severance days and weeks after. The company even ran a campaign to show ads at bus stops all over SF just to stroke the CRO's ego (he went from Zenefits *kaboom* to Rainforest *kaboom* and is now at Brex). The product does not work. It costs like $100 thousand/year and nobody really uses it. Maybe it worked someday way before they jacked up the price to make revenue go up to close a round, but today it's no good. All of this is public info, just connect the dots.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2019-05-14

    Rainforest QA Response

    May 20, 2019CEO

    Hi, on a personal level I am truly sorry that you were affected by the business decision. Startups are hard, and we’ve definitely made our share of mistakes. While I factually disagree with your assertions, there’s not much point getting into that here. I hope that you find an amazing next role, and I wish you the best of luck! Fred

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "stay far far away. I’m on my way out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the perks are still good

    Cons

    no direction, sinking ship, no transparency, where careers die terrible company with overly emotional CEO (you’ll see when he responds to this review) a cofounder who hasn’t been around for months. lots of misdirection, and extremely low employee morale with people disappearing left and right. stay far far away

    Rainforest QA2019-05-08

    Rainforest QA Response

    May 20, 2019CEO

    I’m truly sorry you feel this way, and I hope you find a better fit.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Sad to see what has become of this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time

    Pros

    1. Great people to work alongside 2. Pretty good startup perks (lunch, commuter expense, etc) 3. Cool office and location

    Cons

    Where do I begin... the last 6 months have been a disaster. Major players in the company have left and morale could not be lower as we continue to massively miss our numbers. From what I can see, the sales team (what is left of them) is struggling due to the mistakes of previous management and our exec team. The CEO has always disliked salespeople and his mentality that they are expendable has completely destroyed what was once a killer part of the org. Marketing has been missing their mark consistently month over month for as long as the company has been around. Teams are leaving the company in droves across CS, PS, Sales, and I am sure it will start spreading to other parts of the business. It is sad to see what a company with a lot of potential has come to due to poor management.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2019-05-08

    Rainforest QA Response

    May 9, 2019CEO

    Hi, appreciate your passion for the company, and thanks for the feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Theranos 2.0"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food. Cool location for HQ.

    Cons

    Sketchy company and leadership

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2019-04-27

    Rainforest QA Response

    April 29, 2019CEO

    Hello, I hope you find somewhere that's a better fit - there's a lot of startups offering free food. Just to note, we're annually audited by Deloitte and have an active and engaged board who have full visibility into our financials - like all current members of the company.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are still some smart and fun people trying to do their best

    Cons

    Used to be a great company to work where you could speak out loud. Currently, it's just work and shut up. Do not ask (real) questions, do not try to challenge the authority of the management. The company has a lot of cash in the bank yet underpays like it's bankrupt. A lot of smart, hard-working, good-willed people are just being exploited. Some of them were just like that for many years hoping for a raise.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2019-04-22
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to learn and try new things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time

    Pros

    Sharp people, great culture, free lunch, product roadmap, experimentation is encouraged

    Cons

    There has a been a lot of change recently that has taken some adjusting to. That said the changes were necessary and have put the company back on track.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2019-04-09

    Rainforest QA Response

    April 29, 2019CEO

    Thanks for the feedback! Excited to do this together.

    Continue reading
Found 53 reviews