Rainforest QA "rainforest" Reviews | Glassdoor

Rainforest QA Employee Reviews about "rainforest"

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Rainforest QA CEO Fred Stevens-Smith (no image)
Fred Stevens-Smith
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Strong core values that are memorable (No BS, Weirdly Passionate, and Always be Caring) & actively practiced in the workplace(in 6 reviews)

  • "Cultural values of no BS, being weirdly passionate and Always Be Caring are evident every day(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Rainforest has been scrambling recently(in 9 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "rainforest"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A great company with great leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The biggest pro is the leadership. They have created a true culture (not something read out of a book and half hardily implemented). The core values are legitimately felt, encouraged and lead to it being a great place to work. However for the bulleted list: * Great "true" culture of diversity and job ownership * Great management that actually owns up to missteps but is also very quick to address and correct * Real transparency - access to management and CEO is very much encouraged. * Hard working and nice co-workers (you actually like the people you work with - go figure) * Truly unique remote worker attitude. It is not only "allowed" but encouraged. Remote workers are not some faceless worker bee - but are really brought into the fold. Minimal "us and them" attitude * Corporate office is the quintessential "startup" - food, cool office, happy hour, industrial setting. * Company and HR are responsive to employee feedback. Benefits were not so family friendly - but that has improved greatly * Remote onsite - where they bring all remote workers to San Fransisco for a week a few times a year. Not only for business - but really to get to know each other on a personal level.

    Cons

    * As the company is distributed communication and process can sometime be difficult * Going through a growth phase which is great - but ensuring that we maintain the things we all like about Rainforest - while also expanding is a hard balancing act - thought so far so good. * This is a startup with a great start up mentality - you are somewhat "thrown in the lake to see if you can swim". If you are self motivated - you will love it - if you need your hand held and directed - this may not be the right fit.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2018-08-18

    Rainforest QA Response

    August 24, 2018Head of Talent and Career Development

    Wow, thank you for all of your insight & positive sentiment. We definitely take our core values seriously and strive to continue to be No BS, passionate in and outside of work, and caring for our employees and customers alike. Thank you for being a part of the team!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Has potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rainforest QA full-time

    Pros

    Rainforest has a lot of great qualities. They offer remote work, up to date technology, training opportunties. The pay wasn't great, but it was fine. The employee base was also truly exceptional. Getting to work with such a great group of people was the biggest win.

    Cons

    Rainforest has potential to be an incredible company, but this will not happen under current management. The most mature action would be for the CEO to step into an advisory or COO role and hire a seasoned CEO to manage product growth and market fit. They have reached a point where they're putting the company second to their ego and it's a shame to see.

    Rainforest QA2019-07-02
  3. Helpful (13)

    "An incredible story of failure unfolding before our eyes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rainforest QA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can work from home. Good opportunities to travel on company's dime and hang out/party/drink with the team! Most of the team is really sweet.

    Cons

    The company is literally imploding as we speak! But the founder is more and more delusional... Most employees were let go last week, and that's after the founder said runway was solid. Investor money is being lit on fire. Trips, fancy dinners, marketing events all posted publicly on Instagram! Employees recruited only to be let go with severance days and weeks after. The company even ran a campaign to show ads at bus stops all over SF just to stroke the CRO's ego (he went from Zenefits *kaboom* to Rainforest *kaboom* and is now at Brex). The product does not work. It costs like $100 thousand/year and nobody really uses it. Maybe it worked someday way before they jacked up the price to make revenue go up to close a round, but today it's no good. All of this is public info, just connect the dots.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2019-05-14

    Rainforest QA Response

    May 20, 2019CEO

    Hi, on a personal level I am truly sorry that you were affected by the business decision. Startups are hard, and we’ve definitely made our share of mistakes. While I factually disagree with your assertions, there’s not much point getting into that here. I hope that you find an amazing next role, and I wish you the best of luck! Fred

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (14)

    "not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time

    Pros

    Great office! (but its always empty b/c people work from home) Perks (free lunch) Fun people Exciting product roadmap

    Cons

    Rainforest has been scrambling recently. Here are a few of the changes I've seen over the past 6 months: -Most decisions are being made behind closed doors. This used to seem like a much more communal effort in the past. Important and very significant strategic changes are rolled out on a whim by a small leadership group. Opening the discussion up to feedback or concerns from broader teams / the company is rarely done anymore and I think it would have a big impact. -There used to be a very large 'people' team here that put together fun events and ensured workplace happiness. That team is now very small and the focus on culture is no longer apparent. -Lack of execution on Marketing is really killing the company. Our outbound sales model is simply not sustainable (seriously.) and marketing has consistently missed the mark over the years (especially lately). Lead gen has slowed despite new leadership and I expect our ability to produce quality outbound sales meetings to slow drastically. -The sales and customer success team leaders have very little experience. Everyone in a manager position and above is in the role for their first time which is concerning. I believe a tenured VP of sales or CRO would be extremely helpful right now. Unfortunately, some of our best sales reps and managers have departed recently as well which makes this problem worse. It feels a bit like the blind are leading the blind at times. -Career growth opportunity is low. We keep hiring more SDRs with no promotion path in place, and recent AE hires are now being demoted. This has a significant impact on team morale.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2019-03-27
  5. "On Top of It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything felt personal and felt like an asset every step of the way

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say about Rainforest

    Rainforest QA2018-01-24
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Best Company I’ve Been A Part Of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team seems to have a shared vision and a common goal, which is pretty cool considering we’re not just a couple of people in a garage. Great job to leadership across the board and HR for really hammering home the importance of values. From a product perspective, features get implemented and rolled out in a timely manner, and they are usually pretty darn great. Revenue-wise, the company is over achieving month over month. There are some cool and unique benefits to working at Rainforest including dog friendly offices, quarterly on sites, and remote week, free lunch in office every day.

    Cons

    Not much to say here, 5 word minimum so I’ll throw out conference rooms but anyone at Rainforest who’s reading this knows that’s being addressed.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2017-12-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Who has it better than us?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Business Development in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We work hard and contribute to the companies bottom line. Rainforest has a business model that most others do not (out average deal size is very high) so this allows employees to be paid very well and work on projects they are proud of vs. have to do. We have a no BS culture and people here take pride in being themselves while always looking out for each other and the company. My personal favorite part of Rainforest if my access to other in the company, whether it's Fred or Russ (our founders) or any member of any team, we are open collaborators with the shared mission of solving real problems in the QA space. It's pretty awesome to show up with ideas and then have the support and relationships to execute them across your team and across the company. Rainforest is a home away from home and our managers work day and night to keep us happy, which in most startups is not the case

    Cons

    You have to handle change and be a great communicator to work at any fluid high growth company, that is not a con but it is the reality. If you lack work ethic, Rainforest will be a tough place for you to succeed and grow.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2017-05-25
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Work Hard, with Great People, and Feel Valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best part is the people here. Across the board they're smart, excited, curious, ambitious, and friendly. They’re great to work with and they inspire the best in me.I also feel recognized for what I contribute and truly part of a “team” all pulling our weight and rowing in the same direction Other things I consider “pros” are that the management team is amazingly transparent, everyone is recognized for their contributions and takes the time to recognize others, and there is a real focus on communicating across teams and with our distributed teammates. I mentioned a management team, and there certainly is leadership and mentorship, but you're not micromanaged. It's assumed you're going to work hard and smart and be productive without being told exactly how to go about things. I think that brings out the best from people. It certainly appears to here. Finally, our product has real value that customers pay for with real money :).

    Cons

    It's hard to think of anything specific to Rainforest that's really a con. It's a startup so, like any other startup, there's more to do than can ever be done and knowing what to prioritize can be a challenge. But, like I said, I think that goes with the territory.

    Continue reading
    Rainforest QA2016-01-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great engineering culture with get stuff done attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Porto, Oporto
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rainforest QA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone who works here is interested in getting stuff done and in helping each other do it. This means that you can make a real difference, and if something needs changing (in terms of process or technology) - you can change it. The ability to work remotely (internationally) means we have an excellent engineering team as we can hire the best people no matter where they are. Fred (our CEO) is very open with anything the company is doing - with biweekly AMAs where anything can be discussed, and reports on the company from the weekly exec meeting being passed down to the whole organization.

    Cons

    100% remote work can be hard and requires top notch communication skills, but that's not a Rainforest specific problem. Because we have so much to do, sometimes changes can take longer than ideal to enact.

    Rainforest QA2017-03-24
Found 9 reviews