Raley's Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Raley's President and CEO Keith Knopf (no image)
Keith Knopf
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and schedule is flexible(in 27 reviews)

  • "Good accommodation on schedules, good pay, amazing co workers(in 27 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Overworked and underpaid with little help from upper management(in 18 reviews)

  • "Hour cuts down to 28 hours for clerks and 16 hours for courtesy clerks(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Love this job-pay and benefits

      May 20, 2021 - Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’m happy with the pay and my family enjoys the benefits. Leadership is great. Our CEO is fantastic and upper leadership is inclusive and you always feel like you’re working on a team. I’m looking forward to many years to come.

      Cons

      With COVID it has been very busy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Raley's Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are proud to serve with such wonderful leaders and team members who care! We appreciate all you do!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      May 28, 2021 - Grocery Clerk in Vacaville, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Consistent, supportive, quiet, team based

      Cons

      None, it’s a very reasonable place to work

      1 person found this review helpful

      Raley's Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are proud to serve with such wonderful leaders and team members who care!

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good Pay

      Jun 9, 2021 - Journeyman Meat Cutter in Rocklin, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is good for just working in a grocery store and as a meat cutter you are guaranteed full time.

      Cons

      The company is not as family oriented as it used to be and they do not provide enough labor.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Job

      Jun 14, 2021 - Warehouse Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love the people and job

      Cons

      Insane Fluctuating hours when busy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Horrible Place to Work

      Jun 8, 2021 - Clerk 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      10% off groceries, benefits are decent.

      Cons

      Wages aren’t enough to live on. Schedule changes every week. The schedule comes out on Thursday for the next week starting Sunday so it is hard to plan anything outside of work. Depending on your weekend placement, there is a possibility to work up to 10 days in a row with no extra compensation. Management refers to their employees as “bodies.” There are tons of bad attitudes, gossip and negativity. Promotions are a popularity contest. They tend to already have someone picked out before interviewing. Management doesn’t handle sexual harassment situations properly.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Excellent work ethic and skill

      Jun 9, 2021 - Sales Associate/Cashier in Napa, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Looking for a job that makes me happy

      Cons

      Searching for a job I can enjoy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Jun 12, 2021 - DC Clerk II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible and nice job with great people

      Cons

      Not much room for moving up

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Managers don’t care

      Jun 9, 2021 - Night Crew Stocker in Carson City, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is decent most coworkers are super Duper sweet and nice

      Cons

      A lot of drama particularly for night crew. And not enough people No team ethic in the not flexible with days off they had me working overnight by myself for two days straight while the other two night crew members get 2 Days Off straight while I have split days most of the time you have to stay over because can’t get everything done your normal hours is 10 PM to 6:30 AM. But sometimes you stay until 9:00 AM

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A great place for a college job

      Jun 1, 2021 - Front-end Clerk in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many opportunities to grow and improve verbal communication skills. Management did not shy away from tasking responsibilities to younger employees

      Cons

      As working in many departments I had many hours a week while being in school. Understandable, just hard.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Raley's Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We appreciate you for allowing us to be a part of your learning journey while in school. Thank you for your dedication to creating the best experiences for our customers!

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Leadership Will Drive This Company Into The Ground

      May 24, 2021 - Manager in West Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some really good teammates. A few long-lasting friendships. Some hard workers. A few people who are still very passionate about the future of the company. OK benefits. Depending on your leader you could have a flexible schedule that supports work-life balance but this really varies from leader to leader. Some are very old school and want you at your desk from 8 to 5 or they think you're not working, with no regard to family or personal lives. Free fruit and coffee. Free sample products occasionally. Raley's does great things for local communities through Food For Families and community giving program.

      Cons

      Current CEO is making companywide decisions based on his own personal beliefs. This became very clear with his refusal to take a public stand regarding BLM, now staying silent about AAPI hate crimes, seems to think COVID protocols are a farce, anti-mask, says no one should be the "mask police," anti-vax, wouldn't offer COVID vaccine in our pharmacies even though it's our employees who are on the front lines putting themselves at risk every day. Now forcing a back to office in-person work plan for corporate offices based on his personal preferences with no consideration that employees might still be scared or nervous to return to in-person work full time. I'm sure he will also not want employees wearing masks if he can get away with it. Converting stores to ONE Markets with apparently no consideration of customer preference, since customer response has been absolutely terrible and we are losing customers left and right. Company now seems to be purpose driven instead of culture driven. Purpose is all well and good but now morale is so low. There is no trust in the executives anymore. Long term employees are disappointed by current company leadership. I won't be surprised if a lot of employees leave in the coming months, especially if they decide not to give bonuses again because of some made up fear about the future of the company while sales soar because of the pandemic. Padding their wallets at our expense.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 588 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Raley's Job Seekers

    Courtesy Clerk
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Raley's? Share Your Experiences

    Raley's logo
    or